please help. low numbers high 30's, now 170

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deb14

Member Since 2015
hello,

my cat was a diabetic for about a year went into remission 6 months ago with numbers around 120-125. I take her blood sugar once a week to monitor her well last week it was 280.
Back to vet for more insulin prescription.

So all went good she has been on a low dose 1/2 unit twice a day lantus for a week. Her numbers have been consistently between 79, (6hrs nadir 50-55) for 5 days. Recently the nadir dropped to 41) so we reduced it to 1/4 unit. Been holding that dose for 3 full days.

Her 3rd day of holding a 1/4 unit we gave her insulin last night at 9:15 on time. Her blood sugar was 79 and at 10:15 ( 1 hr from injection) she was extremely hunger, we checked her blood sugar it was 38. Very concerned we fed her and it went up to 44. We got concerned knowing that at the 4 hrs pre-shot and 6 hrs pre-shot she would go very, very low. So we fed her a tsp of sweet potatoe.
Her numbers went up to 45 at 3 hrs and at 4 hrs pre-shot went up to 67. She would not eat again after the sweet potatoe. Then at 6 hrs up to 85. got a little sleep.
Her next meal fed canned low carb food at 6am took her blood sugar (9 hrs pre-shot) her number is now 170!!! Took again at 7:26 (roughly 2hrs pre-shot her number went down to 159 wheh! so its coming down.

What do i do ?????? Her last insulin shot was 9:15 pm last night

1. do i wait and not give her anything at all.
2. give her a reduced dose at 1/8 (literally a few drops at 9:15 am)
3. watch her numbers to see how low they go. If they are below 75- 80 wait till they rise above 75-80 then shoot a 1/8 unit.


I think number 3.? because you cant just stop the insulin correct.
look forward to hearing from you all.

thanks so much.
Debbie
 
Hi--

Just answered your post in the Lantus forum. Short version: yes, wait, don't feed, and re-test. It looks to me like your cat's pancreas is waking up; any insulin you give in this situation has to be a teeny-tiny microdose, and that only if you can monitor closely and steer with food (as you did last night).
 
thank you a bit scary and didnt sleep but few hrs. but thats what you do as a kitty momma lol. checking her again.her poor ears, but looks like she'll be off soon. on top of all thsi when we found out her numbers were up so she had labs. labs showed 2nd failure :-( and borderline hyperthyroid. Tricky and slippery slope cant treat the hyperthyroid vet says cause it helps with the kidneys.( if u treat the hyperthyroid it will cause the kidneys more damage.. she never had a huge appetite, and now with the kidney issues it will get worse,. on top of that usually hyperthyroid they eat more in most but not all cats. with her she hasn't been eating more. really scared and worried. plus she had IBD for a few yrs which is how she got diabetes from the steroids. she is off the steroids and her IBD has been better so far. On a good note at least i can get her off the insulin which isnt good for her if she doesnt need it. sorry to rant just a worried mom..take care and thanks for responding so quick.
 
I can't really help you with advice re: microdosing, but I also have a kitty with IBD, and probiotics and Slippery Elm Bark helped her tremendously! Don't know if you've tried them, but it might be worth a go if she still has problems with her IBD. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top