Please help, idk what to do

Status
Not open for further replies.
no the ears don't look torn up - you mostly can't even tell
many people use the neosporin ointment with pain relief - but my cat reacted to it and I found it interfered with testing so I don't use anything
 
That's not a bad idea.

And that one person must have been doing it wrong. The ear test is way less invasive than what he does. He does a blood draw from the leg vein then puts it on the meter
 
That's not a bad idea.

And that one person must have been doing it wrong. The ear test is way less invasive than what he does. He does a blood draw from the leg vein then puts it on the meter


I have a kitty with other health issues so he will never be off insulin. I have been poking his ears for 18 months at least 5 times a day and up to 12 times if the glucose numbers are lower. His ears are fine and he will actually come sit on his test mat (even if it isn't test time :) ) since he knows he gets a treat ( chicken/roast etc) after. He is of course very food motivated. I alternate between the two ears and do not use any sort of ointment on them. The main thing I do is use a cotton cosmetic pad as a "backing" when doing the poke and hold it gently but firmly for about 10 seconds after to prevent bruising.
 
We never had any problems with the testing and Gypsy's ears. She never seemed to have any problems with ears being painful or anything.

Can we get your name, BTW? You may have given it, but I missed it. :)

It is terrifying what 10 units would have done. BUT instead of thinking that, think this: You saved his life.
 
I got a phone call shortly after my last post and had to leave for a while. I just got back and stuck him and he's back to 310
 
Just for general reference - we consider a car regulated if they are in the mid 200s at preshot and lower 100s or double digits at nadir - but above 50 on a human meter and 68 on a pet meter (ranges near hypo). We urge new diabetics not to get a shot under 200 but to stall - wait 20 minutes without feeding and retest. You want to be sure the number is rising, not falling and 200+. And then you might want to give a little less insulin than the previous shot.

Please take up Margie on her offer to do your spreadsheet. We need that info if we are going to advise you on dosing. And try to get some numbers in the middle of the cycle so you can see hoe love the insulin takes him.
 
I'm downloading the google sheets app now. last night I gave him three again. I accidentally overslept (which is bad, but I've been sleeping fitfully) and he was 490 this morning at nine. I have given him three again.

His eye is goopy today, so I'm pretty sure he picked up some crud at the clinic Monday when I took him in.
 
I'm taking my son to the psychologist today so will be gone for a while and the person who is staying here is not going to be sticking him.
 
Ok. Thanks to Marge, everything is nicely set up and I added my name. We were gone much of today but I stuck him when we got back. Then I filled in the SS, hopefully correctly.

I want to say thanks again to all of you.
 
It works! Hurray Marje! It looks like he didn't drop much today. I think I would hold the dose for at least another cycle.

What is he eating? Is he on Fancy Feast pates only? Any antibiotics or other meds? I hope he won't need an antibiotic for his eyes.
 
Yes, FF Classic and he has a love/hate relationship with it.
He's also taking Clindacure for his dental, Doc wanted to clear up any infection that might be in his mouth so he can pull a bad tooth.
 
And I am going out of town this weekend but will be bringing him with me, so I can stick him periodically in the hotel rather than boarding him.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top