Please help get Finster back on track

You are doing great. And he needs time to adjust to the dose.
AMPS 151. I gave almost .5 this morning. Closer to it. Hope that was okay. I will be home all day with him. He ate a full breakfast. Should I have stayed with .3? I was thinking I should take advantage of being home and testing the increased dose...but reading your post I'm worried I shouldn't have.
 
AMPS 151. I gave almost .5 this morning. Closer to it. Hope that was okay. I will be home all day with him. He ate a full breakfast. Should I have stayed with .3? I was thinking I should take advantage of being home and testing the increased dose...but reading your post I'm worried I shouldn't have.
It’s all good - and that AMPS is a little higher than we would like to see. You can test him so he will be safe with your care. :cat:
 
Not sure if I should give the same amount for PS shot. He's at 124. I'm going to see how much he eats. He has basically slept all day. Woke up at +10 but has just laid around. He doesn't seem in distress just lethargic.
 
I gave the .3 like I did yesterday. in between the .5 and the .0
It seems to be working more and faster this cycle. +2 is 113. He had a good dinner though not as much as he ate for breakfast. I will keep it the same dose in the morning or as close to it as I can. I wonder if there is a syringe for this tiny dose? I will do another check before bed. Hope it levels out.
 
I gave the .3 like I did yesterday. in between the .5 and the .0
It seems to be working more and faster this cycle. +2 is 113. He had a good dinner though not as much as he ate for breakfast. I will keep it the same dose in the morning or as close to it as I can. I wonder if there is a syringe for this tiny dose? I will do another check before bed. Hope it levels out.
Should say +3 is 113 NOT +2
 
Just wondering do you have the U-40 syringes with half unit markings
https://shoppettest.com/advocate-pettest-u-40-insulin-syringes-31g-3cc-5-16-100-box/
Even though it doesn't say half unit markings on the box if you look at the reviews the woman says
The 1/2 unit markings are great as well.
Yes, the U40 I'm using have the half markings, but I'm trying to give in-between the half markings and my eyes are not on board with the new plan ;) Such a tiny amount and I wish I could be a little more exact.
 
And what hour (plus what?) do you get home?
I was home at +10, not to leave again, and BG 111. Then PMPS 121. The problem is he doesn't have as much of appetite when on the insulin. He is eating but it takes coaxing and stirring and topping with chicken dust. When he only eats partial meal he becomes agitated about an hour post shot. When he eats a full meal his mood is fine. I hope as he adjusts to this amount that his appetite increases.
 
I was home at +10, not to leave again, and BG 111. Then PMPS 121. The problem is he doesn't have as much of appetite when on the insulin. He is eating but it takes coaxing and stirring and topping with chicken dust. When he only eats partial meal he becomes agitated about an hour post shot. When he eats a full meal his mood is fine. I hope as he adjusts to this amount that his appetite increases.
Give it some time. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I really hope we can achieve the same for my Fin.
Never give up hope, believe it or not it took me 2 years and 4 months to get Tyler in remission with the help of everyone here. If I remember correctly one member said Tyler was the first one to go into remission after having diabetes that long. I don't want to jinx what I just said :p I can't let Tyler hear that :p
 
Never give up hope, believe it or not it took me 2 years and 4 months to get Tyler in remission with the help of everyone here. If I remember correctly one member said Tyler was the first one to go into remission after having diabetes that long. I don't want to jinx what I just said :p I can't let Tyler hear that :p
You are awesome, Diane!
 
These are pretty much perfect cycles though! Well consider an increase after a few days at this dose, but we'll also need to talk about dosing method.
PMPS is 143. Not sure what happened. I gave him tbsp of LC wet food, same one he eats regularly, at +6. I did the same thing yesterday and the PMPS was 121. I changed the insulin out today and gave first shot from new bottle just now. So, maybe the old insulin that I gave this morning was going bad? I read online it's only good for 6-8 weeks. Fins is 8.5 weeks old.
 
PMPS is 143. Not sure what happened. I gave him tbsp of LC wet food, same one he eats regularly, at +6. I did the same thing yesterday and the PMPS was 121. I changed the insulin out today and gave first shot from new bottle just now. So, maybe the old insulin that I gave this morning was going bad? I read online it's only good for 6-8 weeks. Fins is 8.5 weeks old.
I found this answered by a member Janet that used prozinc she said
ProZinc is good for 5-6 months after opened as long as you keep it refrigerated. If youre noticing it's not as effective I would get a new vial.

@FrostD
 
PMPS is 143. Not sure what happened. I gave him tbsp of LC wet food, same one he eats regularly, at +6. I did the same thing yesterday and the PMPS was 121. I changed the insulin out today and gave first shot from new bottle just now. So, maybe the old insulin that I gave this morning was going bad? I read online it's only good for 6-8 weeks. Fins is 8.5 weeks old.
Well the difference between 121 and 143 is within the plus/minus 20 percent meter variance. If you take 121 and multiply by 1.2 you get 145.2 so it is within the meter variance. I would not blame the snacks. A lot of people use their insulin to the last drop, but I do hope the new vial may help.
 
I found this answered by a member Janet that used prozinc she said
ProZinc is good for 5-6 months after opened as long as you keep it refrigerated. If youre noticing it's not as effective I would get a new vial.

@FrostD
Thank you! That is good to know as this stuff ain't cheap ;)...I didn't notice any change, other than the PMPS 143, but I thought I read somewhere that it's only good 6-8 weeks so I swapped it out.
 
Thank you! That is good to know as this stuff ain't cheap ;)...I didn't notice any change, other than the PMPS 143, but I thought I read somewhere that it's only good 6-8 weeks so I swapped it out.
As long as you didn't see any white floaties in the vial the old one should be good.
You can always go back and use it and see what his numbers are
 
Well the difference between 121 and 143 is within the plus/minus 20 percent meter variance. If you take 121 and multiply by 1.2 you get 145.2 so it is within the meter variance. I would not blame the snacks. A lot of people use their insulin to the last drop, but I do hope the new vial may help.
Tonight he went from 143 PMPS to 115 +1 hour. Usually he doesn't drop that fast. He isn't eating as much as he did when he wasn't getting the insulin. He licks the food and eats some but not what he usually would. Maybe that's causing the dip? Should I give a snack twice a day? and should I just give freeze dried chicken breast instead of the LC wet food? thank you!
 
Tonight he went from 143 PMPS to 115 +1 hour. Usually he doesn't drop that fast. He isn't eating as much as he did when he wasn't getting the insulin. He licks the food and eats some but not what he usually would. Maybe that's causing the dip? Should I give a snack twice a day? and should I just give freeze dried chicken breast instead of the LC wet food? thank you!
Most of us feed LC food as snacks twice during each 12 hour cycle , say around +2 and +4
Like a tablespoon
Is he sniffing the food and walking away,
Other than the science diet hc foods you can pick up some of these if you ever need to bring his BG up

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs
 
Last edited:
I'm going to tag Melissa for you, don't know if she's awake , will ask her to look at your SS and read post #182 . I know she mentioned that she wants to discuss dosing methods with you in her post #172
@FrostD
If I remember correctly
Normal for a pet meter it's 68-150
I can try also tagging
@Shelley & Jess to take a look at your SS
 
@Finster
Lisa I think it's time to start a new thread , this one has gotten to long, they like us to keep them around 50 posts
By the way Finn is a handsome boy
For tomorrow I would suggest posting like this
Date Finster AMPS# and any other tests after that , you can put his PMPS # there also any any additional tests
To add the additional tests look to the right and you will see the word Thread Tools tap in that , then tap on Edit Thread , add the tests and tap Save
You should link this thread to tomorrow's one .
Do a new post everyday and link the previous days post to it
So tomorrow morning go back to the prozinc board

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/prozinc-pzi.24/ and post a new thread

To link the previous days post here's the best I can do to explain it

To link this thread to the new one you will start the next time you post something , look up top where you see the pic of the cat left hand side ,above that is your previous days post in that long line , it starts with https://felinediabetes.com etc. Do you see it ? Tap on that copy and then paste it on your new thread for tomorrow where you would start to write
 
Last edited:
Thank you so much, diane! I hope I did it right. Fin is not feeling great this morning and I didn't give his am shot.
 
Back
Top