Please help get Finster back on track

BG 88....thank goodness it's headed back up. Hopefully not too much?
Okay. It’s come up a little bit but not a lot. That’s the food. Please retest in another 30 minutes to make sure it’s not going down again. It’s still very early in the cycle and the insulin will be very active.
 
Last edited:
Please also make notes in your spreadsheet about the food that you fed (you can just put 24% carb if you want to) and at what hour the food was given at what BG. You can put this in the remarks cell or in the actual cell where it was fed - but then you have to manually color code the cell and I am not sure if you know how to do that.
 
Okay. It’s come up a little bit but not a low. That’s the food. Please retest in another 30 minutes to make sure it’s not going down again. It’s still very early in the cycle and the insulin will be very active.

I will test in 30 minutes. If it's headed down should I give tsp science diet or something else? I have a can of fancy feast white meat chicken florentine with garden greens in a delicate sauce- the chart says 15 carbs on that one.
 
Please also make notes in your spreadsheet about the food that you fed (you can just put 24% carb if you want to) and at what hour the food was given at what BG. You can put this in the remarks cell or in the actual cell where it was fed - but then you have to manually color code the cell and I am not sure if you know how to do that.
I added to remarks and coded it the light green used for BG at the time of food. Hope that's correct.
 
I will test in 30 minutes. If it's headed down should I give tsp science diet or something else? I have a can of fancy feast white meat chicken florentine with garden greens in a delicate sauce- the chart says 15 carbs on that one.
Let’s see what the number is.
 
My wifi keeps dropping...I have to wait a couple minutes for it to reconnect. 11:05 BG 97. I hope it'snot going to get too high.
Okay just test in one hour for a plus 5. Don’t worry about it going too high. He doesn’t seem prone to high numbers lately. If you give a teaspoon of low carb Fancy Feast flaked food that would be good right now.
 
Okay just test in one hour for a plus 5. Don’t worry about it going too high. He doesn’t seem prone to high numbers lately. If you give a teaspoon of low carb Fancy Feast flaked food that would be good right now.

11:30 I fed tsp of chicken and tuna flaked low carb BUT had to sprinkle tiny amounts crushed freeze dried chicken breast-he ate it all :)
12:15 BG 103
 
11:30 I fed tsp of chicken and tuna flaked low carb BUT had to sprinkle tiny amounts crushed freeze dried chicken breast-he ate it all :)
12:15 BG 103
Excellent number and not going up too fast. So glad about the food with the magic chicken dust. Like I said, my cats like it too.
 
You can give more of the teaspoons of LC whenever you want to- up until-+10 and then no food. Could you test again at +7 (2:15).
 
When you get a chance it would be helpful to set up your signature
To set up your signature which you will see is at the end of everyone's post in gray, click on your name up top and then tap on the word signature and add this information
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

Take a look at mine
 
When you get a chance it would be helpful to set up your signature
To set up your signature which you will see is at the end of everyone's post in gray, click on your name up top and then tap on the word signature and add this information
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

Take a look at mine
Hi, I've update the signature block. Please let me know if it doesn't display properly.
 
I did...BG 93.
I've been trying to get him to eat some more fancy feast with chicken. he ate maybe 1/2 tsp. He's licking his lips again. I also took him outside. He likes to walk around in the yard and I think it may help with the glucose.
 
I did...BG 93.
I've been trying to get him to eat some more fancy feast with chicken. he ate maybe 1/2 tsp. He's licking his lips again. I also took him outside. He likes to walk around in the yard and I think it may help with the glucose.
Okay, you’re doing well.
 
Here are so labs from back in December.
 

Attachments

  • Fin dec bloodwork.png
    Fin dec bloodwork.png
    215.4 KB · Views: 203
Last edited:
He really doesn't like being in the 90's :(
It’s not uncommon for cats who are used to being in high numbers not to feel well in the low numbers. Their bodies are not used to it. Some will even hide or get lethargic. It’s like me when you take my caffeine away. Poor boy.
 
All those labs look good for a cat of his age. The low lymphocytes are caused by the steroid of course. What I don’t understand is that you said he was diagnosed in December, but is BG was only 141.
He was diagnosed June 27. The labs I sent a couple hours ago are from December. Just for comparison with the labs I sent from June visit. Sorry for the confusion
 
7:10 pm BG 113. I'm going to give him dinner but 113 is the lowest i've seen evening pre shot.
 
He was diagnosed June 27. The labs I sent a couple hours ago are from December. Just for comparison with the labs I sent from June visit. Sorry for the confusion
Okay. I got it now. I was driving in a car most of the afternoon and my daughter was reading it to me. I thought she said “in December when he was diagnosed.” Then I told her what to type for me. :)
 
When was the steroid started? Do you recall what month/ year? A BG of only 141 at the vet would not really be cause for concern as any cat might have that due to stress of being at the vet. Some of my non-diabetic cats have gone higher.
 
He did eat the freeze dried chicken and some more of the fancy feast :) Next week I can get a mobile vet to come do a fructosamine test.
I'm going to do the BG right now and will post shortly.
I hope I am not inundating you, but at this point you probably don’t need to pay for the fructosamine test. It will give a number that is an average of blood glucose over about the last two weeks or so. Now that you are testing, you can figure this out for yourself- you will have a good idea anyway. My meter even has a function where it will tell me a 7, 14, and I think even a 30 day average of my BG readings.
 
When was the steroid started? Do you recall what month/ year? A BG of only 141 at the vet would not really be cause for concern as any cat might have that due to stress of being at the vet. Some of my non-diabetic cats have gone higher.
He has been on and off prednisolone for many years. This particular round was started back in December. By June, date of diabetes diagnosis, he had been on 5 mg twice daily for five months. Also during those five months he ate everything he could get ahold of-people food included.
 
Looking back at my text I see where I posted that he was diagnosed in december...So sorry for the confusion. He saw vet in december for allergies/asthma. They did blood work which came back fine and put him on prednisolone. By June he was ravenous and drinking water like crazy. I took him in and that's when the labs showed diabetes. June 27 diagnosed with diabetes and started on insulin.
 
He has been on and off prednisolone for many years. This particular round was started back in December. By June, date of diabetes diagnosis, he had been on 5 mg twice daily for five months. Also during those five months he ate everything he could get ahold of-people food included.
That’s quite a high dose of pred (I mean twice a day). Steroids do increase thirst and hunger, but it does look like it sent him into diabetes. He doesn’t seem to need much insulin at this point. Maybe we can find a dose that will just give him the support he needs while (hopefully) his pancreas heals.
 
BG at 0630 142. His appetite is much improved. He ate 1/2 low carb FF this morning :)
Not sure If I should give .5 insulin? Also I'm down to five test strips. Shipment is coming tomorrow.
 
Back
Top