Please help. Feline acromegaly diagnosis.

Status
Not open for further replies.

ChuChu & Friends

Member Since 2018
Sorry. A repeat from my intro. Chui is such a dear friend. I've googled all the forums and tried to learn but we are lost. Took him in for a routine checkup. His Glucose Index was over 500. We started with one vet, one insulin. No change and rapidly worsening health. We have now spent just 3 months going from vet to vet to feline internal specialist at a clinic, and gone from Vetsulin to Lantus (third week on.) My Chui has been on nothing but good hi protein foods (and chicken) always. He was always so healthy. A wonderful friend. In 2 months he has gone from a healthy seeming cat to a sad, frightened looking person who is ravenous at all times and drags his back legs. I try to follow him around when I'm home to help him in and out of the litter box and onto the couch beside me, the only time he seems almost content. We've gone from reassuring weekly responses from our vets that he would very likely get better ("and we often see complete remissions") to yesterday's prognosis of "we're probably looking at 4 to 6 weeks." I work full time and am so sad to leave him every morning I can hardly think. Does anyone have any advice? thoughts? anything? We just did a Glucose curve. His first number was 462. His end of the day number was the same and no more than 10 pts different all day. The insulin isn't having any effect. Hasn't ever seemed to have any effect. The DM food he's been on for 3 months has had no effect. Please, I know this is probably not what I'm supposed to write for an intro, but I am desperate. I don't know what to do.


 
Last edited by a moderator:
I responded to your post in the Welcome forum. Please read that. I assure you that you will get responses regarding these important issues and concerns.
 
Welcome. Sorry you are going through this. My cat had acro and even with no special treatment lived several happy years. There are some treatment options available as well. Has Chui had the blood test to diagnos acro? What dose insulin are you giving?
 
What dose of Lantus was the curve performed for?
Do you have curve results for previous doses on Lantus?
When do you feed Chui? Before each shot?

When an internist was working with me to figure out what was happening with MurrFee (he was high dose (about 8 units Levemir) cat with no good BGs being feed before each shot only) his dose as drastically decreased and a cure done. The curve shot a high preshot (high 400s) and then the BG would go up and then read HI (>600) and then go down for next preshot).
As dose was increased BGs got better. He was subsequently diagnosed with acromegaly and his dose increased to over 50 units twice daily (combination of Levemir and N (since N is less expensive).
 
There are options if your cat has acro. Bronx has acro and it was a long time before I got him below 400. It is so overwhelming at first, but if you spend some time here and read the stickies on top of this forum & the Lantus forum, you will get a better grasp on things. Acro is not a death sentence, Bronx was diagnosed in 2016 and still chugging along pretty good. You are lucky to find this board, it saved Bronx.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top