Please Help! dosing info

Status
Not open for further replies.
Please someone take a look at my ss and tell me what you would have done with the #'s were getting....last night was 137....should we have given a full unit? Because this morning, he's high....377......we've been trying to stay with 1 unit, but 137 just seems too low to give that full unit? Please help....what would you have done??
 
Hi Becky,
It could be a bounce from lower numbers yesterday. It's hard to tell without some mid-cycle tests. If you could fit some in today that would help to build a clearer picture of what's going on. The 1 unit you've given over the last 3+ days has brought your kitty down to some good numbers. The high number this morning suggests a bounce and if it is it can take a cycle or two to dissipate. I'm not a dosing expert but those who are would also ask to see more tests through a cycle. If you're at work, then through the evening would be helpful.

If you're at home today, you should try for at least +5 and +7 tests to see how low kitty goes.
 
Hi Becky,
It could be a bounce from lower numbers yesterday. It's hard to tell without some mid-cycle tests. If you could fit some in today that would help to build a clearer picture of what's going on. The 1 unit you've given over the last 3+ days has brought your kitty down to some good numbers. The high number this morning suggests a bounce and if it is it can take a cycle or two to dissipate. I'm not a dosing expert but those who are would also ask to see more tests through a cycle. If you're at work, then through the evening would be helpful.

If you're at home today, you should try for at least +5 and +7 tests to see how low kitty goes.
Would you have given 1 unit with that low of a number?
 
Would you have given 1 unit with that low of a number?
No, I would not give 1 unit on a 137 (139?) BG. That's a perfect value. I would probably have opted for no shot if it was my cat. Dosing at low BG numbers isn't for the faint of heart!

I see on the SS that you dropped the dose to 0.5 unit last night when the PMPS was 139. Chances are there were some quite low numbers through the night and that could explain the 377 this morning. It's hard to know what to do when these things happen. My policy for my cat is if I'm in doubt about whether to dose on a low number, I don't. Better too high at the next preshot than going hypo, especially overnight.
 
Last edited:
I agree with Kris. My lowest no shoot number is 180, and then when you have lots of data. So I think skipping was the right thing to do. Next time, you might try stalling - waiting 20 minutes without feeding (which raises the bg levels) and then retest. If the number is rising, not falling and nearer your no shoot number, shoot a smaller dose. I wonder if 0.25 for your yellow preshots would be good, in hopes your next preshot would be high enough to shoot.

Let's see how your one unit for the 377 does today; it should be a good dose. I also think getting mid cycle numbers would help you see when and what is happening.

PS This is good news. You are getting lower preshots.
 
Last edited:
Yep, that BG number was so low that I don't think you'd find anyone suggesting you shoot any dose. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top