Please help... dose advice. I have no idea what to give now

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amanda Whitehead

Member Since 2017
Hi all
In November my boy was on 2 units of vetsulin twice a day we didn't see much improvement with this amount so we pushed him up to 2.5 units. We then had to board him in December at our vets while we went away so we decided to go back to 2 units, however this time 2 units was having a different effect. Our vets had to skip shots as he kept getting low levels. Since he has been back from boarding I can't seem to figure out what the best dose is for him. I can't go by the previous readings because seems the insulin is having a better effect now. Last night I had to stay up as after 2 units he was dropping see below readings:
PMPS 9.57pm 372
11.55pm 322
1.45am 184
251am 111
4.39am 85
6.00am 114
9.47am 97

At 6am last night I stopped testing and went to bed as I thought he'd reached nadir and his level was increasing. Only to find this morning he had gone lower. Now I'm concerned that he reached hypo range between 6am-9.47am.

Is it possible from his chart that he could be going into remission. His diabetes was steroid induced.

My thoughts are to try 1.5units and see how we go with that. I don't want to keep skipping shots because he seems to go back into the 300's when we skip.

I appreciate any help, I'm lost and worried about hypos. I also start a job in Feb and I won't be able to do this much testing.

Thanks all
 
Not a vetsulin expert so I can't really advise on a dose, but I have a couple questions:

- is he still on steroids, or if not, when did treatment stop?
- does he have any history of ketones or DKA (diabetic ketoacidosis)?
 
Not a vetsulin expert so I can't really advise on a dose, but I have a couple questions:

- is he still on steroids, or if not, when did treatment stop?
- does he have any history of ketones or DKA (diabetic ketoacidosis)?

He was on steroids for ear mites. He stopped that treatment about August last year.

When I have tested before for ketones it always seems ok, but I will test this again today to be sure.

Thanks
 
OK, that's great!

No history of ketones (assuming you still get a good answer today) makes it much less complicated to step down on dosage very quickly. It's definitely possible for the steroid-induced diabetes to have resolved in the time since August, too. If nothing else, it does definitely sound like a dose decrease is in order! Some vetsulin folks will likely be by later to help figure all that out.
 
OK, that's great!

No history of ketones (assuming you still get a good answer today) makes it much less complicated to step down on dosage very quickly. It's definitely possible for the steroid-induced diabetes to have resolved in the time since August, too. If nothing else, it does definitely sound like a dose decrease is in order! Some vetsulin folks will likely be by later to help figure all that out.

Thanks so much. I hope so because everytime shot time comes round I'm not sure what to give :S
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top