MariaSpain
Member Since 2023
Hello everybody!
I found this wonderful forum searching the net for help for my litty sweety, Susi (a boy)
He is 12-years old, and in 2016 has a diabetes bout (most probably caused by impropper food and corticosteroid eye drops) from which he got a complete remission after 2 months of a modified TR with Lantus. He had completely normal blood glucose thereafter (50-80 range most of the time), till some weeks ago. During the treatment in 2016 he was eating strictly wet food, but after the remission I started giving him dry one little by little (measuring the glucose to check for negative impact), and there was no problem at all. The dry one was Satiety by Royal Canin and it never caused a BG elevation
It happened that a couple of months ago we notices one of his front long canine teeth is missing, and the gums are inflamed, so I took him to the vet, had an antibiotic course and started giving him a specialized dry food HILLS ORAL HEALTH. This food seemed to me partucularly greasy, in fact it seems fat (oily) even by the touch...Well: a couple of weeks ago I noticed that he started drinking a WAY more water than usual, and under the suspicion that it might be the diabetes again, I checked his BG and it was 286
Of course, we took him to the vet immediately. The problem is he is terrified of going out, and unfortunately the vet had difficulties to find him a vein to draw blood so it took quite a lot of time, and when the vet finally got the blood, poor Susi had 596 of glucose, his highest ever. During the 2016 bout the highest he ever had was 400 something in the vet, and 300 something at home
So I requested a prescription for Lantus and started it with the insulin already. Since now his sugar is not so high, the dosis is 1,75iU BID and TR
But, here comes my doubt and request for help:
-In 2016 I applied the TR and wrote a diary with daily values and relevant data. So, now I of course re-read it to see what had been the tendency then. What I saw and vaguely remember is that, back then, after about 2 months of rather homogeneus values for BG (180-300 mostly), I made a modification of the protocol and as far as I remember, I started to apply something like (what I now see here is) the Hodgkin approach (with Lantus), and give him as needed some kind of booster doses when the glucose was above some points
The pity is I did not write down the exact criteria I had followed then for this modification, and I am now unable to find what I exaclty used. I say pity, because, about 2 weeks after "modifying the TR protocol" in this way, Susi started to have a completely normal BG and insulin was discontinued
Anybody please, can you help me with a suggestion about what this protocol modificatin might be?
My second question: if what caused him now the diabetes bout is (as I suspect), the fat in the dry food I had been giving him lately, is it wise now to give him very low carb (i.e. high protein and fat) food only? Should I give only wet?
Many thanks in advance for reading me and any suggestion and opinion, would be most welcome!
Maria
I found this wonderful forum searching the net for help for my litty sweety, Susi (a boy)
He is 12-years old, and in 2016 has a diabetes bout (most probably caused by impropper food and corticosteroid eye drops) from which he got a complete remission after 2 months of a modified TR with Lantus. He had completely normal blood glucose thereafter (50-80 range most of the time), till some weeks ago. During the treatment in 2016 he was eating strictly wet food, but after the remission I started giving him dry one little by little (measuring the glucose to check for negative impact), and there was no problem at all. The dry one was Satiety by Royal Canin and it never caused a BG elevation
It happened that a couple of months ago we notices one of his front long canine teeth is missing, and the gums are inflamed, so I took him to the vet, had an antibiotic course and started giving him a specialized dry food HILLS ORAL HEALTH. This food seemed to me partucularly greasy, in fact it seems fat (oily) even by the touch...Well: a couple of weeks ago I noticed that he started drinking a WAY more water than usual, and under the suspicion that it might be the diabetes again, I checked his BG and it was 286
Of course, we took him to the vet immediately. The problem is he is terrified of going out, and unfortunately the vet had difficulties to find him a vein to draw blood so it took quite a lot of time, and when the vet finally got the blood, poor Susi had 596 of glucose, his highest ever. During the 2016 bout the highest he ever had was 400 something in the vet, and 300 something at home
So I requested a prescription for Lantus and started it with the insulin already. Since now his sugar is not so high, the dosis is 1,75iU BID and TR
But, here comes my doubt and request for help:
-In 2016 I applied the TR and wrote a diary with daily values and relevant data. So, now I of course re-read it to see what had been the tendency then. What I saw and vaguely remember is that, back then, after about 2 months of rather homogeneus values for BG (180-300 mostly), I made a modification of the protocol and as far as I remember, I started to apply something like (what I now see here is) the Hodgkin approach (with Lantus), and give him as needed some kind of booster doses when the glucose was above some points
The pity is I did not write down the exact criteria I had followed then for this modification, and I am now unable to find what I exaclty used. I say pity, because, about 2 weeks after "modifying the TR protocol" in this way, Susi started to have a completely normal BG and insulin was discontinued
Anybody please, can you help me with a suggestion about what this protocol modificatin might be?
My second question: if what caused him now the diabetes bout is (as I suspect), the fat in the dry food I had been giving him lately, is it wise now to give him very low carb (i.e. high protein and fat) food only? Should I give only wet?
Many thanks in advance for reading me and any suggestion and opinion, would be most welcome!
Maria