please help= confused WITH TR, Mm has FD

Status
Not open for further replies.

MamaLovesMomo

Member Since 2020
Good Morning,

My cat female, MM, 7 years old this June was diagnosed in May 6 2020 of FD. I joined another TR forum (not this one), and started to log my Cat’s pre shot and dosing early June. But My cat is always getting high numbers, like her +12 am and +12 pm is always in 400-500. Nadir is like +6 hrs 200+-300. She was in Prozinc until May 28, switched to Lantus after that until now.
She is in Purina Dm wet since she was diagnosed. I mixed with raw chicken - started 2 weeks ago ( she won’t eat raw alone), no more treats. My question is = the TR I joined (not this) when she has low numbers like 200 or 155 in her +12 pre shot, her dose is reduced. This is always like this. We have a dosing scale depending on her pre shot BG numbers. So after analyzing all her numbers, I noticed The next day= after +12 she is back to 500+. They gave me a scale to follow. Dose depends on her pre shot reading- I forgot to ask- is this “ SLIDING SCALE”
2 Days ago, June 28= I read the Tilly Diabetes, and I followed it- So far, her numbers came down to 200-300, better than 500+. And she (Kirsten), the writer - mentioned consistent dosing” NO SLIDING SCALE”.
I feel that her approach to TR is working better for my cat.
So I raised her units, from 1.25-1.50 and followed exactly what she was saying. After her first dose of 1.50 MM is 278, and I did NOT reduce her dose (like what the other forum scale has), I still gave her 1.50u- so, the next day she was 289. So far, I am working and cannot take my cat’s nadir(+6-+8)
I forgot to mention, I am using alpha trak2 meter, and always taking her Blood Glucose before dosing BID, every 12 hours.
Can someone please tell me is changing dose every pre shot depending on numbers is called sliding scale? If that’s it, it does not seem to be working with my cat MM.
And is Anyone here following the Protocol of the one that Kirsten said? - in Tilly Diabetes?
Thank you..any help will really clear my confused mind. Thank you so much

Mannylen
 
Last edited:
Hello and welcome!

Yes, changing the dose based on pre-shot numbers is "sliding scale" dosing. We don't use it here. Particularly with depot insulins like lantus, we tend to find that keeping to a consistent dose leads to easier-to-interpret numbers and better overall results.

The TR used for lantus here is a modified version of another protocol, and differs from the ones you have been using. You won't find anyone directly following Tilly's protocol on this site-- it would be too confusing to have different people following different flavors of "TR".

The two different Lantus dosing methods used on this site are written up here: Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR). Note that we have an alternative to TR, SLGS, that you might find easier to follow if you can't get always get mid cycle tests in (it's not strictly necessary to always get the nadir on TR, just "at least one" test during a cycle, but it's certainly more nerve-wracking when you are limited on when you can test). There's lots of other information in the stickies in the Lantus / Basaglar (glargine) and Levemir (detemir) forum as well.

Hope this helps, let us know if you have more questions, and welcome again!
 
Hello everyone,

Thank you so much for all your kindness to give answers to my questions.
- Hello Nan & Amber - Thank you so much for the information. My MM did start at low + sliding scale, when she was in other TR, which I firmly believe she is better with consistent dosing as I was analyzing her number after starting the Protocol of Kirsten. I read the guidelines for TR here, and my concern is- I am now back to the office. When I was in other TR forum (not this), I was able to take her Nadir +6 or +8 because I was working at home then. But not possible now. I can do it during weekend (Sat and Sunday). This is my question - I will have NO Nadir BG, is that possible to rely on her +12 am and +12 Pm preshot, I can also do +9 or +10 every day, I will take her BG as soon as I come home . Also, I have noticed there were times - her BG +6 is higher than her +10 or +12 BG. There were times lower. It might also be because of sliding scale that we were using in other Forum? If this is the case, is this TR protocol in this forum (Feline Diabetes) can still be possible to be applied with my MM?
This morning she was 254/14.11 (+12). I did consistent (Per Kirsten of Tilly diabetes) dosing of 1.5u. It is really showing improvements to her. She was always in 490+ or 591+ on her +12 when she was in other TR (maybe because of sliding scale).

- With regards to her Dm Purina, I tried to switch her- I did buy 20 different kinds of canned foods... She walked away from all of them. I ground her fresh chicken liver, chicken heart, breast chicken, she licked once and walked away. Instead- she went to the place where I stored her Dm Purina food, and just sat there. I waited for her to eat - 4 hours, she was just staring and smelling all the other foods. I gave up, after waiting for 5 hours, and then gave her the Purina again. They told me (in other forum - they are all very nice and supportive there too!), I can mix the raw chicken little by little. That's what I did.. Bingo.. she ate them.. It was tiny portion before, now it is half of her 1/8 of a can of Purina (her meal). I divide the can in 8 portions, (mix with raw chicken ), she eats every 2 hours, unless she takes a nap.

- I will continue and try this week to find another can foods with low carbs with no meal by products, no soy, no caragenan (DM has)... and mix little by little again.. same trick I did with raw chicken.

Thank you all...
 
If it is the regular purina DM wet food, not the savory selects, then it is perfectly fine carb wise (6%). It’s just not generally recommended here because of the price and the fact that the ingredients are not great and certainly nothing “prescription”. But eating is the most important thing :cat:
Hello Sarah & Soph, yes - NOT the savory, the DM wet can food. I also, always add tons of water on it and mix it. Her Vet, also gave her Fortiflora as probiotic because she has mild stomach inflammation.. and she loves to lick the water. I always throw the sauce from the can- because it might be adding more carbs..
Thank you.
 
:bighug: :bighug: :bighug:

Thank you so much for the information. My MM did start at low + sliding scale, when she was in other TR, which I firmly believe she is better with consistent dosing as I was analyzing her number after starting the Protocol of Kirsten. I read the guidelines for TR here, and my concern is- I am now back to the office. When I was in other TR forum (not this), I was able to take her Nadir +6 or +8 because I was working at home then. But not possible now. I can do it during weekend (Sat and Sunday). This is my question - I will have NO Nadir BG, is that possible to rely on her +12 am and +12 Pm preshot, I can also do +9 or +10 every day, I will take her BG as soon as I come home .

It really does sound like SLGS is a better fit for you while you're working. On that dosing method you:

1) Hold each dose (no changes) for a week, unless you need to take a reduction (see point 3).
2) After a week (say on the weekend, a day that works for you), do a full BG curve (12hrs, take the BG every two hours) to assess the dose and decide whether to stay, go down, or go up. We change by 0.25U at a time (unless the dose is already over 5U, in which case the change can be larger).
3) Any time you get a BG reading under 90, whether pre-shot or mid-cycle, during a curve or just a spot check during the week, reduce by 0.25 and hold the dose for at least a week.

Does this sound do-able?
 
:bighug: :bighug: :bighug:



It really does sound like SLGS is a better fit for you while you're working. On that dosing method you:

1) Hold each dose (no changes) for a week, unless you need to take a reduction (see point 3).
2) After a week (say on the weekend, a day that works for you), do a full BG curve (12hrs, take the BG every two hours) to assess the dose and decide whether to stay, go down, or go up. We change by 0.25U at a time (unless the dose is already over 5U, in which case the change can be larger).
3) Any time you get a BG reading under 90, whether pre-shot or mid-cycle, during a curve or just a spot check during the week, reduce by 0.25 and hold the dose for at least a week.

Does this sound do-able?

Hello Nan and Amber (GA).

Yes, that sounds perfect. I started the Tilly Diabetes from Kristen at the dose of 28th Am. It means I will start the BG curve on the 5th, perfect. That is Sunday and I am off.
Then.. I will find the decision whatever would be her BG result then. I will post the result here then, and kindly please advise me what is the proper thing to do then..

Thanks a lot.
 
The sauce from the can is okay to feed if you would like to or if your cat likes it! The carbs should be the same as the food. Fortiflora is not such a great probiotic but it’s good for enticing them to eat as well :cat:

Hello,

Would you please share with me why Fortiflora is no good? Because the vet gave it to her due to her mild corrugated small intestine as they said. - per abdominal utrasound.

Thank you so much... I appreciate all your kindness in replying here.
 
Hello,

Would you please share with me why Fortiflora is no good? Because the vet gave it to her due to her mild corrugated small intestine as they said. - per abdominal utrasound.

Thank you so much... I appreciate all your kindness in replying here.
A good probiotic should have multiple strains of bacteria. For example, I give my cat Proviable DC which contains 7 different strains, compared to Fortiflora which only contains one strain. Other people use human probiotics for their cats which contain even more.

Now I will say I do not know specifically about effectiveness for stomach inflammation, but I looked it up because I was interested and from my brief search, it looks like maybe bacteria in the genus Lactobacillus and the genus Bifidobacterium are most effective for inflammation (Fortiflora only contains Enterococcus faecium). So it’s not that Fortiflora is bad, it just may not be very effective. But if it’s helping your cat to eat, then there’s certainly no harm!
 
Hello,

I am a little worried. Today is the 12th cycle of increasing MM’s insulin from 1.25 to 1.5. I noticed that for her first 5 cycles, she was in 200+. But yesterday, she went back to 300+ and today she is at 469.

I don’t know what to do? Please help.
Per Nan and Amber (GA).. I will do the curve on Sunday.

Why is she high again? Thank you.
 
I have a couple of thoughts and a bit more information.

When the journal article supporting the use of TR was published, one of our long time FDMB members (Jill & Alex - both of whom have crossed the Rainbow Bridge) contacted Kirsten -- she's one of the co-authors of the article. The German Lantus forum is where the data for that article was collected. As a result of Kirsten's guidance, TR (and the Tilly information) became a part of what we do here. Prior to that time, the "other" dosing method (Start Low Go Slow) that was developed here for general use with all other insulin is what was used. A fair number of people on the Lantus board do use SLGS. However, there is published data supporting the use of TR and it's success at getting newly diagnosed cats into remission.

TR is more aggressive. If you are comfortable with TR, keep using that dosing method. You can get considerable guidance and support on our Lantus insulin support group. There is a wealth of information in the sticky notes at the top of the Lantus board. However, if you want to migrate over to the Lantus ISG, you will need to do a couple of things first. The ISG is very numbers driven. You will need to put together a spreadsheet so we can follow along with what you're doing and follow MM's progress. You'll also need to put more information in your signature. The instructions for how to set up both your spreadsheet and signature, along with some additional important information, are in this post.

Ordinarily, I'd be happy to provide input on dosing. Without being able to see MM's test data, I'm very reticent to make any recommendation. (Like I said, we're numbers driven!) Without the data, it would be easy to make a suggestion that might harm your kitty and we put safety above all else. In other words, could you put your spreadsheet together? If you need help, @Marje and Gracie can lend you a hand. (Please keep in mind, that it's a holiday weekend and the board may not be as active as usual.)

As for the other group that is practicing TR, I suspect this is the group that adapted the Roomp & Rand TR protocol for use with Prozinc. They use a sliding scale and eschew intervening with high carb food if a cat drops into low numbers. A sliding scale was more commonplace a while ago with Prozinc. However, a sliding scale is not appropriate for a depot insulin like Lantus. You need to hold the dose for at least 6 cycles/3 days with a depot insulin. Adjustments based on the pre-shot number means that you could end up changing the dose every cycle and this ends up with wonky numbers.
 
I have a couple of thoughts and a bit more information.

When the journal article supporting the use of TR was published, one of our long time FDMB members (Jill & Alex - both of whom have crossed the Rainbow Bridge) contacted Kirsten -- she's one of the co-authors of the article. The German Lantus forum is where the data for that article was collected. As a result of Kirsten's guidance, TR (and the Tilly information) became a part of what we do here. Prior to that time, the "other" dosing method (Start Low Go Slow) that was developed here for general use with all other insulin is what was used. A fair number of people on the Lantus board do use SLGS. However, there is published data supporting the use of TR and it's success at getting newly diagnosed cats into remission.

TR is more aggressive. If you are comfortable with TR, keep using that dosing method. You can get considerable guidance and support on our Lantus insulin support group. There is a wealth of information in the sticky notes at the top of the Lantus board. However, if you want to migrate over to the Lantus ISG, you will need to do a couple of things first. The ISG is very numbers driven. You will need to put together a spreadsheet so we can follow along with what you're doing and follow MM's progress. You'll also need to put more information in your signature. The instructions for how to set up both your spreadsheet and signature, along with some additional important information, are in this post.

Ordinarily, I'd be happy to provide input on dosing. Without being able to see MM's test data, I'm very reticent to make any recommendation. (Like I said, we're numbers driven!) Without the data, it would be easy to make a suggestion that might harm your kitty and we put safety above all else. In other words, could you put your spreadsheet together? If you need help, @Marje and Gracie can lend you a hand. (Please keep in mind, that it's a holiday weekend and the board may not be as active as usual.)

As for the other group that is practicing TR, I suspect this is the group that adapted the Roomp & Rand TR protocol for use with Prozinc. They use a sliding scale and eschew intervening with high carb food if a cat drops into low numbers. A sliding scale was more commonplace a while ago with Prozinc. However, a sliding scale is not appropriate for a depot insulin like Lantus. You need to hold the dose for at least 6 cycles/3 days with a depot insulin. Adjustments based on the pre-shot number means that you could end up changing the dose every cycle and this ends up with wonky numbers.

Hello,

I was able to create the spreadsheet in google drive and upload the link in th signature.
I just want to ask how far data should I put? From 6/3-6/27, I was doing the sliding scale from another forum- we have no excel spreadsheet- we type the data into pur conversation everyday.
Only I started the “tilly” on 6/28 to up to now- with consistent dosing.

Thank you
 
Thanks for getting your spreadsheet set up and adding your signature.

What I suspect has happened is that Momo's numbers caused a "bounce." It looks like numbers in the 200s are lower than what your kitty is used to. If numbers drop low, if they drop fast, or if they drop into a range your cat's system is no longer. used to, it can cause the liver and pancreas to release a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones which then cause the numbers to spike upward. This is not dangerous -- it's just truly annoying for the caregiver. If you look at the numbers on 6/26, Momo dropped to 152 at PMPS and was then in the 500s the next day. To some degree, shooting a reduced dose was a factor but there's also a high probability that your kitty bounced.

I would urge you to start getting some PM cycle tests. Lantus dosing is based on the lowest number in the cycle. If you don't test at night, you're missing half of your data. In addition, many cats drop into lower numbers at night. You don't want to miss numbers that would signal a dose reduction.

If you are opting to follow TR, you evaluate the dose every 3 days/6 cycles. However, you are not routinely getting enough tests to know how low the nadir is and if you need to increase. With either of the dosing methods we use, you need to get your pre-shot tests and at least one additional test each cycle. I would also suggest you get a curve. A curve involves testing every 2 hours over a 12-hour cycle. This will give you information about when Lantus onset and nadir occur. Not all cats' nadirs are exactly at mid-cycle so it's very useful to have a sense of when your cat's nadir typically falls. (Nadirs also can and do shift around because our kitties do not like us to become complacent.) So, I'd suggest getting a few more tests over the weekend and if nadirs are pretty much where they've been, increasing the dose by 0.25u.

Please let me know if you have questions. You may want to do a brief intro on the Lantus board and post there. The members are very generous with their time and knowledge.
 
Thanks for getting your spreadsheet set up and adding your signature.

What I suspect has happened is that Momo's numbers caused a "bounce." It looks like numbers in the 200s are lower than what your kitty is used to. If numbers drop low, if they drop fast, or if they drop into a range your cat's system is no longer. used to, it can cause the liver and pancreas to release a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones which then cause the numbers to spike upward. This is not dangerous -- it's just truly annoying for the caregiver. If you look at the numbers on 6/26, Momo dropped to 152 at PMPS and was then in the 500s the next day. To some degree, shooting a reduced dose was a factor but there's also a high probability that your kitty bounced.

I would urge you to start getting some PM cycle tests. Lantus dosing is based on the lowest number in the cycle. If you don't test at night, you're missing half of your data. In addition, many cats drop into lower numbers at night. You don't want to miss numbers that would signal a dose reduction.

If you are opting to follow TR, you evaluate the dose every 3 days/6 cycles. However, you are not routinely getting enough tests to know how low the nadir is and if you need to increase. With either of the dosing methods we use, you need to get your pre-shot tests and at least one additional test each cycle. I would also suggest you get a curve. A curve involves testing every 2 hours over a 12-hour cycle. This will give you information about when Lantus onset and nadir occur. Not all cats' nadirs are exactly at mid-cycle so it's very useful to have a sense of when your cat's nadir typically falls. (Nadirs also can and do shift around because our kitties do not like us to become complacent.) So, I'd suggest getting a few more tests over the weekend and if nadirs are pretty much where they've been, increasing the dose by 0.25u.

Please let me know if you have questions. You may want to do a brief intro on the Lantus board and post there. The members are very generous with their time and knowledge.

Hello Sienne and Gabby,

Thank you so much for your time in analyzing, giving me explanations and the most important.. the thing I need to do.
Yes, I will do the curve tomorrow as I am home. Also, when you said “ need at least 1 additional test per cycle- what does it mean? Is cycle every 12 hours? Is that mean the cycle at night?
Thank you again.
 
A cycle is the time between shots. There are 1, 12-hour cycles per day. You want to get at least 4 tests over a 24 your period: your 2 pre-shot tests and at least one additional test during both the AM and PM cycles. Ideally, you want to get at least a "before bed" test during the PM cycle. If the numbers are dropping, you may need to get additional tests.
 
Hello,

Thank you. I also have quick question- Lantus recommends to discard the vial after 28 days. Is it true that it is less potent after 28 days? Momo’s Lantus is already past 28 days + 9 days And I am doing her curves- I noticed her Nadir never went down. She used to have better nadirs before.

Thanks
 
Hello,

Thank you. I also have quick question- Lantus recommends to discard the vial after 28 days. Is it true that it is less potent after 28 days? Momo’s Lantus is already past 28 days + 9 days And I am doing her curves- I noticed her Nadir never went down. She used to have better nadirs before.

Thanks
If it’s kept in the fridge, lantus is good for several months
 
Hello All,

I did the curves for MM and I updated her Spreadsheet. I don't think she goes down fast, because her lowest is in her 200+. Not sure if the insulin is not good anymore as it is already over 28 days, because I read it should be discarded after 28 days, though some said it should still be good. I got her a new one today - and I used the new one at her PM dose today. I will see if this will make a difference on her.

If- I will have to do another curve on this coming weekend - to see how it goes, then I will go to Lantus forum as I was told.

Any advise?

Thank you.
 
Hello all,

I just tested MM's BG at +5 after Pm shot with new vial of Insulin and she is at 139, thinking she ate a lot. Not sure if it has something to do with the new Vial of Lantus?

Thank you so much for all your help.
 
Not sure if it has something to do with the new Vial of Lantus?

It's possible, but as long as the other vial was kept in the fridge, wasn't cloudy or had any "floaties" in it, it should have been fine.

The ONLY reason there's a 28 day limit on Lantus is because the manufacturer only asked the FDA to test it for 28 days! So legally, they have to say that! We've had people here use the same vial for 4-6 months (and some even longer).

You might want to get 1 more test tonight if you can just to make sure she's done dropping ...but it's nice to see some blue!

Also, anytime you get a test that's really just out of the ordinary for what you'd expect, it's a good idea to immediately get a re-test just to make sure it wasn't just a wonky test strip.
 
Good Morning,

Thank you so much. That really makes my heart joyful to see that number. But, I was not able to get another test, I fell asleep. This morning her AMPS is 221. I am afraid to give her 1.50 as I won't be home and she might get too low. My husband is leaving and my son is sleeping. I gave her 1.25u only (previously when she was in other TR Forum - they suggest that if her BG is in that range she only gets = .50+fat). I will come home around 2Pm to get her test for +6,+8,+10 and Pm pre shot and some testing at night.

Is that ok to do to even though I will be missing the +2 and +4? to find out what amount of dose she really needs?

Thank you. I really appreciate all your help here.
 
Last edited:
Hello everyone,

I was able to take her BG @+7, she is @73. I will watch her not to go very low. I really believe now that the first Vial of Lantus I gave her is no longer good, or not as potent as this new one. I got that at a small pharmacy near us though expiration is not until 4/2022. She never goes down like this, even when I did her glucose curves@ 1.5 dose- she was always @200+. I even lowered her dose today-reduced it by .25u.

The new vial I got is from a big 24 hour CVS.

Thanks
 
Wow!!! :D :D :D :D :D !!!!

Nice to see green, although 73 is a little close for comfort on an AlphaTrak (the usual "take action" number is 68).

It was probably too early to see the effects of the reduced dose today, but definitely stay on that lower dose now. That is interesting about the new vial. There's no reason for the old one to have gone bad, but then you never know how it was treated before you got it. Frustrating!

Now that she may be starting to move into greens and/or you may have suddenly changed potency of your insulin, you're going to have to keep a close eye on her, hopefully figuring out some way to get at least one nighttime test.

Tonight, she may bounce high from that low (she may have gone even lower before you could test).
 
Wow!!! :D :D :D :D :D !!!!

Nice to see green, although 73 is a little close for comfort on an AlphaTrak (the usual "take action" number is 68).

It was probably too early to see the effects of the reduced dose today, but definitely stay on that lower dose now. That is interesting about the new vial. There's no reason for the old one to have gone bad, but then you never know how it was treated before you got it. Frustrating!

Now that she may be starting to move into greens and/or you may have suddenly changed potency of your insulin, you're going to have to keep a close eye on her, hopefully figuring out some way to get at least one nighttime test.

Tonight, she may bounce high from that low (she may have gone even lower before you could test).
Hello Nan and Amber ( GA),

Thank you so much. Sorry to ask- what does it mean by take action =68?
Also, her +9 went up to 174- from 73(+7) coz she ate?).

Honestly, since she was diagnosed, I am so stressed.. I already lost 20 lbs.. and I am only a petite 127 lbs lady, now 107 lbs.

I used to sleep a lot... now, I wake up so many times at night coz I am always checking her..
There were times I am blaming myself why I did not know I should not give her dry foods? Why the vet did not warn me? With her last visit, why I did not check her blood glucose result= ( she was hospitalized for phyothorax in January 6( I did not know why, I left her on Christmas Eve at home and we went to our Pastor’s house). My son invited his friends and had hot pot soup at home. I did not know that they put her in the basement, ( why in the basement, why not in my room?)because one of his friends is allergic to cat.
I did not know she was there for so long. Then on January 5, she started to be sad. January 6, Monday morning.. I threw her a treat and she never run after her treat. I took her on my lap and asked her why= I felt she had a fever. I told her I will bring her to a vet. Took to the first and 2nd vet- no one knows what was going on with her. I told them, she has difficulty breathing. The 2nd vet said he cannot read the x ray and blurry. Wednesday morning= She was at the bed, she had not eaten for 4 days, lethargic, I looked at her (she is my son’s cat by the way, she was at his room)= she looked at my eyes, I started to cry. I prayed- I don’t know what to do... God .. please help Momo.. I walked in the hallway of my office- and told my co worker my cat is very sick- he told me to go to my other co worker.. I walked to my other co worker’s office, she also has cats, we both cried when I told her about Momo. Suddenly, she grabbed a sticky note, and told me- “ try my vet” she may be able to help you... I came home.. told my son- I am bringing Momo to another Vet- he did not want to, he said- 3rd day, 3 vets... I insisted... I did notgive up... finally he said go ahead... the 3rd vet figured out what was wrong with her. Fluid in between her lungs. It was January 8, she told us to bring her to ER, but gave us her word” Momo's in gray condition- and she may not make it”
Tears started to fall in my eyes, I felt my heart stop breathing, but I need to be strong for her... I remember the words I told the vet... But God can still heal her, with Him all things are possible, then the vet nodded at me. My husband drove fast to the ER. My 3 children came and we were all there waited and praying.
She stayed 5 days= God gave her a chance... Thank God, she is now clear of fluid from her lungs.
This year is tough for us.. now she has diabetes. I blamed myself again- why I did not check her glucose, she was high already in January ( according to the ER blood test) Why I missed that? Why I only looked at the bills I paid? And trust the Vet that she is ok now... Why the vet did not tell me then?..
Thank God.. I started to work at home during pandemic, and noticed her drinking a lot and peeing a lot... I called the vet, make an appointment... and now.. she has diabetes..
I hope I can forgive myself one day.
 
Last edited:
:bighug: :bighug: :bighug: :bighug:

Aw, wow, you and Momo have really been through it lately!

Please don't blame yourself in any way for her diabetes or how the diagnosis happened or didn't-- there are just some things we can't anticipate or control, and this is one of them. You got the diagnosis and are doing everything now to help her get back to healthy, more than most people would do. Give yourself some credit!

Thank you so much. Sorry to ask- what does it mean by take action =68?
Also, her +9 went up to 174- from 73(+7) coz she ate?).

68 is the lowest we really want them to go when using an AlphaTrak. When they do dip below that, we "take action" by feeding some honey or high carb food to try to bring them back up and prevent hypoglycemia. That 73 you got today was still in safe territory, but close to that 68 cutoff.

As for why she went up to 173, there might be some little bump from eating, but more likely she was rising after the low numbers due to a phenomenon called "bouncing". Basically, Momo's body has gotten used to living in high numbers, so when she dipped a little low today, even without going into hypoglycemia, her body reacted by dumping stored sugars into the blood to counteract what felt like a dangerous situation. She may be very high this evening (we'll have to see), and possibly even for a couple days. It's not a dangerous thing, just annoying :rolleyes:. Eventually, her body will get used to numbers in the normal range and stop doing this.

Hang in there. You are doing great, and so is Momo!
 
:bighug: :bighug: :bighug: :bighug:

Aw, wow, you and Momo have really been through it lately!

Please don't blame yourself in any way for her diabetes or how the diagnosis happened or didn't-- there are just some things we can't anticipate or control, and this is one of them. You got the diagnosis and are doing everything now to help her get back to healthy, more than most people would do. Give yourself some credit!



68 is the lowest we really want them to go when using an AlphaTrak. When they do dip below that, we "take action" by feeding some honey or high carb food to try to bring them back up and prevent hypoglycemia. That 73 you got today was still in safe territory, but close to that 68 cutoff.

As for why she went up to 173, there might be some little bump from eating, but more likely she was rising after the low numbers due to a phenomenon called "bouncing". Basically, Momo's body has gotten used to living in high numbers, so when she dipped a little low today, even without going into hypoglycemia, her body reacted by dumping stored sugars into the blood to counteract what felt like a dangerous situation. She may be very high this evening (we'll have to see), and possibly even for a couple days. It's not a dangerous thing, just annoying :rolleyes:. Eventually, her body will get used to numbers in the normal range and stop doing this.

Hang in there. You are doing great, and so is Momo!

Hello Nan & Amber ( GA),

Thank you so much. I really appreciate your kindness and giving time to my post. You are very right- she is now 404(+12). I am worried why she went
t back high, but then you explained to me why.
I gave her 1.25 unit again. I will continue to check her all night to see how she goes. If that so, should I lower her dose for tomorrow’s AM shot? Or see wait what would be her numbers tonight?

Thank you,

Len and Momo
 
I think I would just check her one time tonight, and if she's still high, you're safe to go to bed. Gotta sleep when you can with FD!

1.25U is her new dose, unless she goes low again. Under the SLGS dosing method, you reduce any time they go below 90, so that 73 earned her a reduction!
 
Please dont beat yourself over this. You see, we all have been there. Quilt is a ready commodity and we all use it very well.
One thing you will find here is that we all try to lift one another through the rough times. You and Momo certainly have had yours.
Try to think of it this way . We love and learn together. Momo has already forgiven you its time to forgive yourself. You cant know everything heck we have vets that dont even have such power. Keep your power for Momo. We will help you.
Life is too short for blame, live and learn and a new day will dawn. Once you start "getting this" ? One day you will be saying these same words to another quilt ridden member. We are FAMILY here. You vent whenever you need. ok?
This whole diabetes race is not a sprint. Its a marathon. You WILL get there. ;):bighug:
jeanne
 
Please dont beat yourself over this. You see, we all have been there. Quilt is a ready commodity and we all use it very well.
One thing you will find here is that we all try to lift one another through the rough times. You and Momo certainly have had yours.
Try to think of it this way . We love and learn together. Momo has already forgiven you its time to forgive yourself. You cant know everything heck we have vets that dont even have such power. Keep your power for Momo. We will help you.
Life is too short for blame, live and learn and a new day will dawn. Once you start "getting this" ? One day you will be saying these same words to another quilt ridden member. We are FAMILY here. You vent whenever you need. ok?
This whole diabetes race is not a sprint. Its a marathon. You WILL get there. ;):bighug:
jeanne


Hello Jt & Trouble ( GA),

Thank you so much for your encouragement. Thank you for your kind words. I truly appreciate you guys giving advices, encouragement, love and support to us. Momo and I are so happy that you are here for all of us, all the members like us who don’t know what to do, confused and worried. Thank you for telling me- all these things. I am so grateful.
Also- it was New Year’s Eve when I left Momo ( wanted to change the word Christmas but won’t allow me).

Thanks a lot.

Len and Momo
 
Last edited:
I think I would just check her one time tonight, and if she's still high, you're safe to go to bed. Gotta sleep when you can with FD!

1.25U is her new dose, unless she goes low again. Under the SLGS dosing method, you reduce any time they go below 90, so that 73 earned her a reduction!

Thank you very much... Hope we all meet one day and I can truly give my Thanksgiving to you all.
 
I think I would just check her one time tonight, and if she's still high, you're safe to go to bed. Gotta sleep when you can with FD!

1.25U is her new dose, unless she goes low again. Under the SLGS dosing method, you reduce any time they go below 90, so that 73 earned her a reduction!

Thank you Nan & Amber ( Ga),

Yeah- she bounced back high again. I did one test and sleep, thank you.. if you did not tell me, I will be waking up so many times again. I gave her 1,25u today.




Thank you.
 
Wow! Momo is starting to get used to these nice numbers :cool:.

Let's see where she is at PMPS. If she's rising, it's probably safe to shoot your normal dose, but let's see where she is.
Hello everyone,

Yea, I waited and She ate a lot, she bounced back to 298, thanks.. I gave her regular dose— I was scared she will go down more.. at least at normal range... but not really.

Thank you... for all your help, i never see her number like this before (in blue and green). Thanks a lot to all of you...
 
Hey give yourself some credit! You and Momo did all the hard work. Keep up the good work!:bighug::cool::joyful:

Hello Jt and trouble (GA),

Oh thank you so much.. that is so sweet. I came home during my lunch (my house is 15-20 minutes drive to/from work), to check if Momo goes low... I am afraid she might go really low... and so shocked.. she was at 324 (+5.50 hours.. ughh).... I think her Nadir always happens at +8-+10).

Her Bg even went up from this morning AMPS (274)... ughh!!!

Thank you...
 
Hello Jt and trouble (GA),

Oh thank you so much.. that is so sweet. I came home during my lunch (my house is 15-20 minutes drive to/from work), to check if Momo goes low... I am afraid she might go really low... and so shocked.. she was at 324 (+5.50 hours.. ughh).... I think her Nadir always happens at +8-+10).

Her Bg even went up from this morning AMPS (274)... ughh!!!

Thank you...
Well it looks like you are still doing the hard work! wow
 
Good morning,

Hello everyone... quick question.. sorry to bother you.. She was at 91 on her +12 (PMPS), last night. I waited for 2.25 hours and she bounced back to 357. I gave her 1.25U. This morning, she was at 162 on her AMPS - I am confused how much to give, so I only gave her .50 ( I am not home - no one will watch her, everyone is sleeping, I am afraid she might go too low), then I will come home around 1Pm, and test her BG- if she goes up, will give her the rest? Is that ok? Kirsten mentioned that we can also do that.. I am a little confused and afraid on that part, because if I give her regular dose at 1.25u - and I am not home, I am afraid something might happened... we never know..

is that ok?

Thanks a lot..
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top