Please Help ASAP - Do I skip Shot Today?

ArchieB

Member Since 2025
Archie's AMPS is BG is 171 (Alphatrak3). This is the first time it has been this low preshot. Should I skip this dose or test again after he eats and give the shot based on that? We just increased his dose to 2U (Vetsulin) this week.
 
in all cases of insulin the members that assist increase/decrease, the rule is to do so in 0.25u at a time, you want to understand how the increase or decrease react in your cat's system, every cat is different, especially being new for both of you. If you stalled the shot and fed a bit and test is the right approach, I am not familiar with Vetsulin, I can say that Caninsulin is a dog insulin it hits hard and fast in a cat, the best insulins for cats are Lantus and PoroZinc, they are a 12-hour insulin and easy on the cat. I do not give dosing advice, but I do know that is not good not to give the dose ( there are exceptions) it is best to stall feed a bit of low carb test, and repeat,until safe to shoot; I do not know the protocol of time span in the time of shot you can wait to shootwith Caninsulin/Vetsulin I will tag other members that can answer the questions or concerns on Caninsulin, below is a link about Caninsulin/Vetsulin you may want to read

Sticky - BEGINNER'S GUIDE TO CANINSULIN/VETSULIN
@Wendy&Neko
 
Thank you! I was able to speak to my vet once they opened at 8 am and he recommend to test 30 min after feeding and give the 2U if it was over 200. When I tested again after eating, he was really high so I gave the shot. My vet said he wanted to see how my cat did on Vetsulin at 2U before switching to Lantus so I am hoping to get him switched over to Lantus in the near future.
 
Back
Top