Please check Bunny's SS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bunster

Member Since 2017
I didn't give a shot last night, her numbers were low and I was too scared..that's twice now , should she be fasting for her pmps? thank you all so much!
 
Wow! What a pretty PMPS that was! Yes, she should be fasting for 2 hours before her preshot tests so that you can be sure you're giving insulin on a "true" number.

I think I'm missing the other time you skipped a shot (sorry I'm super groggy today!). What day was that?

89 is pretty low (not BAD low, just low for a preshot) so it's unlikely, but in the future, if you get a number too low to shoot, can you try stalling for 15-20 min WITHOUT FOOD and retesting? Sometimes they'll come up more so you can give a shot. You can do that for up to an hour. I'd also post here at the same time so someone knows what is going on...we can help to advise you on what to do if they don't come up or don't come up ENOUGH. Sometimes there are other techniques to use or a reduced shot can be given so that you can still have insulin so she doesn't wind up super high like this morning (again not a bad thing...skipping last night was fine, but we know it shot her back up as I would have expected :)).

One more question. Is there any way you can grab some mid cycle numbers during the PM cycle? Even a +2 or something would be helpful. She tends to be higher during the day and lower at night it seems, so I'm curious what's going on there.
 
Wow! What a pretty PMPS that was! Yes, she should be fasting for 2 hours before her preshot tests so that you can be sure you're giving insulin on a "true" number.

I think I'm missing the other time you skipped a shot (sorry I'm super groggy today!). What day was that?

89 is pretty low (not BAD low, just low for a preshot) so it's unlikely, but in the future, if you get a number too low to shoot, can you try stalling for 15-20 min WITHOUT FOOD and retesting? Sometimes they'll come up more so you can give a shot. You can do that for up to an hour. I'd also post here at the same time so someone knows what is going on...we can help to advise you on what to do if they don't come up or don't come up ENOUGH. Sometimes there are other techniques to use or a reduced shot can be given so that you can still have insulin so she doesn't wind up super high like this morning (again not a bad thing...skipping last night was fine, but we know it shot her back up as I would have expected :)).

One more question. Is there any way you can grab some mid cycle numbers during the PM cycle? Even a +2 or something would be helpful. She tends to be higher during the day and lower at night it seems, so I'm curious what's going on there.
we skipped her pm shot on the 23rd..I fixed my chart..she wasn't fasting for her pmps, so I'll make sure of that from now on..
 
Also, we tested her this morning amps with no food all night, and it was 268, her pmps was 141,also 2 hour fasting...we gave her 1.25 ( I’ll update her ss when I get to my computer)

My question is for my husband, he wants to know when is it ok to not shoot her? What number is the line drawn on? We are still absorbing all the details to do this correctly and not harm her
Thanks!
 
Also, we tested her this morning amps with no food all night, and it was 268, her pmps was 141,also 2 hour fasting...we gave her 1.25 ( I’ll update her ss when I get to my computer)

My question is for my husband, he wants to know when is it ok to not shoot her? What number is the line drawn on? We are still absorbing all the details to do this correctly and not harm her
Thanks!
The rule for new people until they get enough data on the SS is no shot under 200. You've already given doses on lower PSs but don't really have enough data to know for sure what the effect was. When ever you try something different like a new dose or injecting on a lower BG it's imprtant to at least get a +2 or +3 test afterward to see where she's heading. If those tests show only a small decrease in BG or are similar to PS you'll probably have an uneventful cycle and more testing won't be needed. If there's a significant drop 50-100+ points you could feed a small snack of low carb food to try to slow the drop and you'll need to do hourly tests to monitor.

So - the line moves based on your knowledge of her responses. You need to test a bit more but for now you can try maybe 180 as your no shot number.
 
The rule for new people until they get enough data on the SS is no shot under 200. You've already given doses on lower PSs but don't really have enough data to know for sure what the effect was. When ever you try something different like a new dose or injecting on a lower BG it's imprtant to at least get a +2 or +3 test afterward to see where she's heading. If those tests show only a small decrease in BG or are similar to PS you'll probably have an uneventful cycle and more testing won't be needed. If there's a significant drop 50-100+ points you could feed a small snack of low carb food to try to slow the drop and you'll need to do hourly tests to monitor.

So - the line moves based on your knowledge of her responses. You need to test a bit more but for now you can try maybe 180 as your no shot number.
ok thank you, we tested her at +3 and she was 156..
 
ok thank you, we tested her at +3 and she was 156..
That's over 100+ points lower. My guess is she'll be OK. I think it's your choice whether you give a teaspoon or two of her regular low carb food. You should test again at +4 though whether you feed her or not.
 
Again she was lower in the evening, so no shot and this morning amps she was 264. Not sure why she is lower in pm. We tested her with no food in am and pm. And also with food in pm and still lower than am. I’m happy she seems to be getting lower readings though
 
Again she was lower in the evening, so no shot and this morning amps she was 264. Not sure why she is lower in pm. We tested her with no food in am and pm. And also with food in pm and still lower than am. I’m happy she seems to be getting lower readings though
Maybe update your SS with that info? What dose did you give this AM?

If the issue of not being able to shoot at AM or PM happens more often then a small dose reduction is in order to have BGs that are high enough to give insulin twice a day.
 
I updated Bunny’s ss, all but this morning..it was amps 284 so we decided to give her 1 unit and see if her pmps is better, we noticed she started getting really low in the pm after we increased her to 1.25 so we reduced it hoping to even it out and it didn’t change much, we decided yesterday morning to skip her shot and see how her numbers came up and as you can see they dipped at +6 without insulin...
As a reminder, Bunny has diabetes due to taking depo medrol shots, we try to stretch them out as long as possible with baths and revolution and capstar and combing and cleaning and throwing salt :)...it’s been 7 weeks since her last allergy shot if this makes any sense to anyone...
 
I updated Bunny’s ss, all but this morning..it was amps 284 so we decided to give her 1 unit and see if her pmps is better, we noticed she started getting really low in the pm after we increased her to 1.25 so we reduced it hoping to even it out and it didn’t change much, we decided yesterday morning to skip her shot and see how her numbers came up and as you can see they dipped at +6 without insulin...
As a reminder, Bunny has diabetes due to taking depo medrol shots, we try to stretch them out as long as possible with baths and revolution and capstar and combing and cleaning and throwing salt :)...it’s been 7 weeks since her last allergy shot if this makes any sense to anyone...
It's possible you're seeing some pancreas activity off and on. Some of the BGs are high enough to suggest that a very tiny dose (0.25 u? 0.5 u?) might be warranted. It's hard to know.
 
It's best to give two shots/day, but you're getting those lower PMPS numbers that I understand make it scary. I'm curious what tonight's PMPS will be.

You could consider lowering the AM dose even further to try to get a shootable PM number. Maybe try 0.75 next if you could eyeball that, and see if it gives you a higher blue or lower yellow number so you could give some insulin for the PM cycle as well.

Any idea the source of the allergy? (and please forgive me if you've already told us. I have the worst memory!!!
 
It's best to give two shots/day, but you're getting those lower PMPS numbers that I understand make it scary. I'm curious what tonight's PMPS will be.

You could consider lowering the AM dose even further to try to get a shootable PM number. Maybe try 0.75 next if you could eyeball that, and see if it gives you a higher blue or lower yellow number so you could give some insulin for the PM cycle as well.

Any idea the source of the allergy? (and please forgive me if you've already told us. I have the worst memory!!!

We decreased her dose to .5 and her pmps was still low, so we stopped insulin and kept testing...after week 8 post allergy shot her numbers are normal..it seems to indicate the shot is what causes her need for insulin...so knowing this we will again test her if and when she gets another..her allergy is fleas...we give her Revolution, cap star and I bathe her every 4-6weeks..we tried everything,food, a pill that was supposed to work on everything but flea allergy ( I forgot the name)..she does fine for a while and then starts a licking frenzy so it’s either she has a horrible life or we cave and give her the shot...she was able to go 40 weeks with no allergy shot after her seizure last year and we are now in our tenth week post allergy shot and her numbers are 60-100 mostly...
On a side note, if you are not testing you are taking a chance. My vet had us giving her 1 unit twice a day then he upped it to 2 units twice a day...it’s a wonder she didn’t die :([/QUOTE]
 
Poor thing!!! Yep sounds like the shot is the key. But you have to give it when she needs...if nothing else works it is what it is! I would give it to her too...don’t want her miserable.

You dose around it until she doesn’t need insulin anymore...then start again if she does!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top