?? Please answer today, Numbers Dropping. SLGS

Scdal

Member Since 2020
I will be giving Phoenix his evening preshot in 6 hours. His preshot this morning was 189 +1=127. +2=107. +3=92. After lunch +5=131

My question is about this evening, if his numbers are below 200, would it be okay to give his full dose? His numbers seem to rise in the evening. Today was his first green number!!!!! I am so happy!! But I was wondering what to do about this evening. If I skip shots, his numbers go all over the place.

I feel like I am on the right track and he has stopped the excessive peeing. I want him to stay in the blues and greens. It feels so good!! It is because of this forum and all the help that Phoenix has improved. Please advise about his next shot tonight. I can set the alarm to wake me every hour to check his BG. Thanks
 
That is very exciting!!! :D
My question is about this evening, if his numbers are below 200, would it be okay to give his full dose? His numbers seem to rise in the evening.

How about 150 as the cutoff?

One thing you can do is to get a +11 test, to give yourself some warning about what you might be facing at preshot. If that +11 looks worrying, post here to try to get some other eyes on it.

The nice thing about the +11 is that if you get a lower-than-usual pre-shot number, the +11 might let you know that the numbers are already rising, and thus likely safe to shoot. It just gives you a better handle on the situation than the pre-shot alone, more context for that number.

How does that sound?
 
I have been testing every hour since Phoenix is new to these low numbers. I will test at +11 as you suggested. If you think his cutoff is 150, would I then give him a reduced dose or wait for his numbers to rise. I am new to all of this. He was diagnosed in March and I am still learning. I really don't want to skip a dose because his numbers get high within hours.
 
If:

-he's over 150 at PMPS, and
-that number is rising from the +11, and
-you are prepared to monitor as late as necessary

then you can give the full dose if you feel comfortable doing that.

If he's under 150 at pre-shot, but rising from the +11, you have some options. If it's close enough that you feel comfortable doing so, you might be able to shoot that number, at least a partial dose. If it's not close enough that you want to do that, you can do a short stall (20-30mins, no food yet) to verify he's rising and/or see if he pops over the cutoff for shooting.

With Lantus not really starting to get going for a few hours, you have some flexibility in the numbers you shoot-- one way to think of it is that you are really shooting the number you think he's going to be in a couple hours.
 
One last thing: I won't be around this evening when you are shooting. I mention this because we normally like to make sure there's someone keeping an eye out when new folks are shooting lower-than-usual numbers. Hopefully there will be someone else around if you are doing that tonight, just wanted to give a heads-up in advance.
 
Thank you, his numbers have been steadily rising since +8 = 253 and +11= 276. They usually rise until his next injection.

I will give him his full dose and monitor him very carefully. I will set my alarm to wake me every hour. I love him very much and thanks again for your help.
 
You're very welcome. I don't think you'll need to test every hour tonight, unless something changes. He'll likely bounce from that green, at least tonight and possibly longer (bounces vary in length, but they can go up to three days :confused: )

Maybe get one or two tests tonight before bed, just to make sure he's not dropping again, and then get some sleep while you can. Now that he's tasted green, hopefully he'll want to go back there sometime soon!
 
Back
Top