PJ 11-8-13 AMPS 324

Status
Not open for further replies.

PaulaF

Member Since 2013
PJ was 177 last night - I decided tp start at the prescribed dose of 1u again as I knew it would go up after she ate. Kind of high this morning but still just gave her 1u - we'll see what she does tonight.

I guess I should get some U100 syringes but the conversion chart is a bit confusing to me...I think I kept a few from 2004. I'll look when I get home so I can use more of the half doses more accurately.
 
I'll find someone who is currently using the U40 syringes. It has been a long time since I did. Here is a bit from a previous thread:

One unit is first mark on 1/2 cc, on the 3/10 cc each unit is marked with a number, on the 1/2 cc only 5 unit intervals are marked with a mark and 5 U measurement, each mark w/o number is 1 U. The 3/10cc holds 12 U and the 1/2 cc holds 20U.
I just am used to the 3/10cc, all we've ever used, both have red caps and are marked on package for U-40 insulin.

Which kind of cc U40 syringe are you using?

Did you give one unit on the 177 last night? I would worry that she might have gone low last night and bounced up for this amps. Looking back .25 units on a 235 took her to 177 for pmps and we don't know how low for midcycle. One unit today could take her a lot lower. I hope you can get a midcycle number today.
 
Not sure what "type" of U40 it is - there are no 1/2 marks and it goes to 20u and yes I gave 1u last night (stupid). I'm at work so no way I can check her midday and I don't live close enough to go home and back in 1-hour on my lunch. Possible I could leave at 3:00 - my husband may be home by then but he doesn't know how to check her but at least he can tell me if she's okay. nailbite_smile

I'm terribly upset with myself :evil:
 
Don't be, Paula. This stuff is hard to figure out at first. The one unit may have been a little too much this am but she started higher so she has more room to drop. Your husband can give her a little snack (that would bring up her numbers) and be able to tell if she is in any distress.
 
Thanks Sue...I'm not sure very low numbers affect her too much as she was at 48 a couple nights ago and other than eating ravenously she acted fine...I almost passed out! Hopefully it went up a little more after she ate this a.m. and will keep it from getting to low until my husband gets home.

Also, on Saturdays I have to take care of my Mom and usually leave the house at 12:30p and don't get home until 10:30p. Do you have any suggestions on how I need to manage the shot times. Should I give her a.m. shot later to compensate for a later p.m. shot?
 
Here is the "chart" I keep near Rumpelteazer's syringes for using U-100's:


U-40 DOSE = U-100 (3/10cc) MARKING
0.2 unit = 0.5
0.4 unit = 1.0
0.6 unit = 1.5
0.8 unit = 2.0
1.0 unit = 2.5
1.2 unit = 3.0
1.4 unit = 3.5
1.6 unit = 4.0
1.8 unit = 4.5
2.0 units = 5.0

If it helps making the conversion easier for you, print it out for reference. :smile:
 
Thanks Misty - one question and I promise you I'm not as ignorant about all this as it sounds but this U40 has gotten confusing....

On the U40 syringes that I have there are only 4 short lines between each dose (5,10 etc) so the 0.2 would be the second short line on the syringe from the needle tip?
 
OMG - nevermind....it just clicked w/me. There are 4 short lines hence the 0.2, 0.4, 0.6, 0.8.

DUH! :-x
 
Do your U-40's look like the middle one in this pic?
http://www.ulticare.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/U401.png

If so, each short line equals 1 UNIT of insulin NOT 0.2, 0.4, 0.6, 0.8.

The chart I posted below is to convert U-40 doses to U-100 Syringes. I gave you the conversion info because you mentioned that you might have some U-100's left. If you are going to be giving LOW doses, I would go with U-100's and my conversion info. It is easier to measure low doses with U-100's especially if they have 1/2 markings.

ohmygod_smile I hope I didn't confuse you any more than you are.

No ignorance on your part. ;-) It is just that it looks like you might have U-40's in a size that we are all not used to. We all use U-40's that look like the top one in the pic.

Glad we are here to help you with this....since correct dosing amount is so important to our sugarkitties. :-D

Also, on Saturdays I have to take care of my Mom and usually leave the house at 12:30p and don't get home until 10:30p. Do you have any suggestions on how I need to manage the shot times. Should I give her a.m. shot later to compensate for a later p.m. shot?

What time do you usually give her AM shot? I am in eastern time zone like you are....might be able to help you with adjustment for Saturdays. :smile:
 
If so, each short line equals 1 UNIT of insulin NOT 0.2, 0.4, 0.6, 0.8.

No you didn't confuse me - so in U40 "language" 0.2 is 1unit, 0.4 is 2units, etc. Even if I don't use the U100's this will at least help when I post here so I don't confuse everyone else :roll: I just need to remember to say that it's U-40 readings.

I'll look for the U100's tonight and if I can't find them I'll stop tomorrow and buy some...yeesh ohmygod_smile

Hoping my baby PJ is doing okay today nailbite_smile
 
PaulaF said:
If so, each short line equals 1 UNIT of insulin NOT 0.2, 0.4, 0.6, 0.8.

No you didn't confuse me - so in U40 "language" 0.2 is 1unit, 0.4 is 2units, etc. Even if I don't use the U100's this will at least help when I post here so I don't confuse everyone else :roll: I just need to remember to say that it's U-40 readings.

I'll look for the U100's tonight and if I can't find them I'll stop tomorrow and buy some...yeesh ohmygod_smile

Hoping my baby PJ is doing okay today nailbite_smile

ohmygod_smile Now you have me confused. :lol:

What I am saying is....if your U-40's match the middle one in the link below....Each Short Line Equals 1 UNIT Of ProZinc.
When you indicate your doses on PJ's spreadsheet and/or in posts, use the dose in ProZinc "units" even if you use the U-100's and conversion chart.

EXAMPLE FROM RUMPELTEAZER's ss:
On 11-6-13 ... I shot 0.6 UNIT ProZinc as indicated on ss.
Because I actually use U-100 syringes now, I actually measured 1.5 Units on the U-100 syringe based on my conversion chart.

Let me know if this makes sense. :smile:

PJ is probably doing fine....you and I are the ones having confused_cat issues today. :lol:
 
misty1477 said:
Also, on Saturdays I have to take care of my Mom and usually leave the house at 12:30p and don't get home until 10:30p. Do you have any suggestions on how I need to manage the shot times. Should I give her a.m. shot later to compensate for a later p.m. shot?

What time do you usually give her AM shot? I am in eastern time zone like you are....might be able to help you with adjustment for Saturdays. :smile:

Weekday I test and shoot around 6:30am and 6:30-7:00pm.
 
PaulaF said:
misty1477 said:
Also, on Saturdays I have to take care of my Mom and usually leave the house at 12:30p and don't get home until 10:30p. Do you have any suggestions on how I need to manage the shot times. Should I give her a.m. shot later to compensate for a later p.m. shot?

What time do you usually give her AM shot? I am in eastern time zone like you are....might be able to help you with adjustment for Saturdays. :smile:

Weekday I test and shoot around 6:30am and 6:30-7:00pm.

Let's see how her numbers are tonight. Due to my goofy work schedule, I might not be able to give you advice....I will check in later. I will PM Sue to check out this thread and see what she says.
 
I am in Colorado, Paula, so how many hours from now would you shoot? I'll watch.

I am fascinated by these syringes. No one has ever found a U40 syringe that will allow for mini doses. Most people eyeball .25 and under or go with U 100s. Would you mind posting a pic?
 
I have searched all over the place for a U40 that was marked with .25 unit markings and could not find them anywhere. Are you sure that these are not full unit markings? I am concerned that you may be confusing the lines with .25units when they are in fact full 1 unit marks. Please post a photo asap so we can see what you mean? Thanks in a advance. Also, where did you find them? I want to buy some as I am eyeballing it all of the time. If such a syringe exists, I can't find them anywhere!

This is the one I use and the photo shows 4 units marked, just before the 5u mark.

http://images.petfooddirect.com/RX1-250-02_lg.jpg
 
Thanks for the picture, Paula. I am not using U40 needles so will have Joyce and Misty respond with their ideas.

How are his numbers looking?
 
Ok, thanks for posting the photo. I am glad you know those lines mean one full unit between the 0 and the 5. I know how hard it is to eyeball .25u as I am doing that too. I wish they made a U40 syringe with 1/4u markings but they don't so our best bet is to use the U100 and convert it. I don't have a prescription for those and my vet won't give me one and in CT I can't get needles without a prescription so I just have to eyeball it unfortunately. I guess as long as you know they are full unit markings, you are doing fine although I wish it was easy to eyeball then it is.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top