PJ 11-7-13 AMPS 235

Status
Not open for further replies.

PaulaF

Member Since 2013
After a AMPS of 268 yesterday (11/6) and 0.25u she was at 98 PMPS last night :RAHCAT

Hopefully @235 this a.m. w/0.25u she will be in 70-80 range tonight. cat_pet_icon
 
Those are lovely numbers, Paula. It would be really nice if you didn't have to skip the pm shot. When you skip, she has 12 hours without insulin and goes back up to that 200+ range. Ideally, we'd like to see her below the renal threshold all the time - below 200-250 - the ideal range where her pancreas can heal. To be able to shoot twice daily, you might have to lower the dose below .25. You could try to eyeball it or buy a few U100 needles and use the conversion chart.

Antijinx - it doesn't look like she will be on insulin long.
 
Yes I've thought about that...so still give her .25u even if she's in the 70-90 range? I know it will go up some after she eats...
 
No! sorry, I didn't explain well. I wouldn't shoot Under 180 or so. But, I am thinking if you lower the dose, you'll have two shootable preshot numbers rather than a 220 and then a 70.
 
Okay, actually I've been giving her .25u since yesterday a.m. and this morning. I'm using U40 syringes so when I say .25u it's half way between 0 and 5 on the syringe. Maybe I could just decrease the dose a bit more if she's over 180?

We'll see what she does tonight but if the pattern continues she'll be under 180 which means no shot again tonight.
 
That's why I am thinking you could reduce the dose. If .25 on your 200 this am gives you a pmps too low to shoot tonight, then it's too much insulin. If she is 180 or over, you could give a dose less than .25. But you are right, if she holds to her pattern, she will probably be too low to shoot tonight.

Giving less tomorrow am may level things out and give you numbers you can shoot am and pm. Does that make sense?
 
Yes, I think my brain fog is beginning to lift :lol:

If she's too low tonight then I will give a bit lower dose in the morning and see how that goes....

Thanks for the help!
 
Paula,
Do your u40 syringes half unit marks?

I'm using U40 syringes so when I say .25u it's half way between 0 and 5 on the syringe.

If not, then you are shooting 2.5u rather than .25u. Usually, u40 syringes are marked in five unit increments. With a solid line at each full unit amount. A .25u dose is really really tiny. Only a couple drops of insulin.
 
Thanks Carl - I think my choice of wording for the U40 doses is wrong, guess I'm still trying to relate to the U100 doses. If I'm correct the first short line ont he U40 is 1u, second line 2u, etc. That's what my vet told me, correct?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top