PJ 1/21/14 AMPS 234 and weekend update

Status
Not open for further replies.

PaulaF

Member
Ugh! :evil: Need some advice on dosing if anyone has ideas. I got several numbers this weekend and yesterday since I was off work.

Looking at her spreadsheet she's sort of all over the place so not sure what to shoot. Of course, I haven't been steady on dosing either - I think definitely I need to shoot .6 or .7 if over 300 but not sure about the 200's...

Also, need advice on 1/19 @ +4 time. I jerked when I put the strip to the blood drop and for some reason thought I needed to retest....did again and got 126, tested again and got 130. I'm not sure which one to go with the original 151? Not sure why there was such a difference in the readings. :roll:
 
All meters have a 20% variance, so the difference you saw is normal. We don't worry about this because we are generally looking at trends and ranges, so small differences aren't an issue.

I think her last cycle looks okay. A little high, but the other meter was reading quite a bit lower so to be expected. She did drop and was in yellows the whole time. I know you got used to blues and greens :mrgreen: you'll get back there.

I'd suggest being a little agressive when you can monitor. Maybe try .7 with 300+ and .6 above 250? See what that does. If you get some blue nadirs, then maybe hold that dose awhile and see how she settles in. If the cycle continues to be a little flat, raise a bit.
 
Thanks Sue - I will "never" complain about the blue numbers again! ;-)

I agree w/shooting .7 @300+ - I will shoot .6 @250-299, .5 @200-249 .4u and we'll see from there....
 
Paula...

Even though very frustrating for you finding out about the different meter variance, I know this will all turn out well very soon. Now we know that PJ wasn't getting enough insulin, but now she will get what she needs to 'really' get those lower numbers. Won't be long before PJ is doing an OTJ trial....RumpelT told me so. :smile:

Did you see your surprise in your post here http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=112069&p=1182067#p1182067 ?
 
ROFL!!! :lol: Those patience pants are the perfect colors! I think we may all need a pair! ;-)

Thanks Deb and Misty - I needed that! I know I'll get her down just like we did back in 2008 just in about 8 months time ;-)

Thanks so much for following up on PJ - sorry I didn't log on while I was off. You guys are TERRIFIC! :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top