Pixie AMPS 225...do I shoot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

pixiesmom

Member Since 2013
Yesterday I increased Pixie to 2U Lantus (talked with vet)
This amps is 225 and I do not want to shoot 2U in fear of him dropping too low.
He ate about 1/4 of his am meal (that is the only way I can test him)
I am assuming to wait for an hour and re-test.

Can someone please school me here on what the protocol is when you hit these lower numbers.
Are you suppose to wait...adjust the dose?

Tried to figure this out yesterday and the board wasn't available :o

Thanks!!
 
The usual approach is to stall - ie, wait about 30 minutes without feeding, re-test, and then if safe, shoot.

Take a look at any mid-cycle tests you've done and look at how low he has ever gone. If those are above 150, it can be safe to shoot. (My phone doesn't like Google Docs, or I'd look).

In the absence of that info, skipping makes sense.

Check my signature link Secondary Monitoring Tools which may give you additional clues to how he is doing.
 
Pixies low AMPS +5 yesterday was 129...other than that he has been in the mid 200's -300's.
I have been sick with the stomach flu and haven't had as many reading as maybe I should have to increase
the dose, but for the most part his numbers have been in the 250's-300's....
I will recheck at 9am.

Is there a magic number where I don't shoot?
Do I wait until he hits a certain number where it's safe to shoot?
 
BJM said:
Check my signature link Secondary Monitoring Tools which may give you additional clues to how he is doing.


He is acting fine...just hungry. But he has always been a hungry cat. You could never walk past him without getting
swatted on the leg (his way of saying "hey, I'm starving down here.")
Checked ketones yesterday and negative.
Other than his fur loss he seems like a normal healthy cat.
 
I think 225 is a great number and i would shoot the full 2IU. Our usual no shoot number for newbies is 200 to start off and as they get more data and experience we lower that number.

Will you be able to get some mid day tests in today? (esp around +6) Could be very interesting.. maybe even a green.

Wendy
 
Well I tested at 9am and he was 332 so I did shoot.
Why does 200 scare me so much? (Now green...that's really scary, haha)
I am afraid of going to work and having him crash on me (not going back to work until Sept.)

I am also having a friend shoot for me in about a week or so while I am away.
I am hoping to get him at a good place by then because she will not be able to test.

His +6 yesterday was 129. That was day 1 of his increase.
 
You can gradually shoot lower and lower with Lantus as you collect data to show it is safe. The key thing is collecting that data and to understand it. So here are some tips on understanding glucometer results.

An important note about glucometers: The FDA allows glucometers to be sold which read within 20% of what a lab test might get. This means that any test represents a range of possible values.

For any 2 tests, they may be considered equal if they overlap, ie. 1.2 * low value is greater than 0.8 times the high value.

In general, a pet-specific glucometer will read higher than a human glucometer. At the low end of values, that difference is approximately 30 points. At the high end of the scale, it doesn't matter. If the test is high, its high and you take the appropriate action based on the insulin you are using.

If there is another medical condition affecting the glucose levels, you treat that condition and adjust the insulin.

Here are some glucose reference ranges used for decision making using a human glucometer:

< 40 mg/dL
- Treat as if HYPO
- At nadir (lowest point between shots) in a long term diabetic (more than a year), may earn a reduction.

< 50 mg/dL
- If before nadir, steer with food, ie, give modest amounts of medium carb food to keep from going below 50.
- At nadir, often indicates dose reduction is earned.

50 - 130 mg/dL
- On insulin - great control when following a tight regulation protocol.
- Off insulin - normal numbers.
(May even go as low as the upper 30s; if not on insulin, this can be safe.

> 150 mg/dL
- At nadir, indicates a dose increase may be needed when following a tight regulation protocol.

180 - 280 mg/dL
- Any time - The renal threshold (depending on data source and cat's renal function) where glucose spills into the urine.
- Test for ketones, glucose is too high.

>= 280 mg/dL, if for most of the cycle between shots
- Uncontrolled diabetes and thus at risk for diabetic ketoacidosis and hepatic lipidosis
- Follow your insulin protocol for dose adjustments
- Test for ketones; if more than a trace level of ketones, go to vet ASAP.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top