Pita's Dosing Party: 9

Status
Not open for further replies.
Lol and you know what, had I given 2.0, he still would've done something wonky! 168 PMPS... similar to last night...stick with the same 2.4?
You could try it and get a +2 test. It's also possible the lime green today will have left him a bit more insulin sensitive so 2.2 u might be better.
 
111 AMPS. I'm hesitant to even try .1 but not sure I should really NS either. Help?! This back and forth is hard for me.
 
111 AMPS. I'm hesitant to even try .1 but not sure I should really NS either. Help?! This back and forth is hard for me.
Have you ever tried the technique of pushing the syringe plunger in firmly, inserting it into the vial and then releasing the plunger to allow the partial vacuum suck up a tiny dose? I don't know what fraction you'd call it but it's tiny. You have to push the plunger firmly again during the injection and keep it pushed in until you've pulled the needle out to ensure that tiny bit stays in the cat.
 
Have you ever tried the technique of pushing the syringe plunger in firmly, inserting it into the vial and then releasing the plunger to allow the partial vacuum suck up a tiny dose? I don't know what fraction you'd call it but it's tiny. You have to push the plunger firmly again during the injection and keep it pushed in until you've pulled the needle out to ensure that tiny bit stays in the cat.
Never have but I can try!
 
I just did and it was the silliest little amount ever! But I kind of liked it so peace of mind. I'm calling it .03 because it was literally a drop.
 
You can also try stalling on those lower numbers and on the re-test see if he's rising. Then you might be able to give a regular-ish dose. (in the future - I know I'm a couple of hours late for this one :)).
 
157 PMPS. Not sure where he went today as I was gone most of it and I still haven't shot. Here's my latest snafoo that's driving me a bit crazy. He never used to have a problem eating at the allotted times I'd set for meals. Now, however, he'll nag me to test him, then won't eat his food. It's happening more and more lately. Example: just now, Matt and I tested him, put the food down, Brat ate, then Pita just went and dug around it (they both do the 'burying' food thing). Now he's sitting on the bed, happy as a clam, not eating! Before we tested, he's sitting and literally yelling at us like he hasn't eaten all day. He's done it a few mornings as well. If I'm working (got a part-time job!), I may not be able to adjust my hours to fit when he eats and I shoot. But the 5:30/6:30 are still the best times for me. Ugh, my head is a bit all over the place so apologies if this makes no sense at all. I'm wondering if it's because he's not being as active as he was in MA, but there's nothing I can do to change that (no catio available). I'll try to log the times I test PS versus the time he actually goes to eat and see if I can find a pattern and do my best to adjust from there. As of right now, it's been 30 minutes since his PMPS and I haven't shot/he hasn't eaten...
 
I'll also decrease the amount I feed them, maybe try to get them a bit more hungry for each feeding...
 
Still has not eaten, just sleeping on bed. Definitely going to try less food tomorrow. Will also get a new PMPS soon.
 
Just tried testing again- had Matt try because I'll be gone for about 12 hours tomorrow and he'll need to do PMPS. Couldn't get blood and Pita got agitated, then I tried and couldn't get any either...I'll try again in about an hour but then 7:30 would be too early for AMPS and on working at 8. :banghead::blackeye::bookworm:
 
Oh Caitlin, I'm so sorry Pita isn't cooperating with meal times! How does he seem? Any chance he's a bit under the weather or nauseated? I've heard cats can do that when their stomach is upset - ask for food and then not eat it. If you leave the food out for him, does he come eat eventually? Or is he really off his food completely right now? And since you couldn't get blood tonight it makes me think he might be a bit dehydrated? Do you have any larger lancets? If so, you could try testing with one of those to help get blood.

And on a happier note, congrats on the job!!! That's great!
 
Oh Caitlin, I'm so sorry Pita isn't cooperating with meal times! How does he seem? Any chance he's a bit under the weather or nauseated? I've heard cats can do that when their stomach is upset - ask for food and then not eat it. If you leave the food out for him, does he come eat eventually? Or is he really off his food completely right now? And since you couldn't get blood tonight it makes me think he might be a bit dehydrated? Do you have any larger lancets? If so, you could try testing with one of those to help get blood.

And on a happier note, congrats on the job!!! That's great!
Thanks on the congrats! I was gone from 8:30-1:00 today but Matt just said that he ate and drank throughout the day. And the only lancets I have are the alternate site ones. I think his ears might be a bit beaten and don't want to fully cooperate. Since it's so much later than his usual shot time- over 2 hours now- should I just NS or see if I can get blood/shoot late? Ugh..
 
I think it depends on your and Matt's schedules tomorrow. If you have flexibility to walk the shot times back over the next few days, then you can shoot anytime really. If you need to stay on schedule, then I'd say skip. The bonus of skipping is it would give his ears a bit of a rest. The downside is that he goes a cycle without insulin, but his numbers are in ranges where that isn't the end of the world.
 
I think it depends on your and Matt's schedules tomorrow. If you have flexibility to walk the shot times back over the next few days, then you can shoot anytime really. If you need to stay on schedule, then I'd say skip. The bonus of skipping is it would give his ears a bit of a rest. The downside is that he goes a cycle without insulin, but his numbers are in ranges where that isn't the end of the world.
Yeah I'm going to just skip tonight and try fresh in the morning. I'll be out for at least 12 hours tomorrow, starting at 7:30am. Will also decrease the amount of food I give. I'd rather give less, have them eat it all and give more, rather than give a whole can and it doesn't get eaten. Thanks Djamila!
 
108 AMPS...shocked and surprised! @Djamila or @Kris & Teasel are you guys around? Not sure again if I should stick with the .03 drop like yesterday or maybe give .1 total. Leaving in an hour and a half and told Matt to just test PMPS, so no midday.
 
I’m here if they aren’t! Give me a sec to check your SS.
Sorry Rachel! Forgot that you might also be there :)
here's what I was just about to say....I might try giving .1 units. I'm not quite sure what to make of only giving the .03 yesterday am and having a NS on a 157 PMPS, that resulted in a 108 AMPS today...so I'll give in between!
 
It’s tough since we don’t know what happened yesterday...but I like 0.1. Since he ate you know he has that on board to help!
 
Wow! What is your kitty up to these days?!?! I love that AMPS! I think any dose would have been a guess this morning, so 0.1 is as good a guess as any. If Matt is feeling brave and Pita is cooperating, I'd be curious what he does mid-day, but totally understand if that just isn't in the cards for today.
 
First off- Matt had two successful tests yesterday!!! :joyful: So exciting. Now, 131 PMPS, so I had Matt shoot a 0.4 simply because I was curious about the NS the previous night on a higher number. AMPS however was just at 206, so I'm guessing it wasn't enough and I'm going to dose 2.4 and see how low he can get again. Am I messing him up by dosing all over the place?
 
First off- Matt had two successful tests yesterday!!! :joyful: So exciting. Now, 131 PMPS, so I had Matt shoot a 0.4 simply because I was curious about the NS the previous night on a higher number. AMPS however was just at 206, so I'm guessing it wasn't enough and I'm going to dose 2.4 and see how low he can get again. Am I messing him up by dosing all over the place?
I'm not sure because I don't have any experience using PS-responsive dosing. Teasel (on ProZinc) would have bounced off somewhere beyond Pluto if I'd done that. Might be worth trying a consistent dose for a cycle or two - a fat 2.0?
 
First off- Matt had two successful tests yesterday!!! :joyful: So exciting. Now, 131 PMPS, so I had Matt shoot a 0.4 simply because I was curious about the NS the previous night on a higher number. AMPS however was just at 206, so I'm guessing it wasn't enough and I'm going to dose 2.4 and see how low he can get again. Am I messing him up by dosing all over the place?

Congrats to Matt!!! Woohoo!!! (and of course to Pita for settling down for him!)

Pita hasn't had a history of being particularly reactive, however I am a little concerned about the size of the dose changes. Going from a micro-dose to 2.4 is a pretty big jump. I would recommend keeping a close eye on him for a few days. If he's going to start bouncing or overreacting, it could happen right away, or a few cycles from now. Hopefully he'll just do his Pita thing and hold steady, but please be watchful and make sure he has access to food if you are leaving him.

Let's see how this cycle goes, and then talk about PM dosing. I don't want to keep moving his dose, but I'm thinking 2.4 might be a bit much to sustain over the next few cycles. I think (if it's possible) it would be best if we can find a dose that you can hold for several cycles to give him some time to adjust.
 
I feel a bit ashamed for not seeing this am that such a big change in dose is very dramatic. Just tested at +4.25 and he's at 55, so I gave 1 Tbsp of FF Gravy. Will test again in an hour, and so on. I'm leaving at 5 today so Matt will be doing PMPS again. I will post tonight once he tells me the number and try to get some help! I will also be working all day tomorrow so I will have Matt test a few times during the day; I will be able to do AM/PMPS. Thanks everyone.
 
oh heavens no! Please don't feel ashamed about that!!! You always have such good mama instincts, and this may be just fine. I just worry. :bighug:

In case I'm not around tonight, I'm leaning towards Kris' suggestion of 2.0u (or a fat 2) as a settling down dose, give him a couple of days and see where things are at. I'm thinking that because he got a lime green on 2.2, and wasn't doing all that bad on the micro-doses, he may be okay with a little less insulin. We know from Pita's history that he naturally runs in the 40's sometimes, so 2.2 might not really be too much for him, but I'm aiming a little lower in the hopes that you'll be able to hold the dose for a couple of days despite possible PS fluctuations.

Of course all of that depends on Pita cooperating and giving Matt a normal-ish and shootable PMPS. :)
 
Aw Caitlin, don't worry about it! I probably wouldn't have done such a big dose change either, but how could you know? And good news, now you have data on what that does! Remember, all data is good data. Sure, he went low, but now you know for sure that it was too much! That's good news, since you won't wonder about it.

I agree with the fat 2 and seeing what happens. A few days at a consistent dose might help him settle down some.

And congrats to Matt for the testing! Having someone else who can test makes SUCH A difference!
 
Matt's doing great! And hooray for having someone to help out! Hopefully that 2u will be good for a day or two now. :)
 
Oh Pita :rolleyes:. Why couldn't you have at least given us a 140 or something? Well, let's see how the cycle goes. Matt knows how to steer just in case?
 
Oh Pita :rolleyes:. Why couldn't you have at least given us a 140 or something? Well, let's see how the cycle goes. Matt knows how to steer just in case?
I know right?! Yes, I went over what to do but he'll also tell me his numbers so I can help. I had a moment of to give or not to give the 2.0, but just trusted that it will all work together today!
 
Maybe have him add some extra extra water to the food this morning so he's well hydrated - it might make it easier for Matt to get a successful test.

My hunch is that he'll be okay, but he may skim pretty close to the margin. Of course, that's just a guess and I could be totally wrong! :confused::p
 
Holy **** it's been an insane day! I've been running around with the kids all morning and then Pita was also having an interesting morning with Matt. 32 @ +4 - fed 1 Tbsp FF Gravy, 53 @ +5 and was just 61 @ +6. Gave Matt an earful of info again and had him re-read hypo symptoms I had printed out. No symptoms and he's now sleeping on the bed. Matt will test again at 2:30. :banghead: soooo I'll be home for PMPS, and will post, but any thoughts beforehand would also be helpful. I think at the rate this day is going, wine may be in order for tonight!
 
Well, so much for my hunch. 32 is low even by Pita standards. Thank goodness for Matt being a good kitty-sitter!!! Make sure he gets a glass of that wine!

Are you nanny-ing?

So what do you think about the next dose? Do you want to drop down to 0.5u or 1u give him a couple of cycles, and then try slow increases? Or go the other way and just do reductions from the 2u - so try 1.5u or somewhere around there?

He may need a sliding scale for awhile (although I'm not fan of those, there are times when they are needed), but I think we need to figure out a mid-dose to start from and right now all we know is that 0.4 wasn't quite enough (12/20 PM), but 2u is too much.
 
Well, so much for my hunch. 32 is low even by Pita standards. Thank goodness for Matt being a good kitty-sitter!!! Make sure he gets a glass of that wine!

Are you nanny-ing?

So what do you think about the next dose? Do you want to drop down to 0.5u or 1u give him a couple of cycles, and then try slow increases? Or go the other way and just do reductions from the 2u - so try 1.5u or somewhere around there?

He may need a sliding scale for awhile (although I'm not fan of those, there are times when they are needed), but I think we need to figure out a mid-dose to start from and right now all we know is that 0.4 wasn't quite enough (12/20 PM), but 2u is too much.
I am nannying part time! Well, I did more hours this week before I'm off next week, but yeah. I'm very happy. Yes, thank GOD for Matt! I think maybe sticking with 1u and see how low he goes on that for 2-3 days then adjusting from that. Do you think 2 or 3 days..? Or am I being too ocd?!
 
I think we'll just have to see what he gets on the 1u and then figure out how long to hold it. At this point even that could go either way.
 
I think we'll just have to see what he gets on the 1u and then figure out how long to hold it. At this point even that could go either way.
Let your imagination run wild on how I reacted to that 32....it was not fun. Sounds good, thanks! I'll post his +8 number soon
 
Lol...hang in there! :bighug: Remember that he naturally runs lower than most cats, so he can handle an occasional low number (with a little help from Matt of course!). Though let's try to make sure he doesn't need to!
 
106 @ +8.5 (3:00). Matt said Pita is not a fan of him right now, which is fine because he's good to relax til I do PMPS. Sigh of relief
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top