Pita's Dosing Party: 8

Status
Not open for further replies.

Caitlin M

Member Since 2017
Hey all,

so I'm slightly freaking out. Pita has come out of remission again which is totally fine-he's always been a bit wonky. I started back at .1, to .2 and now .4 units. He has been drinking a bit more, and his numbers have been in the 200's for a bit. That's really not too high, but definitely higher than he has consistently been for a while. Anywho, I've been playing around a bit with food as well. He still lets Brat eat first, which is normal behavior, however, about 4-5 hours after each feeding, he seems to be hungry again. So I'll give him some of the YA Zero. Depending on the day, they also get 1/4 can of Friskies Pate, at about +9. I say depending on the day, because today, for instance, he slept on the bed/no intention of waking up, so he didn't get the +9 snack.

Yesterday he had diarrhea later in the day. Then he just had diarrhea again about 30 minutes ago. His poops have been very smelly also, even when harder (oh the things we say). So, that's concerning, but I just went to test him at +4, he sat down next to me, ready, but then wouldn't touch his YA and sat in the corner away from me. He was making 'yummy' noises with his mouth and I had a feeling he was going to vomit. Lo and behold, a few minutes later he did- a lot. Pretty liquidy but had a few food chunks as well. Matt helped me test him, as he went and sat in the corner again. He's at 229, so no hypo thank god. I'm just worried and confused because this hasn't really happened before. Just trying to see if anyone has had a similar experience/give any input/look at his SS also. Thanks!
 
Last edited:
I'm also 99% positive that the bottle of ProZinc is totally fine, but can someone let me know if they agree? Also, he woke me up at 1:30 for food, put down the 1/4 can and he ate right away. Also, just tested him normally with no issues and he's eating his wet food now before the .4 is given. Maybe it was really just an upset tummy?!




IMG_20171112_050542.jpg IMG_20171112_050547.jpg
 
Hi Caitlin,

The ProZinc looks OK to me and the expiry date is down the line. I'm sorry Pita is out of remission but you know what to do. Glad to read he's eating again but I'd try to get some regular urine ketone tests in. Are you trying different foods? Could that have upset his tummy?

I see that he's running high (for him) on your SS and that you've held doses for 6 cycles. You have the option of increasing after three with ProZinc. You might want to do that.

Any ideas about what knocked him out of remission - dental? UTI?
 
Oh Caitlin! What is up with our kitties?!?!? I agree with everything Kris said: test for ketones, baby steps on food changes so his tummy doesn't get upset, increase the doses to try to hold the numbers down a bit, and if you can a vet visit. Pita has gone up and down a bit in his journey, but this is more pronounced and makes me wonder if he has something going on. Dental issues are probably the most common cause, but UTI's, pancreatitis, and any other type of infection/inflammation can cause numbers to rise like that.

And yes, the prozinc looks fine to me too.

I hope he settles down for you soon!
 
I'd try to get some regular urine ketone tests in. Are you trying different foods?
I've taken the top of the litter box off and have the ladle and strips ready. Matt and I will try to collect urine today to test for ketones. I've actually never done it, so everyone keep your fingers crossed! I might look into a ketone meter collecting doesn't work, but I have no idea how long it would be until it arrives. No change in food type/flavor, just the amount.
I see that he's running high (for him) on your SS and that you've held doses for 6 cycles. You have the option of increasing after three with ProZinc. You might want to do that.
Oooh, here I was, all proud of myself for knowing to hold for 6 cycles....I'll go up to .6 tonight. So I can change his dose after a day and a half with ProZinc, rather than three full days. Got it!
 
I ditto what everyone else has said..poor thing I hope he's feeling better!
Thanks Rachel!
this is more pronounced and makes me wonder if he has something going on. Dental issues are probably the most common cause, but UTI's, pancreatitis, and any other type of infection/inflammation can cause numbers to rise like that.
I've been wondering that myself, but nothing else has really been different. After I can get a couple ketone tests I'll look into the vet visit for sure. :(
 
Ok, as I said, I have all the ketone supplies ready for action. I'm trying not to freak myself out, but I'd love some advice on what to do from there. I'll post the color **when** I get it, but want to be prepared on what steps to take, based on the color.
 
First, make sure that you read the test strip at the right time. After the time has passed, it continues to change color (at least mine do).

Negative or trace is fine. Anything more than trace and you head to the vet.

If you haven't caught him yet, you might try wrinkling up some saran wrap/plastic wrap in the corners of the litter box to catch some pee in case he sneaks past you. That way the pee gets caught in the wrinkles and you can test it (as long as you get there before it's been covered with litter). It doesn't take much to get the test.
 
No urine yet. Been snuggled all day so far. Question though- it says 15 second test. Do I hold it in the sample for 15 seconds or just wet it and count 15 seconds for results?
 
I believe you just get it wet and then wait 15 seconds. Just make sure it's EXACTLY that time frame, as the strip can darken further after that. :)
 
Sometimes if I pick Sam up and put him in the litter box he’ll go for me. Other times he just looks annoyed and hops out. You’ve been waiting enough hours for him to go that he might play along for you.
 
Meant to post right after...he FINALLY peed after dinner and it was negative!!! I actually looked at it again a couple minutes after and it was still the same color for negative-yay! Also, no diarrhea and eating/behaving normally. Obviously we'll keep an eye on him and I plan to test at least once a week for ketones just to get more used to it. It went very smoothly today though so I'm happy for that.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20171112_190522.jpg
    IMG_20171112_190522.jpg
    37.9 KB · Views: 147
Yeah for negative! And also that the test went well! Now if he would just settle down with those numbers. Hopefully having his tummy settled down will help.
 
We moved up to .8 units this morning and I have to laugh at myself a little because it's really not that much overall. So I'm trying to just relax! However, I'm wondering about the tooth thing. Right now I'm out of work and unfortunately very low on savings as well. When my vet gave me an estimate in MA it was right around $1,000 for the one tooth she said would eventually need to go. Does that seem correct to anyone? I obviously don't want to put it off because of money but right now that isn't really an option. ::Insert horrible mom thoughts:: No odd behaviors since that day so I'm guessing it was just a weird tummy thing. Yeah.
 
That seems pretty steep to me. Usually when folks talk about prices around here, the prices I see in Seattle are always higher, but Sam had two extractions and it was around 680ish. Still expensives, but not 1000. That included x-rays, extractions, cleaning, meds, IV fluids,....the works. It did not include the pre-anesthesia blood work though since he had just had a full blood panel a couple weeks before. So I guess if that was being included then it would be closer to 1000.

I hear ya on the dose increases seeming big. I've been chasing Sam's numbers up the scale for the past month and am still a little freaked out by how much insulin is in that syringe. We're at 3u now and it looks like he's flattening so I'll likely need to increase again soon. Ugh. What happened to our teeny-tiny doses?!?!?

Also know you're not alone on the cost thing. I'm pretty sure Sam needs another dental, but he just had those extractions in August and I'm choking a little thinking about another $500+ to get him another cleaning only three months later. And that's assuming there aren't more extractions. These sugar kitties are expensive! Anyway, it might be worth calling around near you and seeing how much it costs in your area.

And hopefully you'll be able to find work soon so you can feel like you're on more solid ground again!
 
Might want to call around and see what prices others can give, Caitlin. Have you got Care Credit?
 
Unfortunately no. The only way to know is to get it pulled, give it a couple of weeks, and see if the numbers correct.

It's possible that there is some other issue causing it, but if you know there is a tooth issue, that is probably the most likely culprit.

Towards the end of July, Sam suddenly went from 0.2u to 1.0u. I took him in and the vet said he had two teeth that needed to be pulled. Right after that his insulin need dropped back down again. He never quite got as low as he was before that, but he went back to 0.5u and healthy numbers again (at least until recently).
 
East coasters!! I hope someone reads this soon who can help. NS last night due to Matt's attempt to test and Pita NOT having it/not letting me try after/literally sulking in a corner for a couple hours after :banghead: . I tested once I got home and he was at 263. Well surprise surprise, AMPS was just 194. I know that's not much lower than yesterdays AMPS, but I'm not sure what to dose him now! If- and it's a huge if- if he's been bouncing a bit (even though midday tests haven't gone very low to my knowledge) I'm not sure if I stick with the .8 units or drop it a bit more. Help soon please! Gracias :rolleyes:
 
I'm on the west coast (4:30am shot time around here), but I would stick with the 0.8u. The 194 is nice to see, but I dont' think it's low enough to cause any concern about the full dose, especially looking at the mid-cycle data from the past few days.
 
PS I love that Matt's trying to learn! Hopefully Pita will give him a break soon and start cooperating!
 
I'm on the west coast (4:30am shot time around here), but I would stick with the 0.8u. The 194 is nice to see, but I dont' think it's low enough to cause any concern about the full dose, especially looking at the mid-cycle data from the past few days.
What?! Wow, I clearly forgot you were on this side also, so that makes me happy! Okay, thanks for the input Djamila. I was thinking that as well and I'd test at +3
PS I love that Matt's trying to learn! Hopefully Pita will give him a break soon and start cooperating!
Oh gosh, I felt so horrible and I was so stunned at how Pita behaved after! It was legit teenager attitude. Kind of hysterical. Matt's gonna try to do some midday tests so send some happy/lucky vibes his way!
 
Maybe Matt should do some of the desensitization things that we tell folks to do when their cat is new to testing: Put Pita in the testing place, rub his ears for as long as he'll tolerate, give him a treat, and let him go. If he does that a few times, then maybe when it's time to stab him :eek:, he'll cooperate a little better. :p
 
Maybe Matt should do some of the desensitization things that we tell folks to do when their cat is new to testing: Put Pita in the testing place, rub his ears for as long as he'll tolerate, give him a treat, and let him go. If he does that a few times, then maybe when it's time to stab him :eek:, he'll cooperate a little better. :p
I feel silly saying that I had just showed him how I do it and he's just tried that. This may be a much better place to start! Good thinking :smuggrin:
 
351 PMPS. That just seems so strange to me given his numbers today. I may try a reduced dose and just see where he goes. I can always increase again. May try .6 again. Thoughts?
 
It's always okay to go with whatever you think is best, but I would go with the increase instead of the reduction.
 
It's always okay to go with whatever you think is best, but I would go with the increase instead of the reduction.
Err, I know I was just telling Matt that my gut tells me to reduce but looking back a while ago, there were pinks, then blue in the next PS and I held the dose, and it eventually went down. Ughhh. Frick. I'll try the whole unit. Seriously Pita.....:oops:
 
Ah! got it! My gut is that this isn't necessarily going to follow the previous patterns. Earlier in his diagnosis you were just trying to hold him in healing numbers long enough for the pancreas to recover function. This time though I think it's more likely that you are battling some sort of inflammation/infection, so you might have to do what I've been doing with Sam and chase his numbers up the dosing scale to just try to hold them down until he can heal from whatever is bothering him, or until he can see a vet. If that's the case, it will need a little bit different approach to dosing. But as always around here -- only time will tell.
 
Ah! got it! My gut is that this isn't necessarily going to follow the previous patterns. Earlier in his diagnosis you were just trying to hold him in healing numbers long enough for the pancreas to recover function. This time though I think it's more likely that you are battling some sort of inflammation/infection, so you might have to do what I've been doing with Sam and chase his numbers up the dosing scale to just try to hold them down until he can heal from whatever is bothering him, or until he can see a vet. If that's the case, it will need a little bit different approach to dosing. But as always around here -- only time will tell.
Thanks Djamila!
 
Are you able to grab a mid cycle? If so, I would keep the one unit. If not, I would still probably shoot one unit, but make sure to leave out food.

ETA: and yes, HOORAY for a lower PS!
 
Happy Thanksgiving, Caitlin! Just peeked at Pita's spreadsheet. It looks like you're doing a great job of staying on top of it with the increases, and holding the numbers down the best you can right now. I hope you and BF and Pita and Brat all have a great Thanksgiving!
 
Happy Thanksgiving, Caitlin! Just peeked at Pita's spreadsheet. It looks like you're doing a great job of staying on top of it with the increases, and holding the numbers down the best you can right now. I hope you and BF and Pita and Brat all have a great Thanksgiving!
Thanks Djamila! I hope you had a great Thanksgiving also :) I called 3 vets to ask the diabetes questions because I realized I should just find one I like regardless and then do the dental. I may be moving too slowly for the process but I'm trying! I had to NS last night and AMPS is at 227. I believe I should stick with the 2.2 units but wasn't sure if I should maybe reduce since he stayed right around the numbers he's been lately? Just want input!
 
That's great that he was able to keep himself in the same range. I was pretty happy with our AMPS here too since we did a NS last night as well. I would stick with Pita's regular dose this morning given the nadir range you're seeing these days. You're doing a great job of staying on top of his numbers.
 
That's great that he was able to keep himself in the same range. I was pretty happy with our AMPS here too since we did a NS last night as well. I would stick with Pita's regular dose this morning given the nadir range you're seeing these days. You're doing a great job of staying on top of his numbers.
I appreciate it, thank you so much!
 
Yeah I think I’d stick with 2.2. It didn’t drop him too much yesterday so it seems unlikely to drop him too much. :)
 
Hey all,
bear with me in case of a rant, as I'm a bit upset today. I'm searching for jobs but am not sure how long until I have one. Ok, no biggie. I need to call back some vets because I haven't heard back regarding my Diabetes questions. I'm assuming Pita needs to finally have his dental done, so I'd like to find 'the' vet for us before I even ask for estimates. I have CareCredit but only a $500 limit and I know it will be nearly double that amount. I just don't know what to do because his numbers haven't been going down (haven't really been going up either so knock on wood) but he's already at 2.4 units and we'll be increasing to 2.6 today. I've been holding for 3 cycles (1.5 days) so I'm petrified that by the time he gets the dental work done he'll be up to double-digit units. I used to be in a much better place financially, of course when he had no issues, and now that things need to be done, I'm not financially able to do it. Not really sure what anyone can say, I'm just extremely upset and disappointed in myself so I needed to let it out. Thanks.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top