Pita's Dosing Party: 5

Status
Not open for further replies.
Happy Friday everyone! 142 PMPS. I'm home all night and am doing his curve tomorrow. My question is, should I give .2 this evening and get a test before bed/maybe run the risk of a bounce? Or give .2 tomorrow morning and at least see where he goes throughout the day? I think I should maybe go back to .2 again....?? Yeah, any advice would be lovely!
Why not just stick with 0.1 because it's less likely to result in a NS at the other end?
 
Haha, and here I was just ready to climb back up in units. I can definitely do that. What are your thoughts on giving .2 again Kris?
Your SS shows that 0.2 u has resulted in a NS at the next dose time fairly often. I suggested 0.1 u to try to get his numbers to a place where you can give that tiny dose both AM and PM. My feeling is that more consistency in PSs and dose given is the way to go. Having said that, I'm no expert on easing a kitty into remission with micro doses.
 
Your SS shows that 0.2 u has resulted in a NS at the next dose time fairly often. I suggested 0.1 u to try to get his numbers to a place where you can give that tiny dose both AM and PM. My feeling is that more consistency in PSs and dose given is the way to go. Having said that, I'm no expert on easing a kitty into remission with micro doses.
That all makes sense actually. So maybe by continuing micro doses, he may slide into remission? I'd prefer to keep him steady and consistent rather than bouncing, so let's see what tomorrow brings!
 
That all makes sense actually. So maybe by continuing micro doses, he may slide into remission? I'd prefer to keep him steady and consistent rather than bouncing, so let's see what tomorrow brings!
Remission does seem to be a possibility looming over the horizon for Pita. He's the only one who can do it, though. ;)
 
Heyyy Caitlin, does your little ice pack in the WO pet feeder last til it opens for Pita? I bought one since I'll be working soon but the ice pack is sooo tiny :rolleyes: and extra one's are almost as much as getting another feeder! Haha! :facepalm:
 
I totally agree with Kris about holding the dose tonight and then doing the curve. But....I'm wondering if a small increase might add some duration and help to bring the pre-shots back down again. This is a little tricky, and takes some monitoring (I know....work...), but I noticed in June with Sam that a little increase in dose didn't seem to bring his nadir down much lower, but it did make him stay low a bit longer. Too much of an increase totally backfired though and pushed him higher, so there's a bit of finesse involved (okay, it was total guessing).
 
Heyyy Caitlin, does your little ice pack in the WO pet feeder last til it opens for Pita? I bought one since I'll be working soon but the ice pack is sooo tiny :rolleyes: and extra one's are almost as much as getting another feeder! Haha! :facepalm:
Heyy! Yes actually, it does! I know, it doesn't look like much, but if I freeze it when I'm home from work, by the time I put it in the feeder in the am, it's still very cold to the touch when I'm home again. Hope that helps!
 
I totally agree with Kris about holding the dose tonight and then doing the curve. But....I'm wondering if a small increase might add some duration and help to bring the pre-shots back down again. This is a little tricky, and takes some monitoring (I know....work...), but I noticed in June with Sam that a little increase in dose didn't seem to bring his nadir down much lower, but it did make him stay low a bit longer. Too much of an increase totally backfired though and pushed him higher, so there's a bit of finesse involved (okay, it was total guessing).
Hahahahaha oh I love that this made me laugh at such an early hour. That's pretty cool that you figured that dosing/staying low out with Sam! After today I'll make the call of going back to .2 maybe for tomorrow. It won't be a curve per say, but I can also get multiple tests during the day to (hopefully) feel a bit better for Monday's dose.
 
AMPS was 214. +2 was 204. +4 was 101.

So he's still getting big drops on a tiny bit of insulin. If you decide to try 0.2, it could go either way: it might lengthen the cycle, but it also might drop him into a hypo, so please be careful if you decide to try it since there is definite risk involved. Especially since Pita tends to nadir whenever he feels like it, it could be tricky to monitor.
 
Heyy! Yes actually, it does! I know, it doesn't look like much, but if I freeze it when I'm home from work, by the time I put it in the feeder in the am, it's still very cold to the touch when I'm home again. Hope that helps!
Good to know! Yes it doesn't look like much! lol. Another quick question, I missed the hour I really wanted so had to keep going counter clockwise but I think it's now set for 2 days :confused:. Do you know if you rotate it past the max time of 48 hours if it resets to the preferred lower time? Basically, is there a way to reset the timer? lol :p It did open for the +1 test I over set it for but it's still ticking :rolleyes:
 
Good to know! Yes it doesn't look like much! lol. Another quick question, I missed the hour I really wanted so had to keep going counter clockwise but I think it's now set for 2 days :confused:. Do you know if you rotate it past the max time of 48 hours if it resets to the preferred lower time? Basically, is there a way to reset the timer? lol :p It did open for the +1 test I over set it for but it's still ticking :rolleyes:
It doesn't reset itself. It'll keep going around and around, so you need to manually find the time you want. You can rotate it around as many times as you need! I've gone past the hour I needed, and you just keep going. It doesn't hurt it so long as you rotate the correct way!
 
It doesn't reset itself. It'll keep going around and around, so you need to manually find the time you want.
Ok that's what I thought. I'll have to let the 48 hours or however many days I might have set it for, countdown :p. They should've made the timer like the kitchen one's; you can force them to get to 0 ;). Maybe I'll reconsider making one with that kind of timer :bookworm::woot:
 
Ok that's what I thought. I'll have to let the 48 hours or however many days I might have set it for, countdown :p. They should've made the timer like the kitchen one's; you can force them to get to 0 ;). Maybe I'll reconsider making one with that kind of timer :bookworm::woot:
I'm confused now! You don't need to let it run down on it's own, you can constantly keep resetting it! I could set it for 2 hours from now, have it open and then reset it for another 2 hours. If it's the same one I have you can keep rotating it all day if you wanted.
 
I'm confused now! You don't need to let it run down on it's own, you can constantly keep resetting it! I could set it for 2 hours from now, have it open and then reset it for another 2 hours. If it's the same one I have you can keep rotating it all day if you wanted.
Ohhh true but I figure that might drain the battery more so I'll let it get back to 0 and stop counting down :)
 
It's okay. I have a wopet as well, but mine doesn't have a dial - it's got a little panel with buttons.

And sorry, I meant "feeder" not "meter" Typo :)
 
Yes. It works great for four feeds, but the other two are useless because the cats can get into them. They just have a sliding door, and it slides right open!. Technically there is a little catch on it, but it took Sam all of about 3 seconds to unlatch it. Then one compartment is open, and the one next to it is open about 1/4 of the way which is plenty for a kitty paw. They think it's a game and end up eating more than they need just for the fun of getting all the food out. :rolleyes:
 
Thanks Yong! I never even thought of the running down the battery thing. I also made sure I have a ton of extra batteries and listen to the ticking. This is the one I have.
Something I wondered today: I usually put the feeder with their bowls for when it opens. However- since I've been home the past two weeks, I opened it myself at the +9 and made sure Pita had some. I'm very curious as to whether he's been getting it this week I was at work. Sometimes if he's under the catio he won't hear it open and Brat will eat all of it (I really don't want him gaining more weight) and Pita won't eat any. I'm wondering if/how much that's happened this past week and if that is maybe affecting him as well. Anywho, I plan to put it out today and tomorrow to make sure he eats.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20170715_105348.jpg
    IMG_20170715_105348.jpg
    32.3 KB · Views: 137
288 PMPS. Like a dummy I didn't set the feeder to the +9 mark. Either way, I know it might seem stubborn, but he's not acting 'high' like he used to with this number, so I'm just going to NS and see what happens. This is not me pushing for remission, just an experiment/gut feeling. It could fail, but that's okay!
 
Hey all! It's been an exhausting week so TGIF! Pita has been doing well although I know I've been a bit all over the place with dosing. It's made me nervous to even give the .1 with a mid-100 PS before work, because I know how quickly and low he's dropped in the past. I'll be home more of the weekend though so I'll get some extra tests again. I know I had been given advice, but does anyone have a recommendation for a new no-shoot number? I think that's why I've also been iffy about dosing, but again, I've NS on some "higher" 100's and still had good PS numbers after. Oh Pita!
 
Hi Caitlin! Apparently my feeder is still counting down! :p I KNOW I did not set it for more than 4 days :rolleyes:. I know, off topic.

From looking at your SS, I'm thinking 100 is a good NS number but you'll probably have to go with your gut too :cat:
 
Hi Caitlin! Apparently my feeder is still counting down! :p I KNOW I did not set it for more than 4 days :rolleyes:. I know, off topic.

From looking at your SS, I'm thinking 100 is a good NS number but you'll probably have to go with your gut too :cat:
Hahaha Yong, I have no clue what your feeder is doing :p Do you mean a flat reading of 100? Gah, that's SO low for me!
 
Cautious advice: base your dosing on your mid-cycle numbers and keep doing what you've been doing

Aggressive advice: at some point with Sam, I noticed that raising the dose a little didn't actually make his nadir any lower, but it did start to bring his pre-shots down. It was like he had a natural floor and would just stop somewhere in the 60's (most of the time). So IF you are home, and IF you can monitor, you could try giving a 0.2u and see what happens. The danger here is that he could actually go lime green. So there is some risk involved in this little experiment to see if it works with Pita, or if he just goes diving. Feel free to ignore this suggestion. And please definitely ignore this is you aren't home or can't monitor. But you already know that part. You're good at keeping him safe. :) I just felt obliged to write it again for anyone in the future reading this thread.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top