Pita's Dosing Party: 4

Status
Not open for further replies.
I believe the idea is that when their pancreas is mostly working and they're getting close to OTJ, then the pancreas pumps out natural insulin after they eat. So if you feed them a little before shot time, then the natural process brings the BG down a bit and gives you a better PS. It only works close to the end though since before that the pancreas isn't making much on its own.

It seems to be working in the afternoons when he tends to run lower anyway, but I set an alarm and fed him at 1:45 this morning and ended up with a totally normal AMPS and probably should have given him a shot. I was being stubborn though because I had woken up in the middle of the night and was a little sleep deprived. ;)
 
Yep, one of the signs of OTJ we've always seen is that they go down after eating...so the little snack at +9 is probably a very good thing once they're close! :)
 
Slightly higher PMPS at 117. He was also in the catio, so who knows what he was doing! Going to stick with the .1 units again.
 
I read once that sitting in the sun can raise their BG. So maybe you can blame it on that?
He has also become more adventurous outside lately because he climbed up on something pretty high that he never has before. It was earlier in the day but I had to get him down. So who knows!
 
Shame on me. I forgot to leave a midday snack. PMPS was 158. I no shot, just to see where he lands for the am. Will dose tomorrow if necessary. :: Bonking my forehead::
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top