Pita's Dosing Party: 15

Caitlin M

Member Since 2017
Hello all! Lots of stuff to update on, but it'll have to wait until tomorrow when I can sit down and really get into it. Hope everyone is doing well human and kitty wise :cat:
 
Haha, now I feel like we're all going to be waiting with bated breath to see your update, Caitlin! Hope things are well!
 
Hmmm....I read your notes on your spreadsheet. I'm curious about this too! I've thought about trying it with Sam. Have to admit, I'm a little surprised Pita's numbers are that low on the third cycle. Still higher than you'd really want to see, but lower than I would have imagined. Do you have an AlphaTrak? I'd also be curious what the "real" numbers are without insulin?

Can't wait for your update!!!
 
Alrighty. First and foremost-I plan to email the vet tomorrow or Thursday (crazy busy with work unfortunately) to follow up on a couple things, so some of this is still a bit perplexing to me. I do, however LOVE this vet that we brought him to. She spent nearly 45 minutes speaking with Matt and I, and when we left, Matt said "I feel like she challenged you in a good way." I agree. First, she has treated diabetic cats before and has had many go into remission. The recipe she believes helps with remission: Lantus and Purina DM wet food. Now, I believe she prefers Lantus just as most doctors prefer one drug over the other- it's just what she's used to. I told her I would think about it and look into possibly switching in the future, but I was hesitant because I also thought Lantus requires a pretty strict schedule. Right now with Matt unemployed, we're able to have a tight schedule, but that may all change once he works (meaning maybe 11/13 again). Unknown for now. She wasn't terribly worried about keeping a super strict 12/12 schedule with Lantus and said she's had clients who obviously for one reason or another aren't 100% able to do that schedule every single day. Well, yes but that just sounds like life. Either way- I just don't quite see the need to switch since Pita's always responded to ProZinc, but I'm always willing to keep options open and learn about a different way.
She was impressed and totally on board with me home testing, although she doesn't know how to interpret a human meter accordingly. I believe I read a thing one time somewhere on here about the variance between pet and human meters (or as much as possible), does anyone know where I could find that to maybe show her? She was a bit concerned when I mentioned that he's gotten as low as 50/60, but again, she isn't used to a human meter. As I write this, I feel a bit dumb, because I mentioned that a regulated cat stays between 50-120 and I think she was still a bit confused/uneasy. Oh well? She mentioned the AlphaTrak (Djamila I do not have one, but am thinking of maybe buying one to test with maybe once a week?!) and I told her that cost wasn't possible for me and since I knew how to read the human meter, I'd be sticking with it. She didn't mind, but it was a bit difficult speaking about numbers. She is 100% with me about never doing a curve at the vet and again, was impressed by how much I test and also that he's good with it.
Now, here's where this 'experiment' comes in. Looking at his numbers, she believes that he may be close or technically in remission because his numbers are usually relatively low. She knew that even though some of his numbers were higher, it could be so many things, so she wasn't too concerned. He does need 4-5 teeth removed and some are being resorbed. :( We're trying to figure out a way to pay for this ASAP because she said that was also a possible reason for higher numbers. At any rate, she suggested I go 3-5 days without insulin to see where he naturally goes. She said as long as he stays around 180 or below (again though, which meter?) she believes he could come off insulin. So, per her suggestion, we have gone about two days, with AMPS, +#, PMPS. If at the end he starts rising and not going back down, she suggested we start easy again at 1 unit. I did mention that I was taught that between 60-120 without insulin was considered remission, but she didn't seem too concerned with slightly higher numbers, yet below 180. Ugh, I'm not feeling so great about this as I type it all out but it really did go so well with her and I felt supported in my decisions.
As far as food goes-I can't spend almost $50 on a case of 24 cans of DM. Even though they share one can a day, I can't do it. At least not right now. To see the carbs that he is eating, I grabbed Dr. Lisa's chart and now am very confused! He eats Friskies pate in Poultry Platter and Turkey & Giblets. According to the chart, there are 4 and 5 carbs respectively in those flavors. However, when I do the math myself from using a carb calculator, I get nearly 11.36% carbs in the Poultry Platter alone! Then I get 15.91% carbs in the Purina DM, compared to 6 on that chart. I'm so confused! I just wanted to compare what I'm feeding him to what she recommended.

Overall, I do believe I've found a great vet, I just want to share with her some stuff to help us get on the same page as far as numbers go, as well and food. :banghead: This is how I feel now though. And now, dear friends, I leave this all out there for you :smuggrin:
 
Oh Caitlin! :bighug:

First of all, you're doing just fine, and I'm really curious how the next few days play out. There have been a few times that I've thought about stopping insulin for a couple of days and seeing what happened. you're monitoring, and if he jumps over 200 you can start insulin again and end the experiment, so I'm not worried about Pita at all with this. He's in good hands.

While the protocol for Lantus on this forum is very strict about the 12/12 schedule, there are other forums that use a more flexible approach, even with Lantus and Levemir, so it is possible, even though here we don't recommend it. Lantus is a great insulin and works really well for the majority of cats. Levemir is gaining in popularity as folks are seeing good results from it. You might recall I left for a little while and tried Sam on both Lantus and Levemir. For him it was a complete disaster and he ended up sicker than when we started, but that is extremely rare. Most cats make the transition easily and do very well.

I do disagree with your vet about the normal range - I wouldn't want my cat running in the blues on a regular basis (human meter), but that might be because Sam shows signs of neuropathy even when he's just in the mid-blues. He's been struggling with it more and more the longer he's been in these numbers and it hurts my heart.

As for the food, don't trust the calculators. They are better than nothing, but the numbers on the chart are from the companies themselves and are more accurate. Most companies will share their nutrition info if you email and ask them, so if you want to confirm you can always shoot off an email. They do change recipes without telling anyone, so if you find out there is old data on the chart, we would all benefit from knowing that! Although I completely agree with you about the cost. DM isn't magical in any way. The food you are already feeding is fine and it fits in your budget, so I wouldn't worry about it at this point.
 
Wow Caitlin! It does sound like you've found an awesome vet, and I'm so excited for you with that!

As for Lantus v. Prozinc...that's kind of up to you. I think both are very good insulins for diabetic cats. Lantus is more popular here, and it's worked wonder for some cats. For Pita, I think it would be fine, but don't think it would be magic. It worked great in some crazy cats we had over here like Bubba, who was nadiring at preshot time and cats with high dose conditions (though they usually try Lev). But since Pita isn't really like that, I think it wouldn't be a miracle...but I DO think it would work perfectly fine. And I could be wrong! Not trying to dissuade you from trying it at all, just letting you know why we may not have ever suggested it...though again, I think we would all agree that it would be fine to start.

The food...meh. I don't think I'd worry about trying the DM. We all know that's not magic food. No such thing! Do what you're doing now there. :)

I'm definitely interested to see how he does without insulin! As Djamila said, it doesn't worry me at all. It's not like you can't restart insulin if needed!
 
Caitlin, i was just peeking at your SS and I'm really curious about yesterday AM when he went from 204 at +6 down to 125 at PMPS. Did he eat anything between those two times? Or is he usually done eating by +6?
 
Caitlin, i was just peeking at your SS and I'm really curious about yesterday AM when he went from 204 at +6 down to 125 at PMPS. Did he eat anything between those two times? Or is he usually done eating by +6?
I wasn't home between the times but Matt said he doesn't believe he did. We're trying to get them to lose a bit of weight so we actually stopped the midday snack and knock on wood, they've both been doing fine (not yelling). I still give Pita his midnight snack though. So the answer is pretty much no, he didn't eat anything between +6 & PMPS :rolleyes:
 
Well, it has been an interesting past few days. Matt just left LA early this morning for a job in MA, so he will be gone until mid-October. My schedule varies week to week, so it may not be perfect, but I'm going to do my best sticking to consistent times. It's definitely not going to happen every day, but I think (hope!) that Pita will be just fine. I am also going to increase to 1.1 units this evening. Not sure where last night's PMPS came from but had a very nice AMPS today, so it was just a wonky night! Looking at his numbers on the 1 unit though, he has been having higher PMPS. Any ideas or suggestions are welcome to remedying that, otherwise I'll stick to the 1.1 and go from there. :cat:
 
Until mid-October!!! That's tough, Caitlin, I'm sorry.

Pita WILL be just fine. You've got some flexibility with ProZinc and besides, you KNOW Pita so you know how to work around your schedule. Let us know if you need any help, but I know you'll be just fine.

I think the increase is good. Let's see if that increase can get those nighttime cycles down a bit and see what that brings us!
 
Until mid-October!!! That's tough, Caitlin, I'm sorry.

Pita WILL be just fine. You've got some flexibility with ProZinc and besides, you KNOW Pita so you know how to work around your schedule. Let us know if you need any help, but I know you'll be just fine.

I think the increase is good. Let's see if that increase can get those nighttime cycles down a bit and see what that brings us!
Thanks Rachel! So very true on all accounts.

Of course we have some nice midday numbers which are causing me to question the slight increase...??
 
I'd say see what the PMPS brings, but if it's decent, you might hold off one more cycle on the increase.

I'm so sorry to hear that Matt is leaving for a few weeks! :(:bighug: That's so hard. Hopefully it will be a good job for him and something will open up closer to home soon!
 
129 PMPS, stuck with the 1 unit. Maybe stick with it all day tomorrow as well to see what happens and go from there?!
 
Well dang! Right after I agree it's a good idea, he decides to throw that lower number! Yes, I'd stick with it for today and let's see what happens tonight before deciding on an increase.
 
Well dang! Right after I agree it's a good idea, he decides to throw that lower number! Yes, I'd stick with it for today and let's see what happens tonight before deciding on an increase.
He just hears me and then makes whatever I say invalid :rolleyes:
 
Well I just got woken up to by a howl of a meow from Pita. 53 @ +4.75, so I gave 1 tsp of FF Gravy. I know it wasn't too low, but I have to be up in two hours for work so I'd prefer to sleep them :oops:. See where he is for AMPS.
 
144 @ +4. I'll see what PMPS is, but maybe I will go to 1.1 tomorrow am (so I can get some sleep tonight without testing)!
 
143 PMPS last night, gave 1u. 130 AMPS this morning, also gave 1u. So long as he's hitting healthy greens during the day, and staying within the same PS range, I should be fine sticking with the same unit for a while right? I'm so used to having to slowly increase that I'm kind of iffy about holding for too long! Also- HAPPY FRIDAY! Even though I work tomorrow...:rolleyes:
 
I just need to rant for a second because I am SO aggravated! I had to call the vet Pita was with when first diagnosed in MA because I somehow didn't have any of that paperwork for our new vet here. I just received it in the mail today and of course, all of the conversations we had during that time were summarized (by them). At the very top of the first page it says "Warning: No insulin refill without proper monitoring!". It then had all the stuff she spewed at me about how she had the correct way to monitor and told me how diabetes was a 'very expensive disease to treat requiring frequent monitoring and that there are no shortcuts'.
I am just so mad and also for some reason feel embarrassed because I even felt like the girl I spoke to about mailing this to me, was rude. I feel like everyone at that office thinks that I know better than the vet and was this ***** of an owner and I hate it. I work my ass off (as we all do) to properly care for him on a daily basis and even though I found an incredible vet, 15 minutes away from her in MA, somehow this first vet completely right and I was completely wrong. Even though the new vet I found here, also supports me, now I'm worried that since she doesn't understand how to use a human meter, somehow or another we'll also end up at odds gainst each other. Pita was originally 521 when they tested him with their AT meter and he hasn't been even remotely that high since I began. I KNOW I'm doing the right thing and shame on her and that office for making me feel inferior, but it does affect me.
That's it for now. Just needed to try to release some of this before I go to work. Fun timing to open and relive all of that :blackeye:
 
I was also hoping to find all the info regarding differences in human/pet meters- how the variance was figured out, who did the research, etc- to send to my vet! Any help in giving her info would be fantastic. Thanks all!
 
Ack! Caitlin! I'd be furious too...why can't vets just accept that we do research and take care of some things ourselves? Doctors wouldn't expect you to not do some research on how to properly manage your own disease...why do vets sometimes think they are the be all end all???
 
Ugh. Oh Caitlin, that sucks. What a lousy thing to do. That's definitely on your vet, and not about you at all.

As for the conversion, the problem is that there isn't one. Folks around here have informally done lots of side-by-side tests with human/pet meters and the same drop of blood. The results are inconsistent. However, it gives enough information for us to make good decisions, even if the numbers don't precisely convert.

Here is the article that the protocols here are based on:
www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/attachments/management-of-diabetic-cats-pdf.11641/


In their research, they used a human meter, and the ranges are set based on a human meter, so that might be helpful for your vet to see, even if it doesn't directly give a conversion
 
  • Like
Reactions: Esi
Thank you all very much. Just a down on myself few moments. Ugh! Sometimes people really suck. I think that research might definitely help if they used a human meter- thanks!
 
201 PMPS, 180 AMPS. Going to try for one, maybe two midday tests and if tonight is still higher, bump to 1.1u.......you hear that Pita?!!
 
Taking a peek at those mid-days, it looks like you're right that a smidge more might be good. Pita just wanted to match Sam's dose again ;)
 
Had a nice +5 but couldn't get another one before work again today. Will stick with the 1.1 and should be able to get some more midday tests tomorrow and Thursday!
 
What in the WHAT?!!! 291 PMPS...I had more than enough blood for another strip and that one was above 500! I refuse to believe that, so I'll stay horrified with the 291. Pita was yelling at me nearly an hour before his (now) usual time, so I figured, yeah sure, let's do it a bit earlier tonight. Jeez! Of course tomorrow night I won't be home until half an hour after his new time, so I guess he won't be able to yell at me then! I'm definitely flabbergasted but going to try to chill out. I will now definitely get a sh*t ton of midday tests tomorrow....:woot:
 
Yikes! What's up with those numbers? That's quite a bit out of the norm. We all have days when we're off and not feeling our best. Hopefully it was just a passing moment!
 
I just tested at +8.5 and he was at 71! I vaguely remember him meowing loudly at about 3am maybe? I didn't fully wake up and now I feel SO bad if he went too low and I didn't catch it! ::Sigh::
 
He may have just been surfing along in those safe greens all night though. Might not have been a low. :D How are you doing flying solo these days? Is Matt enjoying his new job?
 
He may have just been surfing along in those safe greens all night though. Might not have been a low. :D How are you doing flying solo these days? Is Matt enjoying his new job?
That's all true! So far so good. His times are a bit later in the day and night now- 10:30, but it's working well for now. Matt is happy to be working for the time being, that's for sure!
 
Not too pleased with numbers lately but I'm going to stick with the 1.1 for this morning again, as I won't be home enough to monitor. I'll bump it up to 1.2 either this evening or tomorrow am!
 
Ugh! Well, numbers are even worse now than they had been! He is near the bottom of this vial and the new one arrives tomorrow. I've honestly never experienced a vial not working- this one is still a bit milky, not expired, etc, so I'd be a bit surprised if that's the reason. It just makes me a bit sad and confused, which I know is what almost everyone feels here! Ah well, that's it for now!
 
Pita has long had the pattern of running up and down the dosing scale in waves. It looks like he's just heading up for a bit. He'll be okay, and you know how to take care of him. It's frustrating if he's really heading back up, but you can manage it.

I've wondered from time to time if there is an underlying health issue that causes this. For Sam, it's pancreatitis. It comes and goes, and he slides up and down. His symptoms aren't terrible compared to how sick some kitties get with it, but it's enough. It could be Pita has something like that at a low level. Too low to really notice significant symptoms, but enough to impact his BG. Or he could have one of the high dose conditions. Sometimes cats on lower doses have them, even though we call them "high dose". Or it could just be his teeth, since you know that's an issue already. Or it could just be that this is the way Pita is: rolling up and down with no discernible reason.

Hang in there, and know you're not alone with this. As you said, sad and confused kind of goes with the territory around here. Focus on all of the good things with him, and don't worry too much about the numbers. As long as he's feeling okay otherwise, that's what matters. :bighug:
 
Okay! So Djamila I just read your response to someone else about testing for pancreatitis- I wish it had occurred to me when we went! Whenever the next visit is I'll ask them to test just in case. Also, we were very high last night so I bumped it up to 1.3 and I'll see what we get later this morning. I also plan to open the new vial today. Hopefully 1.3 from a new vial doesnt do anything wacky!
 
There are two tests: the snap-fpl and the spec-fpl. The snap is cheaper, but less accurate. The spec is more accurate as far as positive test results, but still not great. If you get a positive result, it's positive. But if you get a negative result, it still doesn't completely rule it out. They just don't have a super accurate test for pancreatitis yet.

If you haven't seen Pita have days when he goes off his food or barely eats though, then I would lean towards IAA or Acro. @Kris & Teasel or @StephG can weigh in on this better than I can, but one of them involves a little tumor that can pulse on and off and cause those undulations in BG and dosing. There are a bunch of other symptoms that go along with it too -- it's just not an area I've read much about, so I'm not going to be particularly helpful on this one. You can read more about them in the forum for those though.

And again, it's totally possible that it isn't anything other than Pita just being Pita. Every cat has their own quirks. Although our cats do have the weirdest connection. I went up to 1.3u this morning too. It's bizarre. Hopefully your new vial won't make any wackiness for you!
 
Teasel has had the expensive pancreatitis test done twice since mid May. It was negative both times even though he was ill with symptoms that looked a lot like pancreatitis. It could also have been an IBD flare - there’s a lot of symptom overlap.

Most acro kitties I follow are on much higher doses even though it’s possible to be on a low dose. IAA can cause crazy dose fluctuations as the antibodies “die off” then resurge. I’m not sure Pita’s data shows that. In the interest of keeping it simple and going with the most obvious I vote for ongoing dental issues and likely worsening gingivitis or similar.
 
Keep it simple is a good approach. I do tend to go towards the most dire options first :confused:. And yes, IBD and pancreatitis do look similar. You're right: starting with the known issues first is probably the best route at this point. Then if that doesn't resolve it, moving onto other things.

Especially considering there is no cure for either IBD or pancreatitis, managing symptoms (probiotic, increase insulin, nausea and pain meds, etc.) is really all that's needed. The tests don't matter that much in the end.
 
Boys have both been really good lately! It hasn't been nearly as hot as it was and I also have a portable AC that is AMAZING. So we're all happy with that. I've realized that they've both become grazers with eating, compared to a year or so ago when they both had to eat right away. It may be because they're older or because of the climate but I've paid attention and they both eat sporadically throughout the day (it's always gone before the 2 hour PS mark) so I don't think there's anything wrong. They've both actually been very playful again lately- waking me up at 4:30 am fighting- snuggling with me, laying on backs with tummies up, etc. Pita actually jumped on my lap yesterday! He used to always snuggle on our couch with me/us but we don't actually have a couch, just two comfy chairs. But yeah, he laid on my lap which was a nice surprise. I think within the next couple months (fingers crossed) we can get his teeth removed and hopefully dealt with.
I have a class tonight so I'll be leaving soon, which totally figures. 188 AMPS, 190 @ +2, 205 @ +4 and now 138 @ +6. So, of course, I won't be able to see where he goes now! But maybe tomorrow I'll try to test at +7 and +9 to see if I can catch a lower number. Anywho, that's about all. Hope everyone is doing well!
 
Well, now I'm in a bit of a nerve-wracking situation again! Yesterday AMPS was 135, shot 1.5, PMPS was 244, shot 1.5- I'm thinking he may have gone very low during the day and I didn't get to test, so he went high? AMPS just now was 118. I think I still need to give 1.5 because that's what's getting him low again right now, but of course I'm a bit nervous. So I'll get a bunch of midday tests in and see where he goes- hopefully nice and steady/not too low :cool: Really Pita?! Although I can't be too surprised since this is his new trend.
 
Hmmm....it just looks like fairly normal variation to me. I don't see anything that would make me think he went low during the day. I do wonder what's going on at night though. Why is he so low in the morning, but then so high in the evening? I actually wonder if he isn't going lower at night, and then those daytime cycles are sort of his version of high and flat. Or, you know...Pita :cat:;):confused:
 
Hmmm....it just looks like fairly normal variation to me. I don't see anything that would make me think he went low during the day. I do wonder what's going on at night though. Why is he so low in the morning, but then so high in the evening? I actually wonder if he isn't going lower at night, and then those daytime cycles are sort of his version of high and flat. Or, you know...Pita :cat:;):confused:
You could be completely correct! And yeah I thought it was strange as well that he's having higher PMPS but lower AMPS. Maybe I'll get up later tonight/this morning and test to see if that's maybe where he's going low.
 
Well, we hit 83 today and ended at 260. It's not going to be fun but I'm going to definitely wake up later and test because something funky has to be going on! (Right?!!!) :rolleyes:
 
Back
Top