Pita's Dosing Party: 13

Status
Not open for further replies.

Caitlin M

Member Since 2017
I don't know where they're coming from or why, but we are having some wonky numbers! I may be crazy but I'm feeling like he may need a reduction. Or maybe it's because the last NS I had, he had a much lower PS next time. Thoughts?
 
Caitlin, I'm so sorry no one was around yesterday!!! Looks like his insulin needs might be shifting back up again. Especially seeing his reaction to the reduction today. It was certainly worth a try though! He does seem to cycle up and down on the dose from time to time, so maybe he's just heading up again for a bit.
 
Caitlin, I'm so sorry no one was around yesterday!!! Looks like his insulin needs might be shifting back up again. Especially seeing his reaction to the reduction today. It was certainly worth a try though! He does seem to cycle up and down on the dose from time to time, so maybe he's just heading up again for a bit.
No apologies needed! I agree. We went to 1.8 units tonight and I'll plan to stick to that tomorrow as well.
 
Caitlin, what happened to your spreadsheet??? Do you need some help getting it fixed? If you tag Marje I think she can fix it for you.

I'm sorry Pita's on the rise again. Does he have any symptoms of pancreatitis? It's so curious the way he seems to cycle up and down sometimes. Sam does that when he's having a p-titis attack, so it made me wonder.
 
Caitlin, what happened to your spreadsheet??? Do you need some help getting it fixed? If you tag Marje I think she can fix it for you.

I'm sorry Pita's on the rise again. Does he have any symptoms of pancreatitis? It's so curious the way he seems to cycle up and down sometimes. Sam does that when he's having a p-titis attack, so it made me wonder.
I believe Matt just fixed it, so we should be all set with the Spreadsheet! Thanks. I looked up p-titis symptoms and aside from testing for it, he doesn't have any noticeable symptoms. He always sleeps/lounges a lot during the day, hasn't vomited in forever/I don't even remember the last time aside from car sickness and he always eats. I suppose it's not out of the question but I don't see anything from it. :bookworm: I wonder if there's something else as well besides the teeth but literally nothing has changed in his behavior or mannerisms.
 
It's probably not worth testing for if he isn't showing any symptoms. Sam's first attack he didn't have the vomiting and was still eating, but it was so so obvious that something was wrong with him. Since Pita seems fine to you, it's probably not that. He has been doing this up and down for most of his FD journey, so it might just be the way he is. Maybe he just likes the attention. ;):)
 
Hello all! Life has been busy and filled with ups and downs lately. Everyone is doing well overall though! Just need some advice regarding dose for the Pita bear. He's been having blue PS numbers again and we hit a green yesterday! I think I should increase again tonight or tomorrow to see if we can get PS numbers to the lower 100's but obviously want some feedback. Thanks all!
 
Hmmm...I'm torn on this one Caitlin! That 54 is about as low as you'd ever want to get...and I know he's been sitting in blues since then but I'm wondering if that isn't some light bouncing. You know, not going high, but staying in flat blues due to that unexpected green. I think, if he was mine, I'd wait it out for another cycle or two before deciding on an increase. See if he trends down a bit first and then you can decide if it was a light bounce or if that green was likely an aberration. Just my thoughts, though!
 
Hmmm...I'm torn on this one Caitlin! That 54 is about as low as you'd ever want to get...and I know he's been sitting in blues since then but I'm wondering if that isn't some light bouncing. You know, not going high, but staying in flat blues due to that unexpected green. I think, if he was mine, I'd wait it out for another cycle or two before deciding on an increase. See if he trends down a bit first and then you can decide if it was a light bounce or if that green was likely an aberration. Just my thoughts, though!
That all makes perfect sense and unless there's a hugely contradicting opinion I like that idea. Thanks Rachel! :)
 
Not sure what to do. Couldn't get a test from him this am. I tried the first time and he moved over to the corner so I waited 20 minutes and he did the same thing. Fed them and he ate normally! He also decided he wanted to play so for about five minutes we played with a shoelace. Got a +3.5 and he was in the 200's, but I obviously have no idea where he was previously. I will absolutely get the PMPS tonight but I'm not sure if I should raise his dose. I'll try testing him at 7:30pm Pacific Time- will anyone be available then in case I need help?
 
I'm sorry, Caitlin, I won't be! I'm heading out for a few days tomorrow morning and I'll be fast asleep (I hope) at that point. Djamila might be...

Sounds like Pita was being a bit of a brat this morning! Not a bad thing...could be he's feeling well so he's being bratty. :) I'm going to take a guess that he was at some sort of yellow this morning. You've got lots of data on Pita, so you can assume to an extent.

It's hard to know what's going on with Pita these days. You could raise tonight if he's in yellows and then just monitor and be ready to steer if needed. Not saying it WILL be, but I'm just not sure since he sometimes throws those greens!
 
Ugh. I'm sorry, Caitlin. Both that Pita was living up to his name, and that no one was here for your shot time! Did you NS this morning because you couldn't get a test? Or was there something else going on? I agree with Rachel that you and Pita has been doing this dance long enough, and he's stable enough, that on the very very rare occasion when that happens, I think you can assume - especially if you'll be around to keep an eye on him.

I'm glad to hear he wanted some play time today, despite being difficult for the AMPS.

3.2u was his breakthrough dose last time, so hopefully he'll start to turn it around for you soon!
 
Decided that splitting in half hasn't seemed to work quite well in the past, so I gave 2/3 of last night's dose- 2 units. I'll be home by 10:30 and will monitor before heading back to work later this evening.
 
Well, I feel so jumbled with his numbers! After the 70 AMPS yesterday, we had a 265 PMPS. Again, I didn't want to jump back up to the full 3.2 units so I dosed 2.6 and had a 170 @ +4. This AMPS was 258 so I decided to go back to the 3.2 and will monitor throughout the day. :confused:
 
Caitlin, you're doing such an amazing job! The way you handled that 70 couldn't have been better. That cycle turned out perfectly. And the increase to 3.2u looks like it was just the right thing for today. You may be feeling jumbled, but your instincts are fantastic!

I am really curious about that 70 AMPS. That seems so strange. I wonder if there's any chance it was a bad test strip - although I guess if that were true, the reduced dose would have sent him into higher numbers instead of keeping him so steady.

Anyway, just popping in to give you some encouragement. You're doing the best that can be done with the numbers he's showing you!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Exciting day! So I upped to 3.4 units this morning and we just got a 41 @ +6.25. Fed him some gravy food and will retest soon. Because the lime green, I know we should reduce but I'm not sure if we should just stick with 3.2 units or go 3.3 and see what that gives. Advice please!
 
Normally I'd say go with the smaller reduction since Pita's been at this for so long, but 41 is pretty low, and the 55 wasn't that much of a jump after getting carbs, and your 3.2u numbers actually looked pretty good. I think I'd be tempted to go with the 3.2u and see what happens.
 
Normally I'd say go with the smaller reduction since Pita's been at this for so long, but 41 is pretty low, and the 55 wasn't that much of a jump after getting carbs, and your 3.2u numbers actually looked pretty good. I think I'd be tempted to go with the 3.2u and see what happens.
Thanks Djamila! It occurred to me after the 41, that there probably wasn't any reason to increase. He'd had primarily blue PS and was getting green midday numbers on the 3.2!
 
Is anyone awake? 82 PMPS. Thinking I should probably do what I did the other day and maybe give 2.1 units for tonight?
 
Awake, but wasn't logged in an hour ago when you posted. Looks like you made a good call. Of course try to grab a test tonight to make sure he stays okay with it.

DISCLAIMER: to anyone who is reading this: normally shooting Prozinc on a green number is not recommended. Caitlin has lots of data to show that Pita can handle it, and in fact does quite well getting insulin on lower numbers.
 
Awake, but wasn't logged in an hour ago when you posted. Looks like you made a good call. Of course try to grab a test tonight to make sure he stays okay with it.

DISCLAIMER: to anyone who is reading this: normally shooting Prozinc on a green number is not recommended. Caitlin has lots of data to show that Pita can handle it, and in fact does quite well getting insulin on lower numbers.
Thanks again Djamila!
 
Sorry I wasn't here when you wanted input though! How is Pita doing overall these days?
No apology necessary! He's doing very well. The usual, eat, sleep, demand to go outside! Very lovey as usual also. I'm getting a humidifier this weekend because they both have some dry skin and it's also good for the plants. Good reminder because we live in a much drier climate!
 
You can have some of our humidity up here! It's been suffocating this week. I don't know how folks in the South survive the summer with both heat and humidity. Adding some fish oil to their food will help with the dry skin. Plus they think it's yummy. Glad he's feeling well!
 
You can have some of our humidity up here! It's been suffocating this week. I don't know how folks in the South survive the summer with both heat and humidity. Adding some fish oil to their food will help with the dry skin. Plus they think it's yummy. Glad he's feeling well!
I'll definitely try the fish oil, thanks! I've also lived in the south with both h and h- that's even worse!

Last night:
65 @ +2
74 @ +5
I'm hoping he didn't reach any like green in between those tests. We'll see what this am brings!
 
155 AMPS, gave 3.2 again and will test during the day. I think so long as he's consistently giving blue PS's I'll just hold at 3.2 units for as long as possible.
 
90 AMPS, giving the 2.1 just like the last two green PS's and I'll test a bunch!

Regarding fish oil- I take salmon oil- anyone know if that's okay also? Also, how much do I put into their food? Do I use the pills or find a liquid?

Happy Saturday!
 
Looks like he's on his way back down. :D

They sell salmon oil for cats at the pet store near me. Maybe look up one for cats and compare the ingredients with the one you take?

I just pop the capsule and squeeze the oil onto Atticus' food (he gets dandruff). He seems to think it tastes yummy as he starts purring when I get out the bottle.
 
Hello everyone! All is going well here in CA. Picking up the humidifier tomorrow and will be getting a fish oil for their food as well. I will conquer the dry skin! Anywho, we've been holding at 2.8 units for a bit now and I think he may be bouncing ever so slightly with PS's but we're getting some wonderful midday numbers. I may reduce a bit to 2.7 tomorrow and see how that goes for a few days to maybe even out the PS numbers. Let me know any thoughts!
 
Well alrighty. I had my alarm set for +5.5 but got woken up for +5. Pita was at 44 so I fedb1 Tbsp FF Gravy and will be testing again at +5.5 and +6. Holy crap! So obviously a reduction is totally needed- what amount seems smart to you?! Thanks in advance.
 
54 @ +5.33 (20 minutes later). Number in comments section of SS as well as +5 notes. I know that number is due to the food, retesting at +5.66/40 minutes after initial +5.
 
Ugh. Sorry to hear about the late night shenanigans! Here, you might need this today: :coffee::coffee::coffee:

Glad he woke you up though so you could see those numbers. We know Pita doesn't really mind the 40's since he had a few of those all on his own during his insulin honeymoon, but yes, it looks like a little reduction might be good.

You could try 2.6u, but I think I'd be more inclined to just shave off a little and see how 2.7u goes for him. As always, I'd say go with your gut on it, how much you think he needs to reduce.
 
Well at least he woke you for a good reason! I remember Djamila used to say how she'd tell Sam "now wake me up if you go low!"...apparently Pita remembers that too!

I'm with Djamila. I'd go just a little reduction in hopes that it keeps the lime greens away but gives you still some lovely blues and dark greens.
 
Nice numbers lately! Just started using the humidifier yesterday and I also brushed each of them for a good five minutes. In going to make sure I do that once a week, along with the humidifier. And just need to Google dosing of salmon oil for them and I'll add to food.

Just got a 40 @ +5.75 and he's eating some gravy food. Will retest again soon. Looks like another reduction tonight! 2.6 sound reasonable?
 
Whoa, Pita! Stay out of those limes, okay? I might even go a little skinny on the 2.6. 40 is getting rather low.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top