Pita's Dosing Party:12

Status
Not open for further replies.
Caitlin - when he wouldn't eat this morning, was he just not hungry at shot time and he ate later, or has he been slow to eat all day?
 
Caitlin - when he wouldn't eat this morning, was he just not hungry at shot time and he ate later, or has he been slow to eat all day?
He evidently wasn't hungry at shot time. I tested him at +6 and he ate his snacks then ate the wet food right afterwards. He slept and snuggled on the bed before the +6.
 
He evidently wasn't hungry at shot time. I tested him at +6 and he ate his snacks then ate the wet food right afterwards. He slept and snuggled on the bed before the +6.
He actually just sat by the food and meowed. It really is his snack time, so I put it down and he's eating. How dare I almost forget!
 
How dare I almost forget!
They do have an uncanny ability to tell time!

Okay, I was just wondering if the high numbers might be something like pancreatitis, but if he ate well later he probably just wasn't hungry.

Was it Matt who was taking care of t/f/s this morning? Was anyone around between AMPS and +6? Sometimes a kitty doesn't want to eat when their numbers get higher. If he'll eat a couple of treats, and if someone is around, it's usually okay to go ahead and give the injection and then just keep an eye on things. I use treats as my "test" because if a kitty is really sick they won't even eat treats. If Sam will eat treats then he gets his shot.

If he still won't eat regular food by +2, then you can start monitoring and feeding whatever will entice him. But at least with Sam, so far I've always been able to get him to eat by +2. You wouldn't want to risk that if no one is there to monitor and bribe him if needed though.

As for the dose, I can't decide what to make of that pink this morning. Sometimes Pita just does that. It could be a bounce from an overnight low. Or it could be he needs another increase. I think I would wait and see what tomorrow brings before the next increase. See if he gets back to down to his usual yellow/blues. He did hit a couple of greens at this dose so he's not doing that badly. If he stays high tonight and in the morning then go to 3.4u.

I definitely understand the "pulling my hair out" feeling (and crying a little in my case). It's so hard to see them getting these numbers and these high doses. I just keep reminding myself that Sam (and Pita) needs as much insulin as he needs, and I can't get upset that it's more than I wish it was. Hugs to you! Your dosing looks really good, so just hang in there and keep giving him lots of love and snacks. :smuggrin::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
According to past PS #'s, he hasn't had a number like this since only getting 3.0 units. Wondering if I should lower to that. Now that I look, he had PS #'s like this in early March, at the low 2's unit. Aaaahhhhh!
 
Okay, this may turn out to be a horrible mistake but I just feel like I should dose lower :confused: think I'll do 2.2 Gah, I may be acting really dumbly but only time will tell!
 
Wait..Pita got a 137 after a cycle of no insulin?!? Well, I think that answers our question about if it's too much too litttle or just a weird cycle with those pinks. Looks like too much and he's dumping glucose. Good call on lowering. Of course how much lower is the big question. I think you chose well for last night, but the next few days may require some guess work. Oh Pita....you're not making it easy on your mama!
 
154 AMPS. Oh gosh I think he was dumping glucose and maybe not feeling well! Gah. Well, we shot the 2.2 again and I'll get one or two tests before I go back to work.
 
Well look at that! I'm guessing he hasn't been too much for long. He's been injured and on bupe and now he's feeling better. Needs can change pretty quickly as they heal. I wonder what his night cycles have looked like since the AM cycles haven't been giving much indication. Too bad we can't just go without sleep....:rolleyes:
 
Well, I'm so confused about what to do with his dosing. I'm still giving 2.2 units and he's getting some really good midday numbers. PMPS have been a tiny bit higher. It feels so counterintuitive but I'm going to drop it to only 2 units and see what he does. May be a huge mistake but I'll go back up if needed. Oy!
 
Last edited:
Well reducing definitely brought his PS numbers down, even if the nadir was a little flattish. His numbers are a little odd right now, but for what it's worth, I think you're doing a great job of tinkering with it to figure out what is best for him. :bighug:
 
Well, numbers have been pretty good overall! However, now I'm back to what to do with dosing. Stay at the 2.0 units for a while longer, bump up to 2.2 again or go against all odds and try 1.8? I know there's no clear, definitive answer regardless of my data, just a couple opinions because I'm just stuck. Thanks all!
 
Hmmm...you could try a fat 2 for a few days (because why not just split the odds :rolleyes:) and see what that does?

There's really no way to know what Pita is going to do. That 2.2 wasn't really giving you bad numbers...so that could be a good option too. I might go fat 2 for a bit and see what happens and if it doesn't bring the numbers down some, go back up to 2.2?
 
Hello everyone! First, thanks @Rachel for the fat 2 auggestisu. It seems to be good!
Second, I wanted to see if this was a reoccurring thing and it definitely has been. Pita has been SO much hungrier lately at night. He has his breakfast and snack at +9 during the day. After dinner though, he demands a snack around midnight and now also around 5:30am. I've been honoring it all and using the timed feeders because those times suck for me. He drinks a bit longer when he gets water but nothing even close to before he was diagnosed. I do think that may be from the weather. All other behavior is normal. I'm trying to remind myself that this is still the first year in LA, so he also may be getting used to the weather, air changes, etc. I'll weigh him today but just wanted to throw it out there because of course it also makes me a bit nervous. Happy Saturday!
 
@Rachel are you available?! Got an 80 PMPS- first strip was 85, second was 76, so that's the median. Really not sure if I should just NS or reduce to a Fat 1. Any suggestion?
 
I don't think I'd NS if you can avoid it. Can Pita have food overnight?
Okay. That was my original thought also so I may just do the Fat 1? I can either stay up late/get up to test. Yes, either way he has a treat snack at about midnight then a wet snack around 5:30am. But when I test tonight I can steer if need be.
 
I think a fat 1 sounds like a good option. You'll probably be able to tell by +2 what direction he's headed tonight. Fingers crossed he just holds steady so you can sleep!
 
I think a fat 1 sounds like a good option. You'll probably be able to tell by +2 what direction he's headed tonight. Fingers crossed he just holds steady so you can sleep!
Thanks Djamila! So good to hear from you. Hope you and Sam are both doing fantastic!
 
It's good to be back! I've been on vacation/work trip for a few days and then trying to get caught up on everything. Sam did well with the pet sitter and is now trying to walk across the keyboard while crying in an attempt to convince me that if I don't give him some treats right now he will die. This despite two full plates of perfectly good food sitting just a few feet away. :rolleyes:
 
It's good to be back! I've been on vacation/work trip for a few days and then trying to get caught up on everything. Sam did well with the pet sitter and is now trying to walk across the keyboard while crying in an attempt to convince me that if I don't give him some treats right now he will die. This despite two full plates of perfectly good food sitting just a few feet away. :rolleyes:
LOVE THIS!!:cat:
 
Oh wow! So sorry I wasn't here Caitlin...glad Djamila was though! Her advice was, as always, perfect! Looks like it turned out good. :)

Djamila, that is HILARIOUS!
 
That was a lovely flat cycle last night. Well done! Did you have to steer him much, or was his regular food/snacks enough? I'm wondering if it might be worth considering reducing him a bit this morning and see how he does. The cycles right before yesterday didn't indicate needing to reduce, but even with that reduced dose last night, he didn't rise. Maybe a 2 or a skinny 2 (depending on how fat your fat 2 has been). Or you could keep the fat 2 and just keep an eye on the next couple of cycles?
 
That was a lovely flat cycle last night. Well done! Did you have to steer him much, or was his regular food/snacks enough? I'm wondering if it might be worth considering reducing him a bit this morning and see how he does. The cycles right before yesterday didn't indicate needing to reduce, but even with that reduced dose last night, he didn't rise. Maybe a 2 or a skinny 2 (depending on how fat your fat 2 has been). Or you could keep the fat 2 and just keep an eye on the next couple of cycles?
No steering on my end last night! I'll be at work but Matt will call me after his AMPS so I'll see where he settled for dosing then. I do agree that a reduction may still be needed.
 
Hello all! Well, it's been a crazy ride the last couple days for Pita. In a good way. Gave a Fat 2 this am because he was getting a bit higher, but I know his dosing hasn't been consistent because of that green PMPS the other day. Anywho- he had steady but lime green midday numbers today. I steered him the whole time and he's finally above 50 so that's good. I'm guessing he's going to have a low PMPS as well unless he bounces. Assuming he doesn't bounce and I just get a low PS again, I'm already unsure of what to dose. I'd like to avoid another few days of inconsistent dosing on my part, but I know sometimes that can't be helped. So any and all input will either be great or not help my decision at all :joyful:
 
What about something around the 1.7 or 1.8 range? And if you're worried about inconsistent dosing, look at my spreadsheet. It's a giant mess lately. :oops: It will make you feel better. Knock on wood, I think I'm finding the sweet spot (at least for a day or two until his needs change again).

Thankfully Pita tends to take his dose changes in stride and doesn't overreact to them. I agree that 1.5 wasn't enough, but fat 2 is too much. Pita is okay in those high limes, but you needed to steer, so he needs a reduction. If you're hunch is right and he ends up with a low PMPS, then maybe do a bigger reduction for tonight depending on just how low the PMPS ends up being, and then try something between the 1.5 and the f2 for tomorrow morning?
 
Wow Pita! Hmmm...I'd definitely reduce. He seemed to get pretty good numbers yesterday, so maybe 2 for a similar number or 1.8 for lower? It's hard to know what to do! I think if it was me, I'd do 2 for a 160 or higher and 1.8 for lower. Of course, if he hits something like that green, you'd want to go even lower...so basically I'm no help at all. :p
 
LOL...you are always helpful, @Rachel !!! I hadn't really thought about trying different doses like that with Pita, although now that you mention it, I think Caitlin did try that a loooong time ago, and it worked alright with him, didn't it?
 
LOL...you are always helpful, @Rachel !!! I hadn't really thought about trying different doses like that with Pita, although now that you mention it, I think Caitlin did try that a loooong time ago, and it worked alright with him, didn't it?
Youre right, it was a long time ago so I'd have to look at it again.
Wow Pita! Hmmm...I'd definitely reduce. He seemed to get pretty good numbers yesterday, so maybe 2 for a similar number or 1.8 for lower? It's hard to know what to do! I think if it was me, I'd do 2 for a 160 or higher and 1.8 for lower. Of course, if he hits something like that green, you'd want to go even lower...so basically I'm no help at all. :p
You're always a help Rachel! I do like that idea of dosing based on PS range. I guess we'll see what happens tonight first!

Thanks SO much ladies
 
Errrrr, or is 1.4 maybe better?! I'm looking at the past couple days and just can't decide! Will wait another ten minutes in case of help and then I'll just roll the dice!
 
What about going with a 1u like you did the other night?
I just had the feeling that it wasn't actually enough because the next few PS kept getting higher..? Also, if I try the 1.8 for 159 and lower/2.0 for 160 and higher, I think maybe somewhere above 1.0 would be best for anything lower than say, 100 or so? Frick why is this so hard for me tonight.
 
It just makes me nervous to send him low again after being down there all day today. Plus you need sleep. So maybe 1.2 to 1.4, but I think I'd lean toward the lower end. Even if he's a little higher tonight, he's still in good numbers, and then you won't have to stay up all night testing.
 
As long as you're okay staying up, then 1.4 makes sense. I'm just such a baby about getting enough sleep! :rolleyes:
 
Lol...always the middle way! Somehow it's comforting to split the difference on these nights when it's hard to decide. I hope he surfs safely for you tonight so you can get some rest!
 
Lol! I love splitting the difference...it's a good way to go when you don't know how to go! Yeah, you know I usually wouldn't suggest a sliding scale, but with Pita, it just seems to make sense. You know that if you skip his shots, he'll get off track and he's doing SO WELL...plus you have so much experience at this, that it's a lot more safe for you to decide to shoot on lower numbers. Basically, I don't really like sliding scales, but for some people they just work best!
 
He looked good last night! Looks like that dose was about as perfect as you could you wish for. Good job to both of you! :):cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top