Pippin's Team
Member
Hi. This is the first time we've posted on the PZI board. Our previous update on the main board is here. We're taking care of a recently diagnosed cat who was started on 1.5u of ProZinc. I changed the dose to 0.75 on 8/3 after one day of skipped shots and advice from Sue and Carl, then lowered it further to 0.5u. I did a curve yesterday.
AMPS 203
+2 113
+4 76
+6 108 (fed 1-2 oz at +5.75)
+8 164
+10 157
+11 157
PMPS 148
Today
AMPS 91 (no shot)
He's also drinking and eating less (1/4 can per meal) than he was before. I talked to our vet this morning and she said that she would like to see him stay above 100 mg/dl and mentioned that they'll want to see another curve or do a fructosamine test in 1-2 weeks, since he's only been on this dosage for a few days. Are his numbers are likely to start heading up again on this low a dose?
We would really appreciate any advice from you guys. Another important point is that my cousin and his husband are going to stay with Pippin this week (they are the ones who will be taking him for the long-term.) They are learning how to do blood tests and will focus on getting pre-shot tests, but may not be able to test extensively for a while. I'm planning to do another glucose curve next Sunday.
-Jamie
AMPS 203
+2 113
+4 76
+6 108 (fed 1-2 oz at +5.75)
+8 164
+10 157
+11 157
PMPS 148
Today
AMPS 91 (no shot)
He's also drinking and eating less (1/4 can per meal) than he was before. I talked to our vet this morning and she said that she would like to see him stay above 100 mg/dl and mentioned that they'll want to see another curve or do a fructosamine test in 1-2 weeks, since he's only been on this dosage for a few days. Are his numbers are likely to start heading up again on this low a dose?
We would really appreciate any advice from you guys. Another important point is that my cousin and his husband are going to stay with Pippin this week (they are the ones who will be taking him for the long-term.) They are learning how to do blood tests and will focus on getting pre-shot tests, but may not be able to test extensively for a while. I'm planning to do another glucose curve next Sunday.
-Jamie