PINK already?

Status
Not open for further replies.

owlgal

Member Since 2011
Ok, yesterday he had a long duration on 1.8u. Now today he has a VERY short duration. 318@+6. WHat is going on now? I've never gotten a high number @+6. This should be his nadir. Everyday it's something different. Do they ever have a normal pattern? His ears are so sore from having to test all the time. I hate this!!

I dread the pmps. Can i dose earlier like +10 if high?

Lori
 
Although they never have real dependable patterns, he has, in the past, had a crummy day after a good day. If you look back on your ss, one day he will be in the blues and the next day will be blah. I would chalk it up to a crummy day and see what tomorrow looks like.

Are you holding his ear after each poke and using neosporin to help his ears?

Lori, I know this dance is hard, but you put a lot of worry and frustration into every number. Is he generally happy? Does his neuropathy seem to be getting better instead of worse? Is he eating, pooping, peeing and playing? Remember, he doesn't know he has diabetes. He is just okay being a cat, getting good food, and extra treats and attention when being poked. As long as he is not in the 400-500 range consistently, he is okay. If there is a way you can think of the numbers and doses as gathering data, it can feel more than a process. A process that takes time.

And honey, breathe. Breathe alot. He does!
 
Okay...breathe!!!! There is no "normal" with FD. You are still really early in the treatment to FD and it is very complex. I know that this cycle is diappointing after yesterday's long blue surf, but don't get discouraged. It takes time to find a dose that is "magical" and produces somewhat consistent results. Right now the most important thing is for you to gather data and record it. My gut feeling, which means very little, is that the higher numbers today are a reaction to the blues you saw yesterday. Sometimes, when a cat has been in high numbers and starts to see lower numbers---not necessarily green numbers---their body "panics" and the liver reacts by producing "sugar" and dumping it into the cats system to prevent the lower numbers from occurring. The high numbers have become the "norm" for the cat and their body doesn't like the lower numbers. It takes an adjustment period for the body to accept and not react to the lower numbers. Is that what is happening? I don't know---but, it could be.

You can shoot early at +10, BUT I wouldn't. If what I described above is happening, then there could still be insulin in the system, but the body is not letting it work. There is more to be gained by riding out the cycle and testing and recording the data than shooting early.

I will share this with you....when we first came here, I was convinced that a 400 or 500 BG was going to "kill" Kitty. I panicked and was very nervous with the higher numbers. While we all know that we don't want the kitties to be in high numbers....this is something we all have worked through....and you will too. It takes time. Don't get overly alarmed by the high cycles. You always have the next cycle! To give you comfort with this...look at Kitty's SS (not the TID one) she was continually in high numbers and here we are...one year later and she is regulated. It will get easier!

Copper's body is adjusting to the insulin and it is very hard in the beginning...but, be patient and continue to collect your data.

Good Luck!
 
Hi Lori,

I can't give you advice on dosing but I can offer my support to you. Everyone said it far, far better than I ever could. Your precious Copper doesn't know he has diabetes, that is so very true. You are doing everything you can to help him and to figure this out but it does not happen overnight.
Your AM cycle is almost over, let's look to what tonight will bring.
 
Thanks for all the comments everyone. I really appreciate your support!!!

Yes, i hold his ears for about a minute after i poke and use neosporin w/pain med in it. I also use a heated sock and rub ears before i poke. BUT, he does not cooperate some of the time and just flicks his head and ears away right before i poke. Sometimes i can get it with one poke and it goes very smoothly, and the next time it won't bleed or he flicks his ears and don't get a good poke. I think i just need to give him a rest a little, but I know i must collect data to understand where he is at.

He does seem somewhat happy. THe neuropathy is holding him back quite a bit in playing and going around outside like he used to do. It's hard on him. The neuropathy seems a tad better the last couple of days. But still pretty bad. He still is not himself. He hasn't laid with us and cuddled in so long. Now that i'm poking him all the time, i'm sure he doesn't want to come near me. I wish i could tell him i'm trying to help him. Somedays i think he understands. He still purrrrs through it all and is sweet as always. I just want him to feel 100% better, especially his legs. I thought that once his BG's started to come down that the neuro would start to get better. I'm giving him the Zolabline(b-12) 3xday.

I guess i will wait for his cycle to end which will be around 10:30pmEST. Let's see what his pmps is.

Thanks again for reminding me of the marathon. I'm trying to understand.

lori
 
You are doing Great! It will get easier and he will get better. You are doing all of the right things. I can tell you from experience, it will be very rewarding when you see him improve!

Hang in there!
 
You are doing fine. It is so frustrating at times. When I got here I stomped around yelling "I want him regulated and I want it now". :lol:
 
Yes, i know the feeling. I was just hoping that he might be on a schedule by the 1st of the year because i have to get back on a schedule with family and activites and will not be around to test in afternoons, etc. Hard to leave him not knowing if he will be ok. Also, can't get the nadir and know how he is doing. So it will be a lot harder now. But i will do the best i can do.

THANKS for support. It means a lot!

lori
 
Every day is different!
Dont forget to look at the whole picture, not only the daily numbers!
Hang in there! :mrgreen:
 
Gave the 1.6u last night so i could rest and his ears. The amps was @285. Lower than the last couple of days. SO, maybe he does need a lower dose? So i'm doing an experiment today and giving a lower dose of 1.6u and see how he does. He is so much calmer this morning and not begging for food. We shall see.

He did cough up a fur ball this morning and ate grass. What can i give him if stomach upset just to be prepared?

lori
 
Did an experiment today since his amps was lower, so gave the 1.6u and tested only a couple of times to give his sore ears a rest. He seemed good today and went outside for a time to play. His numbers seemed flat today, although no drastic highs like that day on the 1.8u. So i don't know. Maybe he will settle into the 1.6u and start going down. I gave the 1.6u tonight to give him another rest and DARN he moved right when i pushed the insulin in and it partially came out. So don't really know how much got in tonight. I expect to see a high amps because of it. Will probably go up to the 1.8u tomorrow, unless for some wild reason he is low. I will try to test some tomorrow, maybe only at nadir time. Hope he has an ok night. Neuro still bad...


Goodnight all!

lori
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top