Pimp 12 hr curve

Status
Not open for further replies.

Andy & Pimp

Member Since 2015
Last condo

Even though he got a partial dose Fri AM i decided to curve him today. Won't have another chance until next sunday.

AMPS 522; +2 377; +4.25 419; +6.5 371; +8 398; +10 364; +12 381
 
Last edited:
that's a bounce - all high like that all day. I answered on your other thread as well. It doesn't tell you much about what to do with the dose when he's in a bounce cycle.

Are you able to get some occasional pm cycle tests? For people who are gone all day the pm cycle tests become really helpful in figuring out dosing. The before-you-go-to-bed test is often really helpful.
 
I do try to do at least one later test each night. He was 306 @ +1.5 tonight. I'll get another number before bed.
 
When you see a cycle playing out like that you may as well abort the curve and save yourself some strips and Pimp some pokies. Although it really doesn't sound appropriate to put it that way given his name lol. I can see I'm going to be biting my tongue a lot not to get too inappropriate in your condos! I probably would have given up by +4, certainly by +6.
 
Oh well, it got me some good testing experience, and now I know what a bounce looks like. Learning a lot, quickly, here. thank you so much all.

He was back into the low 400's today amps, after low 200's @ +5 last night. Going to try to stop home and check him around 1 (+6).

Anyone in favor of skinnying the dose tonight? ( obviously depending what his +6 is today)
 
I am not an expert but I would not give him a skinny dose tonight. He went into the mid blues once but not lower than yellows since. Others will chime in.
 
What I'm concerned about is the possibility of never actually catching his true lowest numbers. He is bouncing so much right now and I'm afraid that he could " run out of bounces" if that makes sense?
I think the vet did his original curve on two units. Though he was not eating hardly at all at that point. I'm going to call them right now and see what his lowest number was.
 
Just stopped home to check BG, and the meter read hi, so over 600. He was 306 @+1.5 last night 216@ +3.5 236@ +5.
ANOTHER BOUNCE

The vet's curve on two units took him down to 120, and dropping, when I took him home that night. don't have any more tests for that night, but he was still under 200 the next morning.
 
Everyone has that same concern. No one can stay up testing all night and all day. You just do the best you can.

There's nothing I can see to suggest that he needs less insulin. You've done a super job of getting tests in and if anything, I'd suspect Pimp will need a dose increase. But I'd wait the week for SLGS and then re-evaluate. With SLGS you don't increase the dose in the middle of the week.
 
Stuck with the 2.25. See my "too much lantus?" thread for my new worry!

Is there a moderator that can link these 2 or three threads together?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top