Pimp 10/30 amps 367; +8 128; +12.25 143; PMPS 163; +2.25 230

Status
Not open for further replies.

Andy & Pimp

Member Since 2015
Transitioning from Core to Young Again zero...he wasn't interested in his canned food this morning but ate some @ 12.25. Not much kibble eaten today, either.

Advice pllZ!!!

yesterday
 
Your spreadsheet shows you shot already - which is what I would have suggested anyway - providing you have plenty of strips, HC wet food and/or syrup and can monitor. He's risen from nadir and the insulin will take a bit of time to kick in too. You don't want to let the numbers get away from you before you shoot

For future reference if you stall you don't feed. You want to try and catch a naturally rising number so once you've added food you don't know if it's food or a natural rise.
 
Have not shot yet...filled in the box out of habit and corrected w/in 5 min...WOW on your response time! I gave wet food because was concerned he hadn't eaten any dry today. I already know he's not dropping. Have plenty of strips and Karo. Want to shoot by 8 EST, gotta finagle his shot times this weekend already as it is...

Almost seems easier to skip shooting tonight and re-start on the DST schedule tomorrow morning, but I don't want to do what is easy, want to do what is right.
 
We aim to please ;) i don't know when 8 EST is - that's why we talk in pluses. If you need to adjust the time to manage your schedule this weekend you can wait a little longer but I would get it into him ASAP as Lantus does its best work at keeping kitties in lower numbers rather than dragging them down from higher ones. It also prefers consistency, you can generally move shot times by 15 mins per cycle (or 30 mins on one cycle) without affecting the cycles. When you know you have something coming up that requires a shot time adjustment it's good if you can plan that in advance and get there slowly - not always possible I know. Nice to see he's found the blue floor again:cool:
 
We aim to please ;) i don't know when 8 EST is - that's why we talk in pluses. If you need to adjust the time to manage your schedule this weekend you can wait a little longer but I would get it into him ASAP as Lantus does its best work at keeping kitties in lower numbers rather than dragging them down from higher ones. It also prefers consistency, you can generally move shot times by 15 mins per cycle (or 30 mins on one cycle) without affecting the cycles. When you know you have something coming up that requires a shot time adjustment it's good if you can plan that in advance and get there slowly - not always possible I know. Nice to see he's found the blue floor again:cool:
8 est would be right now! +13
Time change in the US this weekend, clocks go back 1 hr. So +12 by the clock actually become +13.
I was planning on moving him 15 min each dose over the next 2 days, but we're an hour behind now (due to my un-sureness!)
Thinking I'll shoot him with skinny 2.25? Just to make myself feel a little better? I'm SOOO scared of putting this cat into a symptomatic hypo.
Going to check BG right now!
 
Tee hee it is rather nerve wracking when you start to shoot those lower numbers. Since you are already an hour past shot time, which can act like a dose reduction I would go ahead and shoot the full dose. I can hang around to hold your hand through the cycle if you like.
 
I agree with Vyktors Mum....I'd shoot the scheduled dose now!

Lantus works best when it's given at lower doses...it's not so great at dragging down the high ones

Anytime you shoot a lower PS than you're used to, it's a good idea to get a +1 and +2 though so you can intervene early if you need to...but we have a saying here...Shoot Low to Stay Low so this is a gift!!!
 
Through all my nervousness about the lower numbers, (PMPS 163, +13.25) we ended up with a skinny 2.25 fur shot. My FIRST fur shot. Go figure.
 
Still gonna keep an eye on the guy and i'll keep y'all posted on the BG numbers, but how the HECK do i get this Lantus smell out of my nose?
 
LOL these things happen. The important thing is not to shoot again because you have no idea how much went in.
 
LOL these things happen. The important thing is not to shoot again because you have no idea how much went in.

If there's one thing I learned early and surely, that would be it!

Look for me @ +2 (1.25 hr from now). Thanks so much for the guidance, feeling like I mucked up what should have been a great night for us.
 
Hi Andy and Pimp - isn't this place great? I had to laugh a bit at your comment on your SS about shooting lower numbers. I felt exactly the same way! It's early days and you are in great hands here, I've heard it said that this whole feline diabetes thing is a marathon, not a sprint, so don't beat yourself up. Looks like you are doing great!

BTW, just love Pimp's name and picture!! You should post some pics of Hustler, too. They are like the Poster Kitties for anti-PC. LOL.
 
We've all done it!! ....and if you figure out a way to get that smell out, please share!! It's awful isn't it??

But one thing for sure...once you've smelled Lantus, there's no mistaking it for anything else!!

Love your cat's names too!! When I got my first 2 cats after I got married (this was LONG ago) we had 2 little females.....we named them Tramp and Hooker (and then promptly had them spayed so they couldn't live up to their names!)
 
Ok so it does look like tonight will be a non-event but in case it's just a good food spike I'd still get another test in a couple of hours to be sure - I'll be spying on you ;)
 
Ok so it does look like tonight will be a non-event but in case it's just a good food spike I'd still get another test in a couple of hours to be sure - I'll be spying on you ;)
I'll get the "woke up in my easy chair at 2am and on the way to bed" test...but those don't get posted until morning, lol.
 
tee hee hee I'm big on the after I wake up in my chair test too. Thanks for letting me know so I don't worry when I don't see anything :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top