Pika amps:400 +9 115 +10 102 +11 131. First time in range around PMPS

Pika and Shellz

Member Since 2023
Good evening (US MTN time) So my sweet Pika did a thing today and decided to chill in range all day (I use the libre sensor) …. And he hasn’t ever done this so I am at a total loss of what do to at insulin time. He always spikes by now… for the know thy cat.. but since he has had a few hours in a couple days in range since we upped his insulin to 3U (he has always spiked up to 350+ after going in range) and I know I cannot give 3 U at this number.. so I need some help.. I’m hoping he will spike up to a number I’m comfortable giving insulin at.. but I don’t even know how much insulin to give.. cause he hasn’t ever done this this is a new thing.. thank you all in advance.

He is slowly raising but very slowly. He was 135 my last scan. And I don’t know where he will be at 8pm when Im supposed to give his shot. He is free fed with a controlled amount of dry food.. meal with his wet food and insulin (Due to two other free fed cats that refused to transition to meals and my worry for hypoglycemia) I do know my pika but this is something new that he hasn’t ever done.. I had some shocks of seeing deep in range before but this one has me at a loss cause he isn’t spiking like he does after he does is nadir and he has nibbles on dry food on and off through the day.


Just as an update on him. He started giving me his cute head tosses again, he is begging for belly rubs, sleeping with me again on the bed. Still has the thirst and big pees. Vet said no more ketones but did have a UTI and got that treated. He does show signs of neuropathy in the hind legs. Can’t make big jumps.. sits down a lot as he is walking.. but that is because he was staying so high for so long.. I’m hoping that getting him in range more often will help with that. Still not running around with zoomies.. but does a little when we play but tires easy but over all I have seen improvement in the way he acts. I’m hoping to see some strength return to his legs.
 
So being under 150 you stall without food and retest in 20-30. Then if not high enough shoot at BCS of about 20% if you can monitor or else skip. What do you think?
 
Okay it looks like we are starting to climb in sugars he was up to 147 So I’ve been giving 3 units. His pm shot was due at 8 pm. So I am late already on his dose. But it’s not uncommon for me to give his dose closer to 9 Monday-Thursday or 10 on Fridays and Saturday. But if I can keep him from going high I would love to keep him below 300
 
Want to stall a little longer? Without food he might go down though . How about a reduced dose of .50?
 
So being under 150 you stall without food and retest in 20-30. Then if not high enough shoot at BCS of about 20% if you can monitor or else skip. What do you think?

I don’t think I should skip.. I am willing to delay and give lower dose and monitor him. Sorry for being such a newbie.. but what is BCS?
 
He has been eating dry food that he always has access to if he needs. So I don’t picture it going down since it’s over 12 hrs since last dose
 
A BCS is big chicken dose. Since so much lower than used to I’d check one more time and if going up you could shoot a one time reduced dose of ,50 unless a big jump up. He might soon start to bounce and then you could shoot a full dose though. How off schedule can you be?
 
So he is at 148 and he was 153 so he is being up and down ..I don’t know what he is doing.. so I am at a loss at what to do cause this is not following any pattern. Just scanned him 164
 
He is climbing with sugars and currently eating dry food should I just do like .5- 1 unit.. his drops can be wild that is why I’m so unsure. Or should I do more 2? I know I am the owner.. and I have to make the call.. but I don’t know what to do
 
A BCS is big chicken dose. Since so much lower than used to I’d check one more time and if going up you could shoot a one time reduced dose of ,50 unless a big jump up. He might soon start to bounce and then you could shoot a full dose though. How off schedule can you be?

And he is bouncing! And starting to shoot up! ( I love all the thing I can say with a diabetic Kitty.. like my cats just been home high all day) Would you still do just 1.5 even though he is bouncing im down to go do it quick.
 
He’s on the way up. If you can monitor you could shoot 2.0. The first half of the cycle could be active though. Get a +1 and +2 and post.
 
Okay so for the last 25 minutes he has gone from 164 to 172 so yes he is climbing but slowly Yea he is a fast one with the drops usually that is why this is being so difficult. And he has been so unpredictable since just starting getting into range like for 5-6 cycles in the last 10 days…. I expect the first 6 hours to be very active. With this shot when I give it. I’m just waiting for a comfortable number.. I know I need to get comfortable shooting low cause that is the goal but I would hope that I’m on less of a dose by then so I can know what dose to give.
 
The dose should not influence your decision. If I were you I would shoot now. There is nothing wrong with a onetime reduced dose. Your next shot can’t be sooner than 11 1/2 hours from when you shoot. Has he eaten? That too would be why he’s rising.
 
He has ate dry food. And I’m getting ready to most likely do the 1-1.5 dose. Or like only .5 unit. Since he is down to 164 he was eating dry food at 9pm and at 830 so I’m not sure why he isn’t super rising.
 
When stalling you don’t want him eating. It’s food influenced otherwise. Meter variance is 20%. Make a decision and shoot. I suggest no more than 1.0.
 
Last edited:
How late did your shoot? The morning shot can’t be less than 11 1/2 hours from them. You can move the time 15 minutes early each cycle or 30 minutes every 24 hours.
 
10pm. He wont get his pm shot till close to the same time tomorrow. I don’t plan on giving him his insulin till 9-9:30 am tomorrow unless he is high then he will get his regular dose at 8 am…. I know I don’t follow the rules to a tee but I do the best I can. My work schedule changes. So it’s rough getting the exact same time. I know it’s a disservice to Pika but it’s what I can do.
 
Yes I am aware.. I’m scared if highs due to the damage in the body but I’m terrified of lows due to hypoglycemia and all the various stages of it and the fact I’m gone at work for half the time..( my husband is great and will get my phone if he gets off before I do to scan him so we don’t lose too much data) Thank you so much for helping me through my first low number shooting. I figured it’s also smarter to start lower for my first time having numbers below 300 (there was a 270 one time and I reduced there) I know I’m not through it yet cause I got the ride to go on now. But thank you so much for being with me through this. My last scan was 222 at 10:53 but the sensor has errored out for a moment.
 
Back
Top