? Piggy,AMPS-10.3-horsepower sugar surges

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tatiana and Piggy Russia

Member Since 2023
Good day!Please look at our table. Since April, Khryunia began to have very strong surges in glucose, I keep the dosage constantly at 0.25, KDM syringes without intermediate divisions - I myself make markings with a knife at 0.5 and then at 0.25. He eats well on his own-125 grams of wet canned food in the morning and evening. Of the medications, every morning 1/6 telmisortan, ipakitine morning/evening, every other day urs and calcium acetate, if necessary, the gastroprotector famotidine or omez. In the morning and evening before meals, I drink 10-15 ml of water,so that he poops himself and there is no constipation. He eats by himself, sharpens his claws, chases other cats, climbs on beds and on windows. But since April, strong jumps began - what am I doing wrong, please help me figure it out.
 
You need to be trying to get more tests in during the cycles as that will tell us how well the dose is working. Just getting Preshots is not going to tell us that information.
And I can see where you did test and he dropped to 1.7 (30.6) on 3 July and you did not reduce the dose.
You say you are following SLGS but I can’t see evidence of that. Anytime the BG drops below 90 (5) you need to reduce the dose. And you need to be doing a curve once a week to evaluate how things are going and if an increase or decrease is needed.
I would say that the red, pink and yellow Preshots you are seeing is your kitty bouncing up high because he has dropped low during the cycles.
Another reason I think he is bouncing from low numbers is because you had a 4.1. (74) Preshot on 2 June followed by red Preshots the next day.

I would also recommend you give him a couple of snacks every cycle as well as the two main meals. A snack is a teaspoon or two of low carb food. Diabetic cats need more food than just twice a day.
 
I am almost constantly at work, it will be possible to do more tests only at night or on rare weekends. Therefore, snacking during the day is also impossible, only if at night. I will try to do more tests, only during the night cycle
 
Can you get an automatic timed feeder for him so you can leave some food for him or if not could you leave some food out for him to graze on.? Would he eat it all at once?

Yes…getting some tests in during the evening and at weekends would be great! Try and get a before bed test in each night if you can. I know it is hard if you work every day.
 
I won’t be able to get a feeding trough, and I have 8 other cats besides him, they will eat it up. If you put him in a cage, he starts to get nervous and afraid. He’s generally a capricious cat - he’s in the house, and I’m on guard nearby so that others don’t drive him away andate, or he didn’t give up and leave. If I’m on the weekend and give them intermediate food - boiled chicken, fermented baked milk, wet canned food, I always make sure that he eats. Please tell me when it is better to test - after 2-4-6 hours or 3-6-9.
 
Translation for her signature

DX: March 23, SLGL, Levemir, CKD3, ContourPlus, hypertension, pancreatitis. Medicines: nephrodin, telmisortan, ipakitin, GMT+5 Russia
Can you add what wet food you are feeding
Tap in your name up top ,then tap in signature and add the name of the set food you are feeding please
@Tatiana and Piggy Russia
 
Last edited:
I won’t be able to get a feeding trough, and I have 8 other cats besides him, they will eat it up. If you put him in a cage, he starts to get nervous and afraid. He’s generally a capricious cat - he’s in the house, and I’m on guard nearby so that others don’t drive him away andate, or he didn’t give up and leave. If I’m on the weekend and give them intermediate food - boiled chicken, fermented baked milk, wet canned food, I always make sure that he eats. Please tell me when it is better to test - after 2-4-6 hours or 3-6-9.
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
Either is ok. But if you get a low BG always test again after about an hour.
Good day, today I reduced the dose to 0.15, because yesterday it was 8.4 at +3, and 6.9 at +10. After I fed him, I measured it just before leaving for work, it was 7.8, soI was afraid to give the full dose, I don’t know if I did the right thing, maybe it makes sense to keep it for a week at a dose of 0.15 and look at the sugar at different times, what do you recommend?
 
Good day, today I reduced the dose to 0.15, because yesterday it was 8.4 at +3, and 6.9 at +10. After I fed him, I measured it just before leaving for work, it was 7.8, soI was afraid to give the full dose, I don’t know if I did the right thing, maybe it makes sense to keep it for a week at a dose of 0.15 and look at the sugar at different times, what do you recommend?
Well done getting those 2 pm cycle tests in.
It is hard to know when we can’t see the am mid cycle tests but hopefully we will see some on your days off. Probably good idea to stay with 0.15 until you know what is happening during the am cycles.
 
Well done getting those 2 pm cycle tests in.
It is hard to know when we can’t see the am mid cycle tests but hopefully we will see some on your days off. Probably good idea to stay with 0.15 until you know what is happening during the am cycles.
I was apparently exhausted from work without days off and with cats at home and stopped hearing the alarm clock at all, today I overslept for work, now I put killer music on the alarm clock, I hope that today I will do it at a dose of 0.15 +2, +4, +6, +8,+ 10
 
Well done getting those 2 pm cycle tests in.
It is hard to know when we can’t see the am mid cycle tests but hopefully we will see some on your days off. Probably good idea to stay with 0.15 until you know what is happening during the am cycles.
Summer - everyone is on vacation, it’s hard, but this is a chance to make money, because there are a lot of costs for medications - test strips fly quickly and I have 2 more cats with immunodeficiency, they need to buy dolutegravir soon and test 2 more cats for PCR, I check them every year,to immediately drop him off for treatment
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top