Pig 5/6 amps 134; +4 98; +5 89; +6 72; +7 102; +8 101; +9.5 74; pmps 117 - ?? Montana

Status
Not open for further replies.

LuvinThisPig

Member Since 2017
Yesterday's

I am starting his 5/6 thread a bit early. This way I will have more time to focus on him in the morning. We are uploading a new video at the moment, but it should be ready soon. I was able to get some of the kits we used, but it was a bit frantic this morning and I tend to panic. :p However, all is well and we are getting more efficient with each stop. I will get his in the car setup in the morning. He is do so fantastic! He even was playing the hotels, so even though he is stressed a bit he has all 5 Ps in place! One more day of really hard driving and we will either be in or very, very close to Pullman!
 
Pullman, WA?? I wondered where you were headed. If so, welcome, welcome to Eastern WA. Weather is great, hope the rest of your trip is good.
 
Sarah, you are so organized! Loved the vlog today. That little three level stacker and lunch kits with the freezer pack are awesome. And of course I like all the action shots of Pig. He looks pretty relaxed in the room. Sorry he's not doing his business on the road. When we drove, Neko would only do it if we stopped for a while, so we'd try to stop at least 1/2 hour for lunch. She got better as the days went by. When I flew with her, she held it all day.:rolleyes:

When you go the other way, you might want to try the Montana route from WA. I found that much more interesting driving, and there were lots of places to stop if you needed to.
 
Pullman, WA?? I wondered where you were headed. If so, welcome, welcome to Eastern WA. Weather is great, hope the rest of your trip is good.
Where in WA are you? That is so awesome! I am glad the weather is nice... I am done with icky cold OK stuff! Its so pretty out here in Wyoming ... :smuggrin:
 
Sarah, you are so organized! Loved the vlog today. That little three level stacker and lunch kits with the freezer pack are awesome. And of course I like all the action shots of Pig. He looks pretty relaxed in the room. Sorry he's not doing his business on the road. When we drove, Neko would only do it if we stopped for a while, so we'd try to stop at least 1/2 hour for lunch. She got better as the days went by. When I flew with her, she held it all day.:rolleyes:

When you go the other way, you might want to try the Montana route from WA. I found that much more interesting driving, and there were lots of places to stop if you needed to.
Thank you! Organization is the only way I have survived this.. Lol. I've had the 3 tier thing since the beginning and its a lifesaver!

He seems to be doing okay, even with holding it... But, once we are in the room its a flood. One unfortunate thing, it seems the exhaustion makes him really, really tired... Last night he curled up in my arm and we both passed out. He sleep so hard and the gut motility drugs worked so well that I awoke to an arm-load of squishy, stinky poo.. :p No worries, though... Better out than in!

When you stopped for lunch with Neko, did you let her hang in the kennel so she could relax and wander around inside and discover the box or did you manage to get her to use the bathroom outside?

I believe we are going the Montana route! I need to put our last local in the tread title! I am on it!
 
We are in Spokane, north of Pullman. And the weather is finally reflecting Spring! Kisses to little Pig.
Yay! This is great to hear! I know another Acro owner who lives in the Seattle area. I do not think she frequents the board, although I have told her about it... I am so happy to hear its good weather!
 
I am in Vancouver, same weather mostly as Seattle. It's a bit drier and warmer usually near eastern WA.
When you stopped for lunch with Neko, did you let her hang in the kennel so she could relax and wander around inside and discover the box or did you manage to get her to use the bathroom outside?
We drove in a sedan. Her LB was in the trunk. I had one of the seats down so she had easy access to the trunk and it was sort of like her "cave". Her favourite bed was in there too, and she'd occasionally just hang out in it too. After the first half day, we just left the kennel door open. She'd mostly sleep in the kennel, but would occasionally wander out. I'd never let her out of the car enroute. She was too strong/fast and I didn't have a harness I trusted.
I believe we are going the Montana route!
I just looked at Google Maps, the upper route through Montana makes sense. You had said Wyoming was lovely and I had really bad memories of the southern Wyoming route. Hot and brown, but it was August. The northern route is much nicer. Going through the mountains on the northern route is pretty spectactular. I hope you'll be going through part of it during the daylight. We did Spokane to Billings in one day.
 
I am in Vancouver, same weather mostly as Seattle. It's a bit drier and warmer usually near eastern WA.

We drove in a sedan. Her LB was in the trunk. I had one of the seats down so she had easy access to the trunk and it was sort of like her "cave". Her favourite bed was in there too, and she'd occasionally just hang out in it too. After the first half day, we just left the kennel door open. She'd mostly sleep in the kennel, but would occasionally wander out. I'd never let her out of the car enroute. She was too strong/fast and I didn't have a harness I trusted.

I just looked at Google Maps, the upper route through Montana makes sense. You had said Wyoming was lovely and I had really bad memories of the southern Wyoming route. Hot and brown, but it was August. The northern route is much nicer. Going through the mountains on the northern route is pretty spectactular. I hope you'll be going through part of it during the daylight. We did Spokane to Billings in one day.
I love the whole "cave" idea! I had thought about putting the kennel back there, but we had so much stuff to carry!

He is trending pretty low today. He just hit a 89 at +5. A lot I am sure is because of me moving his shots up by half an hour to accommodate food and surgery, but he is also really tired and only sleeping. He is sleeping deeper than yesterday. I don't want him any lower than 70. So, I will test him in an hour and if he had fallen below that I will give a bit of honey to curb the drop... He had a meal less than an hour ago and still fell 10 points. What do you think?
 
I don't want him any lower than 70. So, I will test him in an hour and if he had fallen below that I will give a bit of honey to curb the drop... He had a meal less than an hour ago and still fell 10 points. What do you think?
Neko got high carb food on the road, as soon as she hit the 70's. Especially if early in the cycle. Better safe than sorry. You neveer know when the next opportunity to pull off the road and test will appear.
 
Loved your vlog, so funny watching Pig be silly in the chair. It’s great that you had that guide to help you organize, looks like you have everything you could need...for Pig at least! :p

Glad he’s such a great traveler, I hope he learns to use the LB in the car so you don’t have to worry too much on that. Thanks for sharing your journey with us. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Neko got high carb food on the road, as soon as she hit the 70's. Especially if early in the cycle. Better safe than sorry. You neveer know when the next opportunity to pull off the road and test will appear.
Yes.. I tend to agree with you entirely. I gave him 1.5tbs HC and it jumped him 30 points. Now, here is hoping it holds. I would like to withhold food unless it is needed since he is not using the restroom...
 
Loved your vlog, so funny watching Pig be silly in the chair. It’s great that you had that guide to help you organize, looks like you have everything you could need...for Pig at least! :p

Glad he’s such a great traveler, I hope he learns to use the LB in the car so you don’t have to worry too much on that. Thanks for sharing your journey with us. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
It is funny you should say that.. I have lost my hairbrush somewhere along the way and now have this crazy cave woman thing going..:p I packed in such a hurry I literally just brought like 3 work uniforms since they were clean and ready to go! o_O
 
What a great little traveler you have! Sorry about he armful of poo :rolleyes: Safe travels to you!
Thank you!! Yes, he traveled a lot with me as a kitten. I had to work on the road and that was my only condition, that they pay the pet deposit at the hotels so that he could go to! It has been a while, but they have amazing memory!
 
Pig's second travel day on youtube

Great Vlog, Great FDMB log, and Lucky Lucky Pig for having you as a Mom and your friend for helping with the drive.

I love the organized supplies and the squishable cat carrier. I don't know if I would like waking up with squishy cat poo on my arm though. One thing I did was spread cheap towels and blankets on everything in the hotel room that Leo would get on. That way we did not soil the hotel furniture. I also had a portable vacuum, and I vacuumed all excess cat litter. At the time, Leo had neuropathy and was squatting in the litter.

Kudos to you for putting pee pads down - I did the same thing.

Poor Poor Pig - he has a pink harness. :eek:

A small request - please don't turn your camera sideways....gives me vertigo!

I did not let Leo out much during the 4 travel days. He is a bit of an escape artist and I was terrified he might get loose of the harness and run. Call me paranoid...but we made it there and back.

Screenshot of your great supply kit attached - with the cute kitteh analog clock.
If that is Pig's bed - did you guys have to sleep on the floor?:D
 

Attachments

  • Pig's travel kit.JPG
    Pig's travel kit.JPG
    54.9 KB · Views: 77
  • This is Pig's bed.JPG
    This is Pig's bed.JPG
    43.8 KB · Views: 81
Pig's second travel day on youtube

Great Vlog, Great FDMB log, and Lucky Lucky Pig for having you as a Mom and your friend for helping with the drive.

I love the organized supplies and the squishable cat carrier. I don't know if I would like waking up with squishy cat poo on my arm though. One thing I did was spread cheap towels and blankets on everything in the hotel room that Leo would get on. That way we did not soil the hotel furniture. I also had a portable vacuum, and I vacuumed all excess cat litter. At the time, Leo had neuropathy and was squatting in the litter.

Kudos to you for putting pee pads down - I did the same thing.

Poor Poor Pig - he has a pink harness. :eek:

A small request - please don't turn your camera sideways....gives me vertigo!

I did not let Leo out much during the 4 travel days. He is a bit of an escape artist and I was terrified he might get loose of the harness and run. Call me paranoid...but we made it there and back.

Screenshot of your great supply kit attached - with the cute kitteh analog clock.
If that is Pig's bed - did you guys have to sleep on the floor?:D

Well, I put pee pads on all the chairs, but Pig always sleeps pressed into my stomach and under my arm. He has slept like that every night since he was little, so when he does it now he gets very, very relaxed. This is usually when he will pee on me. I don't mind really. I compensate at home. However, this is the first ever poo! I was so tired I did not even think to anticipate it. Oh well.. No harm done.

The pink serves a purpose! I wanted to make sure both people in the car could visibly see if his harness was on or not before opening the door. If it was a black harness we might have assumed and I do not want to think the consequences.. Besides, I think he looks just stunning in pink!! :p

Pig has gone through a lot of training with me. Watch on the video and see how he will almost always move towards me when we are outside and he is on a harness... This was part of the training. Now if he were to be scared or startled, he might panic. However, I have a recall command in place for that. Although, I do not want to test how well it works in real life.. I always look for secluded areas to let him out. Pig is pretty tough and not a lot can ruffle his feathers as long as he is close to me. It part of what we trained for. I will never forget the time I woke up to him growling in the bay window because there was a cow :eek::confused: on my front porch (welcome to OK folks) and he was for serious trying to get at it and chase it away!

Pig actually claimed both beds! However, he let me share with him!:p He just pooped on me later to show his displeasure!
 
Pig's second travel day on youtube

Great Vlog, Great FDMB log, and Lucky Lucky Pig for having you as a Mom and your friend for helping with the drive.

I love the organized supplies and the squishable cat carrier. I don't know if I would like waking up with squishy cat poo on my arm though. One thing I did was spread cheap towels and blankets on everything in the hotel room that Leo would get on. That way we did not soil the hotel furniture. I also had a portable vacuum, and I vacuumed all excess cat litter. At the time, Leo had neuropathy and was squatting in the litter.

Kudos to you for putting pee pads down - I did the same thing.

Poor Poor Pig - he has a pink harness. :eek:

A small request - please don't turn your camera sideways....gives me vertigo!

I did not let Leo out much during the 4 travel days. He is a bit of an escape artist and I was terrified he might get loose of the harness and run. Call me paranoid...but we made it there and back.

Screenshot of your great supply kit attached - with the cute kitteh analog clock.
If that is Pig's bed - did you guys have to sleep on the floor?:D
Oh!! Thank you for uploading those pics! I cannot do that from my phone! Great shots!:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I think pink is the perfect color for Pig, pigs are pink and pink looks good on Pig, it’s a right masculine looking harness on him. Some cats are just that cool that they can pull it off, and he’s absolutely one of them! :p
 
I think pink is the perfect color for Pig, pigs are pink and pink looks good on Pig, it’s a right masculine looking harness on him. Some cats are just that cool that they can pull it off, and he’s absolutely one of them! :p
I agree entirely!! Besides, Pig was the Pink addict for a while!!! Thank you Stacy!! Nuzzle Miss Asia for me!:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
The pink certainly makes him stand out. Leo might bite me if I did that to him :D

"I always look for secluded areas to let him out. "
Yes, I did the same for Leo's trip - for our stops. One time I stopped at the wind turbines in north Texas. That was a mistake. He was really scared of them...even though he was in the cage in the car.

Good progress on the trip. Sounds like you will be there tomorrow (Monday 5/6/2018).
 
The pink certainly makes him stand out. Leo might bite me if I did that to him :D

"I always look for secluded areas to let him out. "
Yes, I did the same for Leo's trip - for our stops. One time I stopped at the wind turbines in north Texas. That was a mistake. He was really scared of them...even though he was in the cage in the car.

Good progress on the trip. Sounds like you will be there tomorrow (Monday 5/6/2018).
Awww! Poor Leo! I would be scared too.. Those things are pretty imposing and even more so if you do not know what they are!
Yes, we are hoping to at least make it an hour or two outside of Pullman... We were going to try to push it and make it tonight, but Pig took a BG dive early and I needed to stop more to attend him... But, it is keep him safe at all costs! He is the reason and inspiration for all of this, after all!
 
Well, he cruised right back down to a 74 @+9.5... These lower numbers are making me think very strongly about a reduced dose for Monday and Tuesday as he will be a minimum of 7.5 hours without food. @Wendy&Neko do you think a 2/3 would do it or better safe and run with a 1/2. I am heavily inclined to the 1/2 dose...
 
Which day do you go into WSU? Neko had to do half dose her first day, with no food after midnight the night before cause she was having a CT scan and needed to have anesthesia. WSU should have given you instructions for the first day.

If you are travelling tomorrow again, a dose shave is a good idea. You could even do a bit of a BCS tonight to help reduce the depot. And give you more sleep.
 
One more thing, your signature lost the link to his spreadsheet. Thankfully I still had it open in Google Sheets.
Fixed it! My computer is doing funny things on the open road...

Which day do you go into WSU? Neko had to do half dose her first day, with no food after midnight the night before cause she was having a CT scan and needed to have anesthesia. WSU should have given you instructions for the first day.

If you are travelling tomorrow again, a dose shave is a good idea. You could even do a bit of a BCS tonight to help reduce the depot. And give you more sleep.
All Paula said was no food for 6 hours prior to anesthesia. His intake, echo, US, and CT Scan are tomorrow at 1:00p, with CT realistically timed at about 2:30p.

I tend to agree with you on the BCS. With him not using the restroom in the car I am not overly fond of shoving food in him to beef numbers. I have honey, but that is short lived. We will be traveling tomorrow and I typically do not see a huge decrease with a 2/3 shave. I think that will be better for tonight with a 1/2 dose for tomorrow's am cycle. You do not think that will raise him overly much, do you?
 
Can you email Paula and ask about dose for tomorrow? I am glad they are letting him eat later. That is the newer anesthesia protocol for diabetic cats. My dental vet let Neko eat up to six hour before her surgery. A half dose tomorrow is safer. Depending which anesthesia induction drug they use, his numbers may go up or down.

Don't worry about him going up temporarily. Did you pack the R? Neko skyrocketed due to many factors (reduced dose, fur shot :oops:, heart) and I used R to take the edge off. Safer is better. With all they are doing tomorrow, they may not test as often as you or I would.
 
Can you email Paula and ask about dose for tomorrow? I am glad they are letting him eat later. That is the newer anesthesia protocol for diabetic cats. My dental vet let Neko eat up to six hour before her surgery. A half dose tomorrow is safer. Depending which anesthesia induction drug they use, his numbers may go up or down.

Don't worry about him going up temporarily. Did you pack the R? Neko skyrocketed due to many factors (reduced dose, fur shot :oops:, heart) and I used R to take the edge off. Safer is better. With all they are doing tomorrow, they may not test as often as you or I would.
I can and I will do that right now... I can also call in the morning if I have not heard anything from her.

I did pack the R, just in case, so at least there is that measure of control. I tend to agree that safer is better. I would rather him be higher than lower for sure and with his current downward trends, even in the face of stress, I think it smart to err on the side of caution. I will give a 2/3 tonight and a 1/2 in the morning, unless instructed differently. I may still go ahead with this plan if they say to give a full dose. His lower trends often hit without a whole lot of warning...

I feel I can use the R safely between +9 to +1 on his cycle. If I dose at +1 that will have his R nadir lined up well with his L onset. Any later and they will coincide.
 
Leo got half doses for the whole trip and his BG bounced around. But guess what - he didn't hypo!

The radiation and the sedatives washed him out. He would end up wanting to eat a lot at the end of the day. But he also was pretty lethargic the whole week of treatment.

Example: 4th day at CSU, 1/3 dose at 8am:
The 4th day at CSU he wasn't eating much
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/leo-leoberry-the-high-doser.163717/page-2#post-1784361
he was at BG 150 and received 5.0 units at 8am on 9/22/2016 (instead of 18.0 units)

Just a reminder - THIS IS ALL WORTH IT! I just fed Leo his fourth or fifth meal today and he ate almost all of it. This is 18 months later and for an acrocat, and a cat with small cell lymphoma, he's doing pretty good. Theresa and I hope the same result for Pig.

After 6 months, none of the CSU techs or vets contacted me. Except one! That was Sarah the vet who was doing her 4th year internship. She followed up a couple of months ago and asked how Leo was doing. Leo was her first patient ever. Pretty cool.
 
Leo got half doses for the whole trip and his BG bounced around. But guess what - he didn't hypo!

The radiation and the sedatives washed him out. He would end up wanting to eat a lot at the end of the day. But he also was pretty lethargic the whole week of treatment.

Example: 4th day at CSU, 1/3 dose at 8am:
The 4th day at CSU he wasn't eating much
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/leo-leoberry-the-high-doser.163717/page-2#post-1784361
he was at BG 150 and received 5.0 units at 8am on 9/22/2016 (instead of 18.0 units)

Just a reminder - THIS IS ALL WORTH IT! I just fed Leo his fourth or fifth meal today and he ate almost all of it. This is 18 months later and for an acrocat, and a cat with small cell lymphoma, he's doing pretty good. Theresa and I hope the same result for Pig.

After 6 months, none of the CSU techs or vets contacted me. Except one! That was Sarah the vet who was doing her 4th year internship. She followed up a couple of months ago and asked how Leo was doing. Leo was her first patient ever. Pretty cool.
I am seeing the beauty in the lower doses with this one for sure. Even after all the high carb and padding, his pmps was 117. I gave only 30u. I will give 22.5u tomorrow. I might even look at doing a half of that - so a quarter. Like Wendy noted, I do have the R with me as a resource to use.

No, you are entirely right. This is ALL worth it. Despite the stress. Nevermind the cost. Forget the lost work and school... I can get second chances at all of that, but there is only ONE Pig. He gets my all. I gladdens my heart that Leo is doing so very well. Truly an inspiration! I certainly hope they follow up. I know another acro owner who is not on the board who went to WSU about 1.5 years ago and WSU actually just called her about a week ago to see how her kitty was doing!! This makes me very hopeful and happy!
 
I had followups from CSU, both times. And the radiation oncologist in charge asked permission to use her picture in a teaching paper on uses of SRT. Of course I said yes.:)
 
I had followups from CSU, both times. And the radiation oncologist in charge asked permission to use her picture in a teaching paper on uses of SRT. Of course I said yes.:)
Oh that is awesome! Neko is published! I wonder, do you happen to have the name of the paper and the author? I would be very interested in seeing if I could pull it from my library.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top