Pig 5/3 amps 135; +3 176 **Tail Update**

Status
Not open for further replies.

LuvinThisPig

Member Since 2017
Yesterday's

Well, his numbers are markedly higher. A few things to consider - 1) the decrease to 45u just effected that much, but I do not think that likely considering he has handled the others so very well.. However, it could be.. 2) The infamous Acro pulse could be ramping up again *sigh* 3) He could simply be responding to the stress around getting the vet carriers out and Tail's momentary absence from the house.

@Wendy&Neko I say we wait to see where his BGs go tonight, which will clue if it is stress or not and then fine tune dosage based off that. However, if he is the same then should we consider adding 1, maybe 2 more units back into the mix?

He is eating wonderfully. He actually seems more alert and has been using the LB far more readily that he was in the greens and lower blues. He is quite affectionate. All in all - he is doing marvelous except for that ugly 176.

Now, to Tail. Okay, so we don't really know exactly what is going on with his ear. In a nutshell, he has 'something' lodged very deep inside his ear canal. The vet seems to think the most likely thin is a waxy plug that migrated deeper into the canal than normal. Considering that he has allergies (food; pollen; and dust) this is highly likely as his ears will accumulate wax if not cleaned out properly. I have cleaned his ears religiously, but as an illustration, I cleaned them on Tuesday night and by this morning they had more build up. Although, the vet said it was not overly bad. He was negative for mites or infections..

Vet said it could also be an ear polyp. He was a rescue and I did not get him until he was 4 months old. He was found on the side of a major interstate in a cardboard box. God only knows how long he stayed there. Because of this, he had a very, very severe URI and was heavily pest ridden. The vets were going to euthanize him, but his lovely foster mom stepped in and nursed him back to health. Apparently, cats who have suffered severe URIs have a predisposition for ear and nasal polyps? I have never heard of this, but you can bet I will be researching it in full.

For now, though, he is on a topical steroid with an anti-yeast, anti-fungal, anti-bacteria agent. The ointment should dissolve the wax plug if it is that. We will go back in a few weeks to check again. If it is still there he will be put under and have the ear flushed out. At that time we will know if it is a polyp or not. I don't even want to go into the care for an ear polyp right now as it seems to be a requirement of surgery every 6 months as they constantly regrow.... *sigh*

I guess it is time for Pig to make a miraculous and medically worthy recovery so that Tail can have his chance in the spotlight...:rolleyes:

OH!! I know that steroids can cause or exacerbate diabetes... Is this only for internal steroids? I feel like this is a dumb question, but that was all I could hear when she said she was prescribing steroids...
 
Sounds like a good report overall. I wouldn't be too worried about BG=176. Pig is eating and affectionate. We have seen a lot of non-eating and withdrawn diabetic kittehs.

Also good to hear that Tail is getting his ear treated. Be happy there are no ear mites. Little Dude had them when we first were trying to tame him (he was still wild/feral). He had ear mites so bad that he had lost almost all of his hearing. It took several months to clear the mites, and then he got his hearing back. Such a dreadful condition. Some wild animals scratch their ears off.

The big trip is coming right up!
.
 

Attachments

  • Little Dude - backyard 04-29-2018b.jpg
    Little Dude - backyard 04-29-2018b.jpg
    101.9 KB · Views: 70
However, if he is the same then should we consider adding 1, maybe 2 more units back into the mix?
It's up to you. A few days while travelling being a bit higher won't hurt. If you think you'll be pulling over enough to test and he'll eat on the road, then add a unit or two.
I know that steroids can cause or exacerbate diabetes... Is this only for internal steroids?
Don't worry about it. Not all cats get diabetes from steroids and it's injested or injected steriods that are worse. Having said that, my civvie was on pred for a year and a half, and all it did was raise his BG around 20 points, but still in the normal range. Paws crossed Tail doesn't have a polyp.
 
I have to ask, lol how did you come up with their names? Love them, it’s cute
Well, long story short, Pig was jelly over the other cats bc they had tails... So, I went and got him his very own Tail. Tail is Pig's cat. Hand selected to be incredibly tolerant and docile and more of a cat's cat than a people cat... Tail seemed a natural name to follow Pig. Haha... Plus, he is a coon, so the sheer size of his tail makes his name even more worth it!!
 
Sounds like a good report overall. I wouldn't be too worried about BG=176. Pig is eating and affectionate. We have seen a lot of non-eating and withdrawn diabetic kittehs.

Also good to hear that Tail is getting his ear treated. Be happy there are no ear mites. Little Dude had them when we first were trying to tame him (he was still wild/feral). He had ear mites so bad that he had lost almost all of his hearing. It took several months to clear the mites, and then he got his hearing back. Such a dreadful condition. Some wild animals scratch their ears off.

The big trip is coming right up!
.
Little Dude is gorgeous! I admire those who have the patience to work a feral situation. Most do not. I have before, but it is not an easy task. Love, paitence, and kindness... And a bit of brains!

No, you are totally right. We are very blessed and I could not be more thankful... My panic button creeps out and I worry, but we are actually doing phenomenal. The worry is because these boys support two corners of my world...

And I had just smoothed down the butterflies when I read that... Haha. Now I am nervous all over again!
 
It's up to you. A few days while travelling being a bit higher won't hurt. If you think you'll be pulling over enough to test and he'll eat on the road, then add a unit or two.

Don't worry about it. Not all cats get diabetes from steroids and it's injested or injected steriods that are worse. Having said that, my civvie was on pred for a year and a half, and all it did was raise his BG around 20 points, but still in the normal range. Paws crossed Tail doesn't have a polyp.
Wonderful! Thank you... This soothes my mind quite a bit. I do think it is most likely wax, but time will tell. A polyp does not sound fun...

I will keep an eye on him the first day and see how he does then go from there. I will say, he seems to do much better in blues. He just has not really been himself in the green. His LB habits have greatly improved again... Maybe he is just more comfortable there... ???
 
Poor Tail, I hope the drops do the trick and there's no need for surgery. Both your kitties are so luck to have you.
Sending vines for both of them, good luck with the big SRT Trip, just in case I don't see you before you set of.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top