Pig 4/23 amps 107; +4 118; +6 90; pmps 88

Status
Not open for further replies.

LuvinThisPig

Member Since 2017
Yesterday's

He is actually doing pretty well today. He is still a bit more lethargic than usual, but a lot more clingy. I think he is still coping with some constipation. He appetite is ravenous as usual and he played a bit with me.

I might have figured something out in regards to the constipation thing, though. Pig being a Manx, he has some weird neurological quirks that have been there since birth. One of them being that his butt area will constantly have these contractions. Just little random spasms all the time. He has done this since he was a kitten and the vet is convinced they are harmless. Well, back before his dx when this whole thing got started, he had bladder infection and they gave him the prazosin for urethra spasms. It seemed to stop some of those butt contractions as well. However, at the time I did not have him on anything for the megacolon.

Well, it stands to reason that if your butt is spasming (anus / urethra) you are not going to be able to release very well even if you do have a colon stimulant and laxative. I knew he would do fine on the prazosin so I started that this morning at 6 since he needed it. (I am still leery about the Bethanechol and want to do ample research) Well, I came home to 2 fairly productive poos with another following shortly after. He has not retained a whole lot in his bladder as well. In fact, he released its contents onto my chest while we slept on the couch.. :p So, perhaps with the Cisapride, MiraLax, EZ eggs, and prazosin (as needed) we can work to help him keep his colon cleaned out and consequentially, his bladder. The less medications the better!

I made a double order of insulin this morning and am sweating the costs... :eek::eek::eek: It could be worse and I needed to make sure we did not run out on the trip. Now, I need to get the kennel and carrier and a few odds and ends..
 
Sorry I missed you yesterday, I was out of country (in the US for a race). Looks like Pig is really learning how to surf well. Your SS comments blame the "high" numbers on constipation, but it could also be the lingering effects of the BCS. And I love how you call low blues "high" now. :p:cool:

No worries at all! You have a life outside of the board and cannot be expected to be here ALL the time! You were in my country! How was the race?? I hope you relaxed and had a good time! This is so important!

He has been doing very well, indeed. I had thought about the effects of the skip and BCS after I posted that, but of course you are correct. He has had some good output today so I am hoping we will be right back on track soon. If not, I may increase by 1u BID or maybe 2u.. Just try to fine tune that dose a bit.

It creeps up on you, does it not? Earlier he tested at a 118 and I thought "Well, I can safely nap and not worry about him dropping too low..." and then I was like "wait... ohhhhhh".. and had to chuckle to myself. I remember the days when a 310 was low and I was triple counting doses of 5u. :woot: Now I am shooting 55u and chilling at a 80 ps. I am over the moon to see what post SRT brings.
 
Like clock work.... He had those good poos and dropped back down into the greens. Now, let us hope we can keep him there.

I will be trying to run a urine strip on him today. He is huddling a bit today and I do not know if it is because of the medication causing some tummy upset (he literally never throws up) or if maybe he is getting another bladder infection. I am always so paranoid. However, he did clean out quite nicely today and that is a plus. His urine gravity is not overly great as it is mostly clear, but my test will tell me more in that vein. I will also look at reducing the water in his food now that he is better regulated, but not overly much. I had cut it down and he just went into the thirsty panics again. He is very well hydrated, though. I also think some of his huddling is in part of the arthritis as he always has that back leg straight out and tucked under him. He never really 'meat-loafs' but I can tell when he is in a spot of pain. Yet, he never, never guards his belly and will allow me to poke and prod it all day long. In fact, when he sleeps with me he wants me to rub his tummy and I can't imagine he would do this if it was in a ton of pain. He even lets me manually express his bladder when he is not overly constipated. I imagine 2 types of laxatives are not overly easy on the tummy.
 
Nice to see green again. :D

You might want to start a post on the Feline Health forum to ask a question about colectomies. That may get more eyes on the question.
 
Nice to see green again. :D

You might want to start a post on the Feline Health forum to ask a question about colectomies. That may get more eyes on the question.
Agreed! I am starting to really like green and I think he is too, but more slowly...

That's a great idea and I will do just that! Thank you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top