Pig 2/23 amps 376; +3 359; +4 314; +7 295; +8 330; +11 318

Status
Not open for further replies.

LuvinThisPig

Member Since 2017
Yesterday's

I have a quick question... I should have raised Pig to 27.5uL last night, but only did 27. It was my plan to raise him up this morning by .5u. However, after last night and his amps, I think he could really use a dose of R.

Now, we are not suppose to use R with a raise, but when the raise is so marginal compared to the full dose, is this an option? He did go down to 313 last night, but this also could be some NDW....

I may add in the R this morning to pull those numbers down and then raise the L tonight. Do we think this is a good idea? Will it throw the depot off?
 
I made the choice and decided to add the R back in and stay at 27u. I hope this was the right decision.

If anything, this will bring his numbers lower this cycle and possibly the next, then I can up by .5uL on tonight's cycle. Which, hopefully, will start off on better numbers.
 
I think R should do more than 0.5u of Levemir. Not that I know much, but looks like a good decision to me.
Why are you increasing L in 0.5 increments? Maybe this was discussed in yesterday's thread.
 
I think R should do more than 0.5u of Levemir. Not that I know much, but looks like a good decision to me.
Why are you increasing L in 0.5 increments? Maybe this was discussed in yesterday's thread.
I agree... I needed him to get in lower numbers. He has not felt wonderful the past night...

It was suggested to raise by 2.5u because he was at 25u. This would make the increase right at the 10%. I usually raise by two, but since it was half-way through the 20's this made sense.... Only, I chickened out bc I had not heard from anyone... Lol. I am a pansy doser. Its gonna be nuts when he gets in blues and greens. Haha.
 
Hope the R helps and Pig comes down a little for you. It's a frustrating waiting game, but good things have been happening, no more red and black, so close, Pig, so close!
 
How is Pig doing?
Thank you!

Actually, he is not doing too bad. Not for being in almost 400 numbers. That is what I am trying to avoid. He is still eating great and he came and snuggled with me this morning. He had a good poo and seems to be feeling alright, if not a bit sluggish. I worry about him holding his urine when his numbers are higher. I do not mind cleaning up the leakage, but the idea of him not even wanting to move a lot is bothersome. However, if I pull out food he is all moves and meows... lol
 
It's a frustrating waiting game, but good things have been happening, no more red and black, so close, Pig, so close!
Yes! This you are so right about. It is frustrating, but I refuse to be discouraged. He is still fighting hard and feeling better, so a little hiccup we can figure out. I do like the newer colors, those reds and blacks are ever so serious looking.
 
I agree... I needed him to get in lower numbers. He has not felt wonderful the past night...

It was suggested to raise by 2.5u because he was at 25u. This would make the increase right at the 10%. I usually raise by two, but since it was half-way through the 20's this made sense.... Only, I chickened out bc I had not heard from anyone... Lol. I am a pansy doser. Its gonna be nuts when he gets in blues and greens. Haha.
I was terrified shaking panicking the first time Yum had a bright green hypo last spring. The wonderful people on the forum talked me down and told me I could do it.
 
You made a good choice this morning. I hope the R helps bring him out of the stratosphere.

Come on down Pig!
Oh thank god... Lol. I have been stressing. He did come down some... I am about to get a +6. I have found he peaks really late on Lev... But, only time and tests will tell...
 
Pig is throwing much better figures tonight! :p
I am hoping that his pmps will remain in about the same range as his +11. If it does, then I will continue on with my plan and increase him by .5uL to make a 27.5uL dose. Then, tomorrow morning, I will cycle the R back into the mix. I am curious. Do I hold the .5 increase for a full 6 cycles of 27.5uL or go ahead with the increase on the normally scheduled time since the bigger increase was 2 cycles ago? Basically, does the .5 raise tonight reset the increase clock?

Also, I was reading on @Stacy & Asia thread about hydration. Now, I started mixing Pig's food with water months ago when I found out he had mega-colon and constipation problems. It then progressed into me purchasing a blender and blending his food with equal parts water. I just do both of the boys food this way. I also mix a good bit of water into the raw food for Pig. They both love it and, actually, I have found that if I do not do this with Tail's food now, he will eat far to much and hurk it back up. My question is this... Is too much water a bad thing? I mean, I know it is a thing in people and I wonder if it flushes out some of their vitamins, like in people. I am just curios who else does this on a daily basis and if I should back off a bit???
 
A new dose restarts the cycle count. Another option is to hold 27 for two more cycles (total of 4), then increase to 30 after that - presuming you don't see blue.

How much water are you adding? I know you said equal parts, just not sure what part size the food is.
 
A new dose restarts the cycle count.
Okay... I wish I had read this earlier... I just shot the 27.5u. So, I will increase by 2.5u on the next increase (6 cycles from now).

How much water are you adding? I know you said equal parts, just not sure what part size the food is.
I usually give him about 2oz raw (I do not have scales, so eyeball it) and he gets this with his shots and about once in between. Now, I do not add as much water to the raw as I do the canned, it does not need it. However, it does make it a soupy, bloody mess.

During the day, for the auto-feeder, I put in 3.9oz Sheba pate into the blender and eyeball just under the food line with water. It is almost the consistency of melted ice cream. I measure out 1/3 for both Pig and Tail to eat then before I leave the house and then about the same goes into the auto-feeder for +4 and +8 for Pig. It is about 1/4 of soupy food for each feeding. This helps him go to the bathroom better. With his poop issues, the smaller meals more often helps to keep his bladder down and his bowels moving. I am just concerned that its too much water. I have actually been thinking about this for day or two. I wonder if this does not contribute to some of his bladder leaking. I feel like a bad mom. I thought I was doing a good thing. Now I am really concerned.
 
I know all of this sounds like a lot of food, but he has not gained any weight in the past few months. Pig is big. He has always been big. His appetite matches his size. I tried feeding him only the 2oz of raw morning and night and he was nuts. This is why I have a locking trash can and keep all my food behind locking doors. He will hurt himself to get to food. I do not indulge him, but I try to make sure that he has what he needs.
 
How much does Pig weigh? Neko did fine on 4 oz of raw a day, but she was around 14 lbs. You'd feed more to a bigger cat. One that isn't regulated will also need a bit more. Use your scale to determine if he's getting the right amount of food. Neko was good at drinking on her own, the civie wasn't. So I added about a tablespoon of water to each meal, about 3 meals a cycle.
 
Yum was drinking up to 19 oz of water a day when she was in reds and blacks. And she was eating the wet radcat. Lots of it.
She has kidney disease, so that probably also makes her thirsty. Her sodium and chloride values were a bit low in her last blood work, when she was drinking that much.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top