Pig 2/2 amps 332; +2 321; +3 300; pmps 391

Status
Not open for further replies.

LuvinThisPig

Member Since 2017
Yesterday

Well, I might have not made the best choice yesterday.. Lol. Just when I start to think I can trust my judgement, I learn just how much I really need this board and its expertise! Thank God for the miracles!

We started off on a better foot today with a amps of 332. I gave the usual .5uR to go along with the 22uL. Man, he is getting greedy with his glargine! :confused: I really hope we find that break through soon.. I am losing ground on saving with the extra insulin costs, but we do what we must.

Hope all is well in sugar world!! Here is to yet another amazing dance!
 
I have never done Facebook. Hmmm. Did any do paseriotide or hypophysectomy in the US?

I do not know of any personally that have done the hypophysectomy in the US. I am sure there are, I just have not talked to them myself. I will see what I can find. I do know that awhile back there was mention of one cat that received the surgery, but that the practicing surgeon was not able to remove the entire tumor. The tumor eventually grew back and the insulin need / growth hormone were just as they were before surgery. I do not think, even with surgery being the 'gold' standard, that there is a 100% definitive solution to this issue. Surgery leaves the possibility that not all can be removed because it is too close to surrounding tissue or simply to small to see during the process. However, @MJW I really know nothing about any of this as I am finding out. There are always exceptions.

I think I opted out of surgery for a few reasons. 1) Obviously the cost. It will be a struggle to see SRT, much less the possible 15,000 for surgery. 2) I am very hesitant about anyone - even world renowned doctors - cutting open my boys brain. Sometimes it is about leveraging safety, quality of life, and outcome... Maybe I would change my mind at a later date..?? Who knows?

There was one individual who recently got paseriotide and I believe his kitty much a wild swing downward in number all the way into the normal range very shortly after the first injection. It would seem, for his kitty, this was the golden ticket. If I could afford paseriotide, perhaps that would be the route we would go. It is non-invasive and has seem some amazing results! However, I am not certain on where the kitty is located, so I cannot speak as to where the medication came from. I try not to delve into the personal info of the CG and, instead, focus on the data.

I hope this helps! I will answer any more questions you have to the best of my ability! I only want to help.
 
I am researching Pasireotide today and I will post what I learn on the Acro... forum. The pharmacy would not give me exact prices without a prescription in hand.
In one recent article on Pasireotide from RVC, they write 14% of cats do not survive hypophysectomy. And that's RVC! The best! And my Yum is old!
Of course the article was on Pasireotide and not on hypophysectomy, so I didn't see the full context of the 14% number.
 
I am researching Pasireotide today and I will post what I learn on the Acro... forum. The pharmacy would not give me exact prices without a prescription in hand.
In one recent article on Pasireotide from RVC, they write 14% of cats do not survive hypophysectomy. And that's RVC! The best! And my Yum is old!
Of course the article was on Pasireotide and not on hypophysectomy, so I didn't see the full context of the 14% number.
I remember now, as well, there was a new radiation therapy at NYU called True Beam?? But, I have only heard of one who got this and it was just the other day, so no results yet... But, worth researching. Of course, being new, I imagine it is expensive as well..
 
There was one individual who recently got paseriotide and I believe his kitty much a wild swing downward in number all the way into the normal range very shortly after the first injection. It would seem, for his kitty, this was the golden ticket.


Was it the two shots a day short acting Pasireotide or the one shot a month long acting Pasireotide LAR?​
 

Was it the two shots a day short acting Pasireotide or the one shot a month long acting Pasireotide LAR?​
That I do not know for sure... It was a short post about the effects of one shot... Not a lot of detail. However, I can look...
 
The "wild ride down the dose" pasireotide story was using the long lasting monthly injection. One of the kitties in the original RVC study. RVC recommended the monthly version over the daily one in communications to me a couple years ago. Hmm, just saw an update, the kitty passed a year later. :( Not all the kitties on pasireotide went OTJ, but a lower insulin dose and less growth hormone is a good thing.

I had heard of two people going for hypophysectomy a couple years ago now, at WSU. One they didn't get all the tumour so the caregiver had to get SRT as well. The second, there was some bleeding during the surgery. Not sure what the out come was, there was no follow up post here.

There is a Truebeam at Yonkers, the place that first offered Cyberknife. Cyberknife is even more accurate that SRT, and you pay even more. :(

Come on Pig, almost yellow, you can do it!
 
The "wild ride down the dose" pasireotide story was using the long lasting monthly injection. One of the kitties in the original RVC study. RVC recommended the monthly version over the daily one in communications to me a couple years ago. Hmm, just saw an update, the kitty passed a year later. :( Not all the kitties on pasireotide went OTJ, but a lower insulin dose and less growth hormone is a good thing.

I had heard of two people going for hypophysectomy a couple years ago now, at WSU. One they didn't get all the tumour so the caregiver had to get SRT as well. The second, there was some bleeding during the surgery. Not sure what the out come was, there was no follow up post here.

There is a Truebeam at Yonkers, the place that first offered Cyberknife. Cyberknife is even more accurate that SRT, and you pay even more. :(

Come on Pig, almost yellow, you can do it!
I just wish there were more cost effective solutions to this problem. Obviosly it is far more common an issue than previously thought. This says to me that the medical field should find better, more cost effective solutions. However, it is the medical field and these things take time. Per my vet, most the treatments are crossing over from human medicine, hence the higher cost. But, as the results of octreotide proved, the human medicines don't always work in our feline companions.. Am I right?

It just pains me to think of all the Kitts that do not receive treatment or are not ever even diagnosed... :(
 
Yes you are right. The researchers are RVC are talking to researches in human acromegaly in London. The drugs for humans are very expensive, but their bodies are much larger, so surgery is much more plausible.

A lot of the treatments are very new. In 2012, which wasn't that long ago, the only option was SRT or just treat with insulin.
 
Ugh! This is soooo not the right direction... :banghead::banghead::banghead: I can't help but thinking that I am doing something wrong, but I just cannot put my finger on it... :(:(:( Just keep plugging away.. That is all I can think...

pmps 391
 
The "wild ride down the dose" pasireotide story was using the long lasting monthly injection. One of the kitties in the original RVC study. RVC recommended the monthly version over the daily one in communications to me a couple years ago. Hmm, just saw an update, the kitty passed a year later. :( Not all the kitties on pasireotide went OTJ, but a lower insulin dose and less growth hormone is a good thing.

I had heard of two people going for hypophysectomy a couple years ago now, at WSU. One they didn't get all the tumour so the caregiver had to get SRT as well. The second, there was some bleeding during the surgery. Not sure what the out come was, there was no follow up post here.

There is a Truebeam at Yonkers, the place that first offered Cyberknife. Cyberknife is even more accurate that SRT, and you pay even more. :(

Come on Pig, almost yellow, you can do it!
How old was the cat that passed a year after pasireotide? I wonder if there are updates on the side effects, like gall bladder issues.
 
Yes you are right. The researchers are RVC are talking to researches in human acromegaly in London. The drugs for humans are very expensive, but their bodies are much larger, so surgery is much more plausible.

A lot of the treatments are very new. In 2012, which wasn't that long ago, the only option was SRT or just treat with insulin.
You'd think they could sell lower dose, cheaper packages for cats. It's not like humans could buy up enough to make a human dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top