Pig 1/26 amps 353; +2 373; +3 351; +6 334; pmps 334; +2 323

Status
Not open for further replies.

LuvinThisPig

Member Since 2017
Yesterday
Pig's amps was @ 353, about 20 pnts lower than his pmps of 376. I am curious. Does this look like he is breaking that bounce, or do we assume that 353 and 376 are pretty much the same numbers considering it is well within meter variance? It is still within the pink... This should still be an alright value to shoot .5uR on, correct? Or, given the difference, should I withhold today? I feel like it would be fine and I will be home to monitor. We saw a very similar pattern following the raise to 18uL and I shot a much bigger spread then. I think that we are okay.
 
@MJW yes... You were the main reason I started to research it. Only, I had to find a place to ship it because they sell it nowhere near me. I forgot to tag you in that last night! I was looking at the Lamb, but all of them come in below the 200mg, correct? I have been food shopping per your recommendations, actually... lol
 
@MJW yes... You were the main reason I started to research it. Only, I had to find a place to ship it because they sell it nowhere near me. I forgot to tag you in that last night! I was looking at the Lamb, but all of them come in below the 200mg, correct? I have been food shopping per your recommendations, actually... lol
Did you have any problems with constipation when you switched her over? I pre-blend all of his food so that it is easier to digest and most of what he eats ends up being almost a soup. I am curious if you can do that with raw meat without compromising it or exposing it to loads of bacteria??? I do not think raw is one I can leave out in the auto-feeder for hours at a time.. I am not comfortable with that... lol
 
@MJW how do you handle the food? Do you purchase the larger containers and just pull out what you need? Do you section it out and freeze it? Do you buy the smaller containers and only thaw out one per day? I think I am thinking of feeding raw to a human... Maybe I am over complicating things. I found a place that will ship it to me, but you have to make a rather large order. I am also curious how it will do with some of his digestion issues... Oye.. So. Many. Questions.
 
I just. I don't know.... :( Maybe I did not fur-shot last night. Maybe a bounce? Maybe some ndw? Maybe the acro tumor going off? I just do not know...
+2 373
 
@MJW yes... You were the main reason I started to research it. Only, I had to find a place to ship it because they sell it nowhere near me. I forgot to tag you in that last night! I was looking at the Lamb, but all of them come in below the 200mg, correct? I have been food shopping per your recommendations, actually... lol
You found someone to ship it? An online seller? Please share.

The radfood.com website lists the nutritional values for the different proteins. I worry about prion disease in venison.
I converted the chicken and lamb to mg phosphorus per 100 kcal, but I might have made mistakes. I will review those notes before I share them. I am sure the choices are all less than 200mg per 100 kcal. Radfood changed its packaging and nutritional charts in the middle of my investigation, so my notes are a mess.

I would try a small amount first to see if Pig will eat it. Yum actually INHALED the lamb immediately, after refusing everything but Fancy Feast. The lamb has some carbs. Eventually I realized the red meat gave her diarrhea and I switched her to chicken.

The radfood website offers advice on how to break up the food. They mention ice cube trays. I'm afraid I'm going through about 26 oz a day at the moment for ravenous Yum and 2 civvies, so I don't need to worry about leftovers in the containers! Bwahaha. I weigh out the portions.

I did portion everything out for my petsitter and the vet boarding facility over the holidays. I bought little BPA free plastic containers at Target, but baggies might have been sufficient. I let a container thaw on the counter for about an hour until the meat could be penetrated with a dinner knife. (The website says it can just be "crunchy".). Then I dug out portions with the knife and a spoon into the containers. I weighed everything out on the baby scale that I use to weigh Yum. Then I put the portions back in the freezer. It was really hard work, hard on my hands. It took days. If I ever leave town again, I would buy the 8 oz containers to make the task easier or to actually make the task unnecessary. But the larger containers are cheaper.

I had the sitter thaw containers overnight to be served thawed when she visited the next day. I had her put more, frozen, into timed feeders that would open 12 hours later. And I had her put those on little blue ice blocks. I'm afraid when I am home I leave the food out for the civvies for 12 hours at a time. I won't be able to do that in the summer. Yum gets food now after every ear poke. It's very wet. I mix her supplements into it. I actually still portion out all a day's food in a production line once a day. I add the supplements when I do the portions and put everything in the little containers.

My vet doesn't like me feeding raw. My current supplier is selling me containers that have frosty ice on top of the meat. I am a vegetarian and I am worried whether they are handling it perfectly. So far no food poisoning. It's all so disgusting, but there's nothing I won't do for the cats.
 
Did you have any problems with constipation when you switched her over? I pre-blend all of his food so that it is easier to digest and most of what he eats ends up being almost a soup. I am curious if you can do that with raw meat without compromising it or exposing it to loads of bacteria??? I do not think raw is one I can leave out in the auto-feeder for hours at a time.. I am not comfortable with that... lol
No constipation. Diarrhea from the protein change. (I never gave the cats mammal meat before, for fear of mad cow disease. And grossness.)
 
You found someone to ship it? An online seller? Please share.

The radfood.com website lists the nutritional values for the different proteins. I worry about prion disease in venison.
I converted the chicken and lamb to mg phosphorus per 100 kcal, but I might have made mistakes. I will review those notes before I share them. I am sure the choices are all less than 200mg per 100 kcal. Radfood changed its packaging and nutritional charts in the middle of my investigation, so my notes are a mess.

I would try a small amount first to see if Pig will eat it. Yum actually INHALED the lamb immediately, after refusing everything but Fancy Feast. The lamb has some carbs. Eventually I realized the red meat gave her diarrhea and I switched her to chicken.

The radfood website offers advice on how to break up the food. They mention ice cube trays. I'm afraid I'm going through about 26 oz a day at the moment for ravenous Yum and 2 civvies, so I don't need to worry about leftovers in the containers! Bwahaha. I weigh out the portions.

I did portion everything out for my petsitter and the vet boarding facility over the holidays. I bought little BPA free plastic containers at Target, but baggies might have been sufficient. I let a container thaw on the counter for about an hour until the meat could be penetrated with a dinner knife. (The website says it can just be "crunchy".). Then I dug out portions with the knife and a spoon into the containers. I weighed everything out on the baby scale that I use to weigh Yum. Then I put the portions back in the freezer. It was really hard work, hard on my hands. It took days. If I ever leave town again, I would buy the 8 oz containers to make the task easier or to actually make the task unnecessary. But the larger containers are cheaper.

I had the sitter thaw containers overnight to be served thawed when she visited the next day. I had her put more, frozen, into timed feeders that would open 12 hours later. And I had her put those on little blue ice blocks. I'm afraid when I am home I leave the food out for the civvies for 12 hours at a time. I won't be able to do that in the summer. Yum gets food now after every ear poke. It's very wet. I mix her supplements into it. I actually still portion out all a day's food in a production line once a day. I add the supplements when I do the portions and put everything in the little containers.

My vet doesn't like me feeding raw. My current supplier is selling me containers that have frosty ice on top of the meat. I am a vegetarian and I am worried whether they are handling it perfectly. So far no food poisoning. It's all so disgusting, but there's nothing I won't do for the cats.
Thank you! So, technically, I can simply mix in his medicine and supplements and then store meals in the fridge for a days time? I have an auto feeder, but typically its only set for a max of 8 hours... But, I got crazy managers strutting their stuff right now and have several 12 hr. shifts on schedule.. ( making things very tough ). But, I am definitely trying it. I think wonders will happen with it... I have the site saved on my computer at home... I will send it your way when I get home!!!!
 
Well... I think we are a go for .5uR tonight... His pmps is a little lower than his amps, but not so much to say that it is a different number, really... Again, I never really know.. lol.

+0 334
 
And on another note.. I got a very frustrating email tonight... Now, before I say more, I will say again that I love my vet and have a lot of faith in her. I have remained very loyal to her through this and she has been Pig's vet for his whole life. However, this is the frustration with this disease (diabetes and acromegaly), they simply do not know enough....

I sent a long email detailing exactly what we needed and where we would like to go. All I got back was two lines... My vet is trying to help, she really is, but without more knowledge she seems hesitant to even make the switch to Levemir. Perhaps, I am thinking, it may be time to search out a specialist.

The internist I was referred to basically said that she wanted to run a fructosamine test (useless with all the info I have) and a ultra-sound (which I agree with)... And that is basically it. She cannot do radiation there, but can charge me the $500 to clear him for it... Grr.. :banghead::banghead::banghead:
 
Been out of town, so haven't replied to your questions on raw. Neko ate many protein types with no problem. But she didn't have megacolon. I would double check it will be OK for Pig. For him, I would feed raw product that uses eggshell calcium instead of ground bone. Convert to raw slowly. The FoodFurLife website describes how to convert to raw.

I did find it quite difficult to purree raw food. Neko had difficulties eating with soft tissue growth at the end, so could no longer eat raw.
 
I would double check it will be OK for Pig.
I agree with you on that. My vet is entirely against it and does not think raw is a good idea for any cat... I am really toying with the idea of making an appointment at a Cat specialist clinic in Tulsa. It is much farther away and more expensive, but I seem to be beyond the scope of experience here... I am going to go ahead and order it. I will do ample research to aid in transitioning him. I think small amounts will be where we start. I never rush head long into things with Pig. He is so weird sometimes and reacts differently. You are right on the egg-shells. I think he was having some aversion to the Chicken Sheba owing to the large amount of bone silt that I was finding in the bottom of the blender. That would account for some serious digestive upset, for sure.

I will get my first case of Weruva Fowl Ball tomorrow and order a few containers of RadCat. I am hoping the diet change will agree with him...

Thank you!! For everything!
 
I almost forgot with everything else... I was talking to @manxcat419 about Manx Syndrome and she basically confirmed all that I have ever thought about Pig. Funny how the CG can figure some of this out before the pros.. Lol. It does help a lot when you live with them, I suppose! With that being said, here is what we know...

"Digestive issues are actually very common in Manx cats, especially the ones with no tail at all. What actually happens with the Manx breed is that they have fewer vertebrae in their spine, which can lead to their internal organs, including the intestines, having less space. It's actually closer than anything to a form of kitty spina bifida - genetic in nature - which can, as you would expect, lead to other issues showing up in some cats too depending on the degree of what is essentially a genetic deformity. Megacolon is also actually really common in the Manx breed"
(@manxcat419 )

This is precisely it... !! I have been screaming this ever since he was a kitten...
 
Yes! Finally, he is moving in the right direction.. lol. Perhaps, what we saw as some ndw. I am thinking that played a part with the bounce earlier in the week.

+2 323

Hey, its not yellow, but definitely better than shooting to 376 like earlier!! I will take it for now! Here is to some more pretty yellows soon..
 
I've been looking at the Pigs ss and thinking about some fine tuning on the R side.

Next time you see a PS over 350, consider a trial of .75uR (provided you can be around to monitor and have enough supplies and food).
Also, consider changing the range for using .5uR to start at 275.

New R scale would look like this:
PS > 350 - use .75uR
PS 275-349 - use .5uR

What do you think?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top