Pig 1/25 +8 376; +11 352; amps 335; pmps 375; +2 375; +3 353

Status
Not open for further replies.

LuvinThisPig

Very Active Member
Yesterday

It is apparent to me that I made a decision that did not have the intended results. Lowering the R dose to a .25u last night did not have the effects I had hoped for. It would seem that the .25u is just not quiet enough to pull his numbers anywhere. With that being said, we have seen a fair amount of progress on the .5u, if it is dosed consistently. As in, he will respond to the L's ability to hold the numbers flat, but needs the help from the R to pull them down to a lower level so that it CAN hold them at that level.

He makes the move to 19uL this morning and will not receive the normal R dose as a result. However, tonight I will move ahead with his R. As of now I am planning a .5uR just as normal. I believe that maybe if he is >250 I will still give the .5uR. He responds very well to that and not at all to .25u. That was my learning curve. Now, I wonder if I should consider increasing the R to .75u if >300 or maybe, >350? I feel comfortable at the .5uR as it is now, but know that we may need to consider a raise. I just am not sure. With that being said, I would also like to see where he goes with just the 19uL and .5uR before any decisions are made, unless the guru's think differently.

Also, it is important to note, that even as he is in higher numbers this morning, he is feeling GREAT! He is up and about, using the box all on his own and bright eyed! He has been coming into the bed with me voluntarily and I have a high bed, so it is quiet the jump up!

On that note (I have a lot of notes :woot:), he seems to only feel really bad immediately following food. I wonder if I am feeding him to much at a time (never more than 2.6 oz) or if there is something else going on? Has anyone ever heard of this? He is great when it has been a couple hours from a meal, but poopy for a couple after he eats.. ??? It baffles me.
 
Last night you saw a bounce. I suspect that yesterday he got lower than he's been used to, so you saw the rise last night. You have to consider the context when you are thinking of shooting R and what dose to use. The 0.25U R might have helped him from bouncing any higher. Hard to say. If it had been a normal cycle where he had gone down instead of up from the 295, 0.25 might have been enough.

Does it help Pig to have more frequent, but smaller meals? Just wondering if that's something associated with his Manx syndrome.
 
Last night you saw a bounce.
Grr... I keep forgetting things. This makes perfect sense. So, you would suggest keeping the current scale? If that was a bounce then I concur entirely. And, yes I can see what you are saying now. Bouncing just was not on my radar.

Does it help Pig to have more frequent, but smaller meals? Just wondering if that's something associated with his Manx syndrome.
Yes, it does. I have been trying to stretch them out more. I worry, because I can feel his intestines moving in his tummy.. Maybe not. He gets very bubbly in his belly as well. We just had radiographs, but maybe a ultrasound is in order. You are right though, the smaller meals do help. I think last night I allowed him to eat to much. He was so hungry, but I know better...
 
Today will be yet ANOTHER very long day at work. (Training managers shaking their peacock feathers and all....). Testing will not be where is should, but he did not get R. Hopefully this L increase will see us some movement. And, looking at it Wendy is entirely right, of course, because he is right back down into the areas that he is comfortable with. His amps was @ 335, about normal for him... I will get better at this.. lol
 
If I back away from the screen I definitely see more yellows on Pig's spreadsheet, but it is one step forward a half step back. Hang in there.
 
On that note (I have a lot of notes :woot:), he seems to only feel really bad immediately following food. I wonder if I am feeding him to much at a time (never more than 2.6 oz) or if there is something else going on? Has anyone ever heard of this? He is great when it has been a couple hours from a meal, but poopy for a couple after he eats.. ??? It baffles me.
I remember when Yum first became seriously diabetic, she would kind of go rest along a wall at the edge of the room after a meal. I googled that a bit. I can't remember exactly what I found, but I believe it can be a response to the blood sugar spiking higher.
I did google a bit just now. I found this:
"High blood glucose makes your blood “sludgy,” slowing circulation so cells can't get the oxygen and nutrients they need"
along with a discussion of diabetics feeling groggy in the morning when their blood sugar is high.
 
I remember when Yum first became seriously diabetic, she would kind of go rest along a wall at the edge of the room after a meal.
That is precisely it!! He will pick an out of the way place, not necessarily hiding, and just sleep. Only, because he is Manx and had decreased nerve feeling in his nether regions, he will just lay there and let urin accumulate in his bladder.. Ugh. Its so sad. I don't mind cleaning up, but I just know that can't be comfortable.... It does seem as if this is lessened when he is in yellow... I think maybe you are right. I am praying that is all that it is. Thank you!
 
  • Like
Reactions: MJW
If I back away from the screen I definitely see more yellows on Pig's spreadsheet, but it is one step forward a half step back. Hang in there.
Yes! Thank you! Its hard to see when your in the middle of it all.. It is hard, and it breaks my heart to read the desperation in some of your posts about Yum. I never know what to say, but wait until you get higher doses and those numbers creep down.. I know its hard. So much of what you describe of Yum, I saw in Pig. The hunger. The thirst. I blend all Pigs food with a ton of water and that helps a lot. I really am hoping for your results.

I understand about obsession... Its hard not to, isn't it? But, you also have to realize that's not healthy for you and especially not her. I forget that a lot...
 
Well, we are moving forward with the regular dose of .5uR. I am hoping we will see some good movement on this new Lantus dose.

+0 376
 
Weeeelllll..... I guess it had to happen sometime. I think I have a possible fur-shot on the R. He is feeling a load better and, as such, has decided to not cooperate nearly as well with the injections... :banghead:
 
Man... I think we have a confirmed fur-shot. :( However, chins up! It is early yet to tell and sometimes he presents in the later hours...
Coming in with a tremendous +2 @ 375...
 
Maybe a chance to ease up on the pokes and catch some sleep,tonight. Gotta recharge those batteries every once in a while.
What are you talking about...?? I am super human... Haha. Okay, so, no. No I am not and, perhaps, you are right... As always! Lol.. I am going to give it to +3 just to see where he goes and if I did, in fact, fur-shot... Then off to bed for me! :smuggrin:

Btw.. What do you know of RadCat Raw? It is comparable and I am looking at giving it a try. How do you transition? Anything special? I am reading that link you gave me, but it is finals week and I am really crunched on time... lol. I am being lazy.
 
Yup... I am thinking this is a confirmation on at least a partial fur-shot... Poop. Ah, not next time!
+3 353

This girl is feeding and going to bed! In the am!
 
I've mentioned radcat raw to you before. Curious to see what Wendy says. The lamb is lowest in phosphorus, but it gave Yum mild diarrhea. It took me a long time to figure out she can't tolerate red meat. Now she eats the chicken. She won't eat anything else that is low carb/low phosphorus. I tried everything. Hmmm. Maybe now that she is constantly ravenous, she wouldn't be so picky.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top