Pierre *19 aug 2025 dx*

PierreW

Member Since 2025
hello!
I joined via the FB group.
M/6-8yo but could be as old as 10/neutered/UTD on vaccines
Adopted on 15 January 2023
Only known health issues at that time are feline herpes.
Chronic congestion with purulent discharge and wet cough

14.881lb / 6.75kg

Pierre is typically a loner cat. Comes out for meals and evening snuggles. He will hide during loud noises and unknown voices. He does tend to be fairly anxious/nervous. He enjoys snuggles on his terms but is a very sweet kitty with a loudest purr i have ever heard.

On 14 August 2025 Pierre started to have an increased amount of sneezing with more discharge than what is typical. Due to the house being busier than usual he stayed tucked away in his safe spot.

On 15 August he behaved the same, tucked away, only coming out to eat in the evening which isn’t entirely unlike him.

On 16 August his behavior was the same. reduced interest in food.

On 17 August he still wasn’t interested in eating much. His sneezing had become much more frequent. He hid away still.

On 18 August I was away for nearly the entire day for a Drs appointment. Pierre stayed under a chair on the screened in porch. By the time I came home, his nose was completely covered in dry mucous, and he hadn’t eaten at all. I did call the vet as they were closing to schedule an appointment for the following morning. He was listless and allowed me to pick him up (normally a big no). We snuggled for the evening, and I did contemplate taking him in but in all honesty, the days doctor appointment did come with an unsettling health diagnosis for a child so I decided that the 8a appointment would suffice.

On Tuesday August 19th at 8am. Pierre arrived at the vet. I explained what was going on and how my main concerns were that he hadn’t eaten (still drinking water) and his congestion/sneezing/coughing/listless. They decided to run labs.

At first he was diagnosed with an URI.
It was also mentioned that his nasal cavity was enlarged and a rhinoscopy could be done at a later date with a specialist. His nose bridge area was swollen but it was assumed that it was due to inflammation from the congestion etc

Then the first lab results came back that he was diabetic. This was incredibly shocking information. They ran more labs/tests and started to explain how we could manage it with different options.
Then the next labs came back, and we were told that he was in DKA and since this is a crisis situation I was told to immediately transport him to a veterinary ER.
(at this point I had the lab print out, but I was not informed about numbers etc)

We arrived at the ER where they assessed him and decided to keep him for treatment. It was my understanding that they would be treating the URI with the meds given from primary and working through the DKA situation. He was placed in an isolation area.

I did receive daily calls and texts about Pierre’s prognosis. Unfortunately, in this kind of situation they have multiple vets/techs working on him, so the notifications varied. I will absolutely admit that I was in panic mode, this created a situation where any information that was asked/given was confusing. I left Pierre feeling as though i had no idea what was happening.

First, on Wednesday morning, August 20th I was told that although he did make it through the night they were concerned about the inflammation in the nasal area. They suggested that it was very likely a tumor and although they could not perform a rhinoscopy, they could do an x-ray and US. I agreed.
They said that he was responding to treatment (I believe he was hooked up to some kind of machine that monitored his bg more frequently? I will be asking for records during my follow up. I currently have the invoice which lists items only), and their goal was to see if he’d start eating so that they could transition him to the long-acting insulin.
It was also mentioned during this call that with these kinds of problems, it would be a tremendous undertaking to care for him. having the preexisting condition (herpes), his body could potentially be in fight or flight mode over any little illness. add that to the possibility of a tumor and also now diabetes.... they said that it was a lot and that they would leave the decision up to me. I pressed for a professional opinion and was told that they can't tell me what I should do. ultimately, we hung up with me saying that I would never want any of my animals to suffer, quality of life was important to me but I'm not going to make a choice just because of cost at this time.

Thursday August 21, I received a call from a new vet saying Pierre was responding well (this conversation was very short and to the point. almost as if I had left my cat at the ER for no more than a hangnail. to go from "this'll be a lot" to discussing picking him up. No further info was given on treatment, current bg, URI etc.
They asked me for my pharmacy and told me that I’d have to find the syringes for the insulin. They are impossible to find. They said that the X-rays came back “fine”, nothing significant... possibly an enlarged heart. US was sent out, no results yet. I asked about the possible tumor and that vet suggested what the first vet said, “might just be inflammation from his URI”. he said Pierre could possibly go home tomorrow. I'm frustrated.

Friday August 22, I receive a call at 7:15a. New vet again. She lets me know that I have a couple of options. They can place a freestyle libre for 14 days. They could monitor him for some time, or he could come home, and I could do the monitoring. I said that I was willing to do whatever was best for Pierre. She said to come at 10.

Once I arrive, I saw 5 different vets/techs and there was a lot of back and forth. It really seemed like they didn’t know why I was there. I repeated what was said during the morning call. They went back and forth in and out of the room with a new person coming in each time with conflicting info...eventually they said no monitoring device, they’d give me his insulin, and I could take him home.

Bottom line, I don’t have results from any readings. I do know that I’m giving him insulin (2 units of Glargine 100 IU/mL pen) 2 times a day. the pen does not have the needle attachment so I'm pulling with a syringe. I was told he can eat the dry food that they were sending me home with. They said to follow up with my vet in 2 days. With that being Sunday and the original vet from Monday not working until Tuesday (26th), that’s when I’ll bring him in. I genuinely do not know anything else. I do hope they send the notes from his stay at the ER so that maybe she can explain things to me.

I purchased a glucose monitor to possibly record his BG myself until the appointment, but I don’t know how to safely do a reading. I wouldn’t even know what I’m looking for as far as numbers go. I don’t know how much to feed him other than 2 times a day.

I also have 2 other cats in the house. They’ve been on wet (Purina pro plan complete essentials indoor chicken) and dry (Purina pro plan complete essentials shredded blend).. I typically split the 3oz can between all 3, add a 1/8C of the dry and add water. This happens 3 times a day.

update as of Aug. 24, my meter arrived this morning. I have a pen lancet. I set up the spreadsheet. I watched YouTube videos on how to take a reading. Pierre is coming around a bit but is definitely still slow/hiding. I have stopped all dry food for all 3 cats. they are eating what I currently have which is fancy feast creamy delights chicken feast pate (3oz can shared) and also the Purina pro plan indoor grilled chicken entree in gravy (3oz can shared) with water added. the first few days I did 2 meals. now I'm breaking it up over 4. this is what they were used to previously. Pierre is taking his other meds as well.
- Mirtazapine 7.5mg 1/4th tablet every 24hr prn
- gabapentin 100mg caps (this one isnt given)
- betacillin
- erythromycin in eyes

i know this is A LOT. i decided to copy/paste right from my notes so there might be a lot of rambling. i added in the last paragraph just now. i do have some documents that i could possibly share if that is helpful.

thank you.
 
Hello, M!

Welcome to the forum! You've offered a great explanation of what has been happening with your dear Pierre. And let me say how sorry I am for how confusing and anxiety-provoking this entire experience must have been for you (at least that's what it sounds like in your report).

An experienced person is going to be stopping by with advice soon. In the interim, here is what you can begin doing to get things set up for yourself and Pierre. Read through this sticky: Sticky - New? How You Can Help Us Help You!.

Also, when you get a chance, please complete your signature, and you're going to link your spreadsheet that you've set up on the last line of the signature.

Have you started testing yet? If so, you'll want to add the information (test numbers) to the spreadsheet so that we can see where his numbers are.

I'm not sure the carb value of fancy feast creamy delights chicken feast pate. I've checked Dr. Lisa's chart, but it's not listed on there, and I'm assuming that is because it's a newer flavor (her list is a bit dated). I've also looked on Andrew Hall's list, but it's not listed there either. I suspect, though, that the carb value is likely too high for Pierre. If you want to feed a Fancy Feast flavor (which many of us do), try to stick with the Classic Pates. Low carb foods are typically those under 10% carbs. Many of the FF Classic Pate flavors are listed on Dr. Lisa's chart: here and on Andrew Hall's list, which is focused on cat's with CKD, but he offers the % of calories from carbs (third column): here.

What size/type syringes are you using?

This is an index of some of the health links we have on the forum: Sticky - INDEX: Health Links/FAQs
 
Last edited:
Thank you!

I will finish my signature. I don’t know what the terms/abbreviations mean so I wasn’t entirely sure what to include. I’ll do some looking around. I did put some info in the spreadsheet that is shared. Could be incorrect.

This is brand new to me. I have extremely limited knowledge about diabetes, and what I do know is either from very dated info or from knowing someone with an attached monitor. I also used to test my BG a long time ago because i have anemia and hypoglycemia.

I did just receive the monitor today. I will start testing. I’m not sure that Pierre will enjoy that experience. I’m not sure when I should be testing or even what I’m looking for when it comes to the reading. I’ll have to figure out where to put the numbers within the spreadsheet.

As far as the food, I have already updated my next chewy delivery and I have an order in locally that I will be picking up before their dinner. I think that the Purina pro plan might be even worse too. Yikes.

Needles are: U-100 UltiCare VetRx Insulin Syringes
3/10 mL - 29G x 12.7mm
 
Thank you!

I will finish my signature. I don’t know what the terms/abbreviations mean so I wasn’t entirely sure what to include. I’ll do some looking around. I did put some info in the spreadsheet that is shared. Could be incorrect.
We have a sticky for that! FDMB Glossary Let us know if you're unsure about any other of our terms.

This is brand new to me. I have extremely limited knowledge about diabetes, and what I do know is either from very dated info or from knowing someone with an attached monitor. I also used to test my BG a long time ago because i have anemia and hypoglycemia.
It was brand new to most of us when our cat was first diagnosed, too. The good news is that there are people here who have been working with FD kitties for a long time, and they are quite knowledgeable and helpful!

I did just receive the monitor today. I will start testing. I’m not sure that Pierre will enjoy that experience. I’m not sure when I should be testing or even what I’m looking for when it comes to the reading. I’ll have to figure out where to put the numbers within the spreadsheet.

In terms of testing, we ALWAYS test just before a shot to ensure that kitty's bg is not too low to receive insulin. You don't want to create a situation where Pierre becomes hypoglycemic; this can be very dangerous for him. Then, depending on how the cat is doing through the cycle, we get additional tests, at least one other per cycle. You can take a look at my sheet to see how often I test (each number entry represents a test). Jude is mostly regulated now.

Take a look at some of the "how to test" resources here on the forum before you start. Also, be sure to have a special treat for Pierre in his testing area so that he will come to associate the process with something positive.

Also, take a look at the numbers across the top of the spreadsheet. Numbers below 200 are what we call "healing" numbers, as kitty's pancreas begins healing while in that range (cats can and do go into remission!). I'm following a dosing method called "tightly regulated" (TR), so anything below 50 for Jude is too low.

Updated to add: I haven't looked up Purina Pro Plan, but I suspect it is also too high in carbs. You can look for it on one of the charts I posted.
 
Last edited:
We have a sticky for that! FDMB Glossary Let us know if you're unsure about any other of our terms.


It was brand new to most of us when our cat was first diagnosed, too. The good news is that there are people here who have been working with FD kitties for a long time, and they are quite knowledgeable and helpful!



In terms of testing, we ALWAYS test just before a shot to ensure that kitty's bg is not too low to receive insulin. You don't want to create a situation where Pierre becomes hypoglycemic; this can be very dangerous for him. Then, depending on how the cat is doing through the cycle, we get additional tests, at least one other per cycle. You can take a look at my sheet to see how often I test. Jude is mostly regulated now.

Take a look at some of the "how to test" resources here on the forum before you start. Also, be sure to have a special treat for Pierre in his testing area so that he will come to associate the process with something positive.

Also, take a look at the numbers across the top of the spreadsheet. Numbers below 200 are what we call "healing" numbers, as kitty's pancreas begins healing while in that range (cats can and do go into remission!). I'm following a dosing method called "tightly regulated" (TR), so anything below 50 for Jude is too low.

Updated to add: I have looked up Purina Pro Plan, but I suspect it is also too high in carbs. You can look for it on one of the charts I posted.

thank you. I'm looking around at the links.
 
Welcome to FDMB!

Most of the members here were new to diabetes and typically very new to feline diabetes. You're in good company even though it's all pretty overwhelming at first. I promise -- it becomes routine. And, you are clearly doing your homework and asking good questions. It's also not uncommon for vets to not provide a wealth of information. We will likely inundate you in information! We want our members to become experts at managing their cat's diabetes.

The very good news is that Pierre was prescribed Lantus. It is one of the two recommended insulins for cats. There is information about the specifics of Lantus along with dosing methods in the sticky notes at the top of the Lantus forum.

If Pierre was having an episode of DKA, we tend to be fairly aggressive about management. DKA can be a life threatening condition. There are a couple of considerations. In addition to the supplies you already have, you will want to have a way to measure ketones. You can either used Ketostix which are a test strip you use to test urine. You have to stalk Pierre to the litter box. Alternatively, there are blood ketone meters. You test exactly the way. you test for blood glucose except you need a meter that will test for ketones and/or glucose. You use different strips for testing for ketones. Ketones develop if there is an infection or inflammation present + not enough calories + not enough insulin. Chances are that Pierre had diabetes but wasn't overtly symptomatic and when his URI flared and he lost his appetite, he ended up in DKA. It's important that you get more calories into him than what you may have typically been feeding him. We usually suggest 1.5 times his usual amount of food. The mirtazapine that was prescribed acts like an appetite stimulant. You want to add water or other liquid to your cat's food. Keeping him hydrated helps to dilute any ketones that may be present. Keep track of the ketone levels on your spreadsheet.

From what I could track down, it looks like the Fancy Feast Creamy Chicken is low in carbs. I won't guarantee that it is since I can't find a copy of the label. There are cat food carb calculators on the web. You can plug the guaranteed analysis data into the calculator and it will give you an approximate percent of carbs.

Please ask questions. We're here to help.
 
Ok. I hope this works. These are the options I was feeding. I have just picked up the friskies poultry platter pate as well as the FF classic turkey and giblet 3oz.. I have to switch all 3 because they do bowl hop.
Is my idea of multiple meals per day ok? Am I measuring? I honestly think I was under feeding them all after reading the label more clearly but they are a bit overweight by a couple of pounds.

I am extremely overwhelmed because not only was the DX very sudden, it’s the immediate crisis mode condition that worries me. Pierre is very difficult to handle. He does not like to be crowded or picked up or even touched without his permission. I can bend down to pet him and if he’s willing to let that happen then that is when he’s very snuggly. He loves his ears rubbed and his nose/chin scratched. I’m honestly just scared because I have no idea how I’m going to do this.

I just tried and he wouldn’t calm. I know that he needs to be relaxed for the reading. I’ll try again in a little while. I ended up giving the treat.
Insulin is supposed to be in 2hrs.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_6303.jpeg
    IMG_6303.jpeg
    229.3 KB · Views: 74
  • IMG_6302.jpeg
    IMG_6302.jpeg
    273.7 KB · Views: 71
  • IMG_6301.jpeg
    IMG_6301.jpeg
    265.4 KB · Views: 68
It takes some time for both kitty and caregiver to get used to and become comfortable with testing and shooting. Do you have some low carb treats for Pierre? (I'm going to paste links below to a couple of LC treats that I give Jude--and I'm not sure what state/country you are in, so these might not work for you.) Are you using something to warm his ear? Some here use a baby sock filled with rice, microwaved for about 10 seconds (I use baby mittens filled with rice). Also, I don't use the lancet device because it scares Jude; I freehand with the lancet, and that works best for us. It's a process.

If hand-testing doesn't work for you and Pierre, there is also an option of getting a continuous glucose monitor, which is quite useful for fractious and skittish kitties. I'm going to tag @Staci & Ivy, who uses a CGM with Ivy, and she can give you all the details.

Regarding the chart information, it looks like the Purina is too high. Remember, though, those charts are using the guaranteed analysis numbers, which are an estimate of all values listed, so the carb value might be higher or lower. What you are getting is an estimate. The charts I mentioned earlier include the % of calories from carbs, which is a much more accurate number.

https://www.chewy.com/vital-essentials-chicken-hearts/dp/793646 (I purchase the "dog" package because it's cheaper)
https://www.chewy.com/orijen-original-grain-free-freeze/dp/56996
 
The er was going to place a freestyle libre but said it wasn’t even necessary to monitor. I fully admit that I wasn’t overly pleased with how the pick up went so I just let it go and decided to do my own research. Now I’m making it my job and of course it’s a lot in a short period of time. He’s been home 2 days and I’ve been gathering things. He has his follow up on Tuesday with his primary so I’ll be asking more questions.

I can try the rice trick. I was gently rubbing his ear but he wasn’t too happy with the forced interaction. I can pet him and scratch his ears but any kind of “holding” or “cornering” or pressure makes him run. We have a really hard time putting his monthly flea/tick drop on his neck. I have so many scars. I promise I’m gentle. I’m never grabby or scary. I’m using my best baby voice and sing songing his name.
When I took him in on Tuesday they actually cut his nails because he was so listless.. first time since we’ve had him. I bought the nail caps, I bought the hammock thing that you place them in and hang it so that they can’t move.. I even requested some anxiety meds. He will not take them. Not in a churu, not crushed, not on food.. not in tuna/salmon.. the one thing he’s on now, that I have to quarter.. when I say it is a SPECK of a pill.. like dust.. he flicked that thing off of his tongue too. I wish they would have placed the monitor. Especially since he was already DKA. They went from “we’ll place it for 14 days” to “eh monitoring isn’t even necessary” in less than 10 minutes. I don’t know why. He must have been on deaths door on Tuesday because I was holding him like a baby and he didn’t budge. I shaved him! And he didn’t budge. They clipped nails with no meds. I had him on the vet counter. This is the cat we have to wrap in a blanket to even get him in the carrier to the vet and they weigh him IN the carrier.. 🥴

Ok. Sorry. I’m sure I’ll look back at this and think I was losing it. I am. I’m absolutely in spiral mode. I’m going to step away for a bit to gather myself. I’ll check back later tonight or tomorrow.
 
Hello and welcome, you have been through a lot!

The syringes you got are just fine, we typically use syringes instead of pen needles because we make changes in dose by more than 1 unit at a time, more like 0.5 units at a time.

Some tips for home testing here: Hometesting Links and Tips Lots of helpful videos as well as the tips. Treats are an essential tool. I was the same as you, overwhelmed. But once Neko figured out testing = treats, she happily followed me when I picked up the test kit.

What type of blood glucose monitor are you using? We tend to recommend human BG (blood glucose) monitors with cheap test strips, as that's what you'll go through the most.

You don't need to rush a food transition, it is most important that he get calories in at this point. Too fast a food switch can also cause a tummy upset. I see he's been sent home with mirtazapine. There is a format call Mirataz which is a gel you rub in the ear that is a bit gentler, as well as easier to give since you said he likes his ears rubbed. Just something to keep in mine if the pilling becomes a challenge.

Another point regarding feeding, most cats with DKA are nauseous. It is important to get an anti-nausea medication like ondansetron or Cerenia. I prefer ondansetron. Your vet needs to write a prescription for it that you take into any human pharmacy. Cerenia you can get from the vet.
 
Hello and welcome, you have been through a lot!

The syringes you got are just fine, we typically use syringes instead of pen needles because we make changes in dose by more than 1 unit at a time, more like 0.5 units at a time.

Some tips for home testing here: Hometesting Links and Tips Lots of helpful videos as well as the tips. Treats are an essential tool. I was the same as you, overwhelmed. But once Neko figured out testing = treats, she happily followed me when I picked up the test kit.

What type of blood glucose monitor are you using? We tend to recommend human BG (blood glucose) monitors with cheap test strips, as that's what you'll go through the most.

You don't need to rush a food transition, it is most important that he get calories in at this point. Too fast a food switch can also cause a tummy upset. I see he's been sent home with mirtazapine. There is a format call Mirataz which is a gel you rub in the ear that is a bit gentler, as well as easier to give since you said he likes his ears rubbed. Just something to keep in mine if the pilling becomes a challenge.

Another point regarding feeding, most cats with DKA are nauseous. It is important to get an anti-nausea medication like ondansetron or Cerenia. I prefer ondansetron. Your vet needs to write a prescription for it that you take into any human pharmacy. Cerenia you can get from the vet.
ReliOn classic. They don’t usually have any issues with food. If they are picky, it’s about flavors. Yeah the er found the pen but I’m taking the dose into the syringe myself from the pen. I’ll be asking for those things on Tuesday during our follow up. Thank you for your reply.
 
It takes some time for both kitty and caregiver to get used to and become comfortable with testing and shooting. Do you have some low carb treats for Pierre? (I'm going to paste links below to a couple of LC treats that I give Jude--and I'm not sure what state/country you are in, so these might not work for you.) Are you using something to warm his ear? Some here use a baby sock filled with rice, microwaved for about 10 seconds (I use baby mittens filled with rice). Also, I don't use the lancet device because it scares Jude; I freehand with the lancet, and that works best for us. It's a process.

If hand-testing doesn't work for you and Pierre, there is also an option of getting a continuous glucose monitor, which is quite useful for fractious and skittish kitties. I'm going to tag @Staci & Ivy, who uses a CGM with Ivy, and she can give you all the details.

Regarding the chart information, it looks like the Purina is too high. Remember, though, those charts are using the guaranteed analysis numbers, which are an estimate of all values listed, so the carb value might be higher or lower. What you are getting is an estimate. The charts I mentioned earlier include the % of calories from carbs, which is a much more accurate number.

https://www.chewy.com/vital-essentials-chicken-hearts/dp/793646 (I purchase the "dog" package because it's cheaper)
https://www.chewy.com/orijen-original-grain-free-freeze/dp/56996
This is helpful. I appreciate it. I decided to do a test run with the lancet alone and it worked. It was after he ate (1 hr) so I’m sure that wasn’t the best time but I needed to at least try. The reading was 397. I’ll be doing it that way from now on. Thank you
 
This is helpful. I appreciate it. I decided to do a test run with the lancet alone and it worked. It was after he ate (1 hr) so I’m sure that wasn’t the best time but I needed to at least try. The reading was 397. I’ll be doing it that way from now on. Thank you
Oh, that’s so great that you got a test!!! Brava!!!! Go ahead and add that number to your spreadsheet. Put it in the PMPS slot for today (start adding your dates on the left). Lots of positive reinforcement with the tests are key as you begin.
 
Well done on your first test! Lots of people here use the Relion Classic. Some people use their syringes too.
 
When ever you have a chance can you add Relion Meter and DKA and the date it happened. Just tap on your name up top then tap on signature add add it. Sending prayers that Pierre feels better soon 🤗
Can you add the BG 397 to your spreadsheet tomorrow

The AMPS means the first test in the morning , withhold feeding 2 hours prior to testing so it's not food influenced You would put that number in the AMPS cell that means AM pre shot
If you test him 2 hours later after giving insulin that BG number goes in the +2 cell
and so on

Same thing with PMPS withold feeding 2 hours before that test then test and put that BG # in the PMPS cell if you test 3 hours after giving insulin that goes in the +3 cell and so on

The U column means how many units of insulin you are giving

Here is some more information on freeze dried treats

Click on this link and look at post #6. Numbers are to the right
You can get any freeze dried treats ,information is there
? - Brand New, Many Questions :3

Freeze dried treats that only contain one ingredient (the meat or fish) is zero carb and fine to feed to a diabetes
 
Well done on your first test! Lots of people here use the Relion Classic. Some people use their syringes too.
thank you. this is helpful because the syringes are difficult to find. I have to order through the vet and since he has to be seen tomorrow before they will approve the request, I'm not sure what I'll do since I only have 3 more at this point.
 
When ever you have a chance can you add Relion Meter and DKA and the date it happened. Just tap on your name up top then tap on signature add add it. Sending prayers that Pierre feels better soon 🤗
Can you add the BG 397 to your spreadsheet tomorrow

The AMPS means the first test in the morning , withhold feeding 2 hours prior to testing so it's not food influenced You would put that number in the AMPS cell that means AM pre shot
If you test him 2 hours later after giving insulin that BG number goes in the +2 cell
and so on

Same thing with PMPS withold feeding 2 hours before that test then test and put that BG # in the PMPS cell if you test 3 hours after giving insulin that goes in the +3 cell and so on

The U column means how many units of insulin you are giving

Here is some more information on freeze dried treats

Click on this link and look at post #6. Numbers are to the right
You can get any freeze dried treats ,information is there
? - Brand New, Many Questions :3

Freeze dried treats that only contain one ingredient (the meat or fish) is zero carb and fine to feed to a diabetes
i will be grabbing some of those treats today. i actually did purchase the minnows at one point and the dog ended up eating them. cats were not fans. ill go with what you suggested.

i did the signature and spreadsheet. i added notes. i really appreciate the help, like a lot.
i have bloodwork results from that first day, when i click on the labs tab i see some info prefilled...can i change the numbers to add my own? or are those reference numbers?
 
I have bloodwork results from that first day, when i click on the labs tab i see some info prefilled...can i change the numbers to add my own? or are those reference numbers?
Yes those are just are just the reference ranges. You would fill in Pierre's numbers to the right. Put the date up top too. If you have to add any other blood work that you don't see listed you can type it in ,add the ranges you have on his blood work and then enter it
@PierreW
 
Last edited:
the syringes are difficult to find. I have to order through the vet and since he has to be seen tomorrow before they will approve the request, I'm not sure what I'll do since I only have 3 more at this point.
@PierreW

Can I ask why are they difficult to find ?
What request does your vet have to approve?

You are using Glargine, correct ?
We use these with the half unit markings because it makes it easier to increase or decrease by 0.25 units at a time
You can get them from Amazon without a vets script for U-100 syringes for Lantus
half unit markings without a vets script
Amazon.com: UltiCare VetRx U-100 Pet Insulin Syringes, Comfortable & Accurate Dosing of Insulin for Pets, Compatible w/Any U-100 Strength Insulin, Size: 3/10cc, 31G x 5/16’’, w/Half Unit Markings, 60 ct Box : Health & Household


I see you said above you are using
Needles are: U-100 UltiCare VetRx Insulin Syringes
3/10 mL - 29G x 12.7mm
Do these have half unit markings?

Also did you give insulin on 8-24 for the PM shot, and on 8-23 did you give any insulin, I see in the remarks section it says you did, if so can you fill that in on your spreadsheet also

Here is a pic of the half unit markings on the syringes
1756136843016.jpeg
 
Last edited:
Are you in the US or another country?

If you're in the US, you can buy syringes from Amazon without a prescription. Other web sites may also sell syringes without a prescription or requiring a vet's phone number but it depends on what your state law is.

You can use any brand of insulin syringes as long as they are U100. 3/10cc with half unit markings is best for cats. Needle length and gauge is preference but most people use 5/16 inch 30 or 31 gauge. Relion has a line of syringes that is affordable.

upload_2024-4-22_23-37-23-jpeg.69946
 
@PierreW

Can I ask why are they difficult to find ?
What request does your vet have to approve?

You are using Glargine, correct ?
We use these with the half unit markings because it makes it easier to increase or decrease by 0.25 units at a time
You can get them from Amazon without a vets script for U-100 syringes for Lantus
half unit markings without a vets script
Amazon.com: UltiCare VetRx U-100 Pet Insulin Syringes, Comfortable & Accurate Dosing of Insulin for Pets, Compatible w/Any U-100 Strength Insulin, Size: 3/10cc, 31G x 5/16’’, w/Half Unit Markings, 60 ct Box : Health & Household


I see you said above you are using
Needles are: U-100 UltiCare VetRx Insulin Syringes
3/10 mL - 29G x 12.7mm
Do these have half unit markings?

Also did you give insulin on 8-24 for the PM shot, and on 8-23 did you give any insulin, I see in the remarks section it says you did, if so can you fill that in on your spreadsheet also

Here is a pic of the half unit markings on the syringes
View attachment 73849
Yes they have half markings.

the vet did say that some people purchase from amazon but was cautious to suggest amazon as a reputable source. on the pharmacy side of amazon, they also require a Rx.

the primary vet where i get the animals' flea/tick meds has the option to purchase through them, but in order for them to approve my order they have to see him for this follow up first and then it should be a continuing approval.

on the day that i went to get pierre from the vet er we both called around to many pharmacies to find the syringes but we could not find a local pharmacy that carried them. they happened to have enough to get me through to this follow up tomorrow. unfortunately, my primary vet also does not carry them on site either.

honestly that day, as mentioned in my first post, was chaos. i went from thinking he might not come home at all to a call that said "what pharmacy do you use?" (im thinking they are filling the insulin..when in reality they were calling around to find syringes...i wasnt aware of this until 3 phone calls in to different pharmacies. by the 3rd call i was made aware that im only requesting syringes. i suggested amazon and thats when i was told "Eh..maybe as a last resort"..the entire er situation/communication was extremely frustrating. and then i was sent home with bascially zero direction.

i did find out that the records were given to my primary vet just this morning so ill have the results from his stay there by tomorrow morning.

i joined this group after feeling like they were making this out to be not a big deal when what i know of diabetes is that its a process. so after reading, i started to gather supplies.

the er vet gave me the glargine pen, no needle attachment. i pull the dose directly from the pen. 2units

i gave him insulin on both days at 9a and 9p. which block would that be? it wasnt timed around food etc and no bg test was done prior since i was waiting for my meter to arrive.

today is his 3rd day home from the vet er. hes been given 5 doses by myself since arriving home. tested only twice.

sorry if i havent been clear. im typing things that i have no idea what they mean currently. with the DKA accompanying the original diagnosis i definitely feel like im currently doing a disservice to pierre because im going through the motions blindly. injecting when i have no idea what his bg is. im working through figuring out how much food to feed.
 
Last edited:
Hello, M!

Welcome to the forum! You've offered a great explanation of what has been happening with your dear Pierre. And let me say how sorry I am for how confusing and anxiety-provoking this entire experience must have been for you (at least that's what it sounds like in your report).

An experienced person is going to be stopping by with advice soon. In the interim, here is what you can begin doing to get things set up for yourself and Pierre. Read through this sticky: Sticky - New? How You Can Help Us Help You!.

Also, when you get a chance, please complete your signature, and you're going to link your spreadsheet that you've set up on the last line of the signature.

Have you started testing yet? If so, you'll want to add the information (test numbers) to the spreadsheet so that we can see where his numbers are.

I'm not sure the carb value of fancy feast creamy delights chicken feast pate. I've checked Dr. Lisa's chart, but it's not listed on there, and I'm assuming that is because it's a newer flavor (her list is a bit dated). I've also looked on Andrew Hall's list, but it's not listed there either. I suspect, though, that the carb value is likely too high for Pierre. If you want to feed a Fancy Feast flavor (which many of us do), try to stick with the Classic Pates. Low carb foods are typically those under 10% carbs. Many of the FF Classic Pate flavors are listed on Dr. Lisa's chart: here and on Andrew Hall's list, which is focused on cat's with CKD, but he offers the % of calories from carbs (third column): here.

What size/type syringes are you using?

This is an index of some of the health links we have on the forum: Sticky - INDEX: Health Links/FAQs

The fancy feast creamy delights chicken feast pate is 13% in dry mater, which is considered medium carb, you can always find the carbs of any food flavor not on the list thru Chewy.com, find the food, click on the can scroll down to ingredients and below you will find the chart to use on the calculator
(link below) :cat::cat:
Cat Food Nutrition Calculator | Elizabeth C Scheyder
 
Can you please add what food you are feeding Pierre in your signature please
@PierreW
Most feed Fancy Feast Classic Pates or Friskies . Most feed 6% carbs and under
Are you feeding any dry food?
Here is the food chart



https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-

Also
For your hypo kit in case you have to bring his BG numbers up if he drops to low
Just wanted you to know on Dr Pierson's food chart

the Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Beef Feast In Roasted Beef Flavor Gravy (which. Dr Pierson’s list says is 20%
Comes back with 14%

These are correct for med carbs
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs



Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

You can even look at the Friskies for high carbs and med carbs, or any other food
So buy a few cans of each
Good idea to mark the cans with a marker


https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-

10% and under is low carb
11% -15 is medium carbs.

16- 24 is high carb.
 
Are you in the US or another country?

If you're in the US, you can buy syringes from Amazon without a prescription. Other web sites may also sell syringes without a prescription or requiring a vet's phone number but it depends on what your state law is.

You can use any brand of insulin syringes as long as they are U100. 3/10cc with half unit markings is best for cats. Needle length and gauge is preference but most people use 5/16 inch 30 or 31 gauge. Relion has a line of syringes that is affordable.

upload_2024-4-22_23-37-23-jpeg.69946
yes im in the us. i will see if walmart/walgreens carries these. thank you.
 
not seeing these online as an option locally. i did to a google/shopping/near me search on friday and came up empty. ill see what the primary vet says tomorrow.
 
Well you can buy from a store pharmacy. Any pharmacy will have syringes stocked and can order in what you need. The vet can just write you the prescription and you can take it wherever you want. I don't think you can order syringes online from the big chain pharmacies.

You can order from Chewy.com's pharmacy. They may want you to provide the vet's phone number so they can confirm the prescription. I think Chewy may have a somewhat limited selection of syringes.

I order from American Diabetes Warehouse.com I don't need a prescription to buy online but people in other states may need one. You can contact them to check if you need one Contact ADW Diabetes® | Diabetic Online Supply | Learn More
 
Well you can buy from a store pharmacy. Any pharmacy will have syringes stocked and can order in what you need. The vet can just write you the prescription and you can take it wherever you want. I don't think you can order syringes online from the big chain pharmacies.

You can order from Chewy.com's pharmacy. They may want you to provide the vet's phone number so they can confirm the prescription. I think Chewy may have a somewhat limited selection of syringes.

I order from American Diabetes Warehouse.com I don't need a prescription to buy online but people in other states may need one. You can contact them to check if you need one Contact ADW Diabetes® | Diabetic Online Supply | Learn More
sorry if i wasnt clear. we made a lot of calls to local pharmacies, and they do not carry those syringes. i will absolutely be ordering from online. i didnt want to purchase the incorrect ones. i do not have a rx currently because the er vet gave me the "hold me over" pens/ syringes until my follow up. it was supposed to be within 48 hrs but with that being sunday and my vet not being open on monday, tomorrow at 8a is when we will be seen. i believe they will go over the er results and write the continuing rx as well as (hopefully) give me their best idea on where to get more syringes while i wait for whatever i end up ordering to come in the mail. :)
 
I gave him insulin on both days at 9a and 9p. which block would that be? it wasnt timed around food etc and no bg test was done prior since i was waiting for my meter to arrive.
@PierreW
You would put that in the unit blocks
You also need to be testing more than just the pre shot yes s to see how his BG numbers are
For example get another test at +3 that means 3 hours vafter you gave the insulin you would vput the in the 3 block, another best @+6 ,came goes for the PMPS
Then you can mix up the test times on another day maybe get a +4 and a+7
Just try mixing them up
@PierreW

You might want to read all the yellow stickys here about Lantus/ Glargine
Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars


Also about the insulin
You can definitely get 5 pens of Lantus or the generic Glargine

You can Check
CVS, Rite Aid, Costco, Walgreen's, to get the price for 5 pens either Lantus or the generic Glargine , plenty of members use the generic
Just call around and see who has the cheapest price , it's really not that expensive
With the pens just keep them in the fridge middle shelf , they all have the expiration date on them .

Also
The 5 pens will last about a year, we use the pens just like a vial, you would just insert the syringe it the gray rubber stopper on the pen and draw out your insulin
Its generic lantus

If you use the Good Rx
GoodRX has a 1-800 number to assist you in using their services to get your pets prescriptions filled if the pharmacy gives you any issues.

I think I found it for you
GoodRx / Customer service

1 (855) 268-2822


GoodRx coupon.
https://www.goodrx.com/lantus?label...d-pens-of-100-units-ml&quantity=1&slug=lantus
Make sure that the Match your prescription pull down menu says generic glargine 1 carton of 5 3ml pens.


Also
A membersaid she followed this prescription info exactly and it worked perfectly. Hope this helps!
Then go to the Lantus site to generate the coupon as in second image.
upload_2023-12-1_6-57-52-png.68163







upload_2023-12-1_6-59-16-png.68164




Found this also posted by another member
finally got the pharmacy to honor the 5 pens for $35 coupon. I had my vet write the prescription as 8 to 25 units twice a day and that seemed to do the trick.
 
Last edited:
UltiCare Vet Rx are veterinary syringes. No Human pharmacy sells them so that is why you can't find a pharmacy that sells them.

You can use any Human diabetic U100 syringes. Just be sure to get the 3/10cc ones with half unit markings.
 
You would put that in the unit blocks
@PierreW

You might want to read all the yellow stickys here about Lantus/ Glargine
Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars


Also about the insulin
You can definitely get 5 pens of Lantus or the generic Glargine

You can Check
CVS, Rite Aid, Costco, Walgreen's, to get the price for 5 pens either Lantus or the generic Glargine , plenty of members use the generic
Just call around and see who has the cheapest price , it's really not that expensive
With the pens just keep them in the fridge middle shelf , they all have the expiration date on them .

Also
The 5 pens will last about a year, we use the pens just like a vial, you would just insert the syringe it the gray rubber stopper on the pen and draw out your insulin
Its generic lantus

If you use the Good Rx
GoodRX has a 1-800 number to assist you in using their services to get your pets prescriptions filled if the pharmacy gives you any issues.

I think I found it for you
GoodRx / Customer service

1 (855) 268-2822


GoodRx coupon.
https://www.goodrx.com/lantus?label...d-pens-of-100-units-ml&quantity=1&slug=lantus
Make sure that the Match your prescription pull down menu says generic glargine 1 carton of 5 3ml pens.


Also
A membersaid she followed this prescription info exactly and it worked perfectly. Hope this helps!
Then go to the Lantus site to generate the coupon as in second image.
upload_2023-12-1_6-57-52-png.68163







upload_2023-12-1_6-59-16-png.68164




Found this also posted by another member
finally got the pharmacy to honor the 5 pens for $35 coupon. I had my vet write the prescription as 8 to 25 units twice a day and that seemed to do the trick.

@PierreW
You would put that in the unit blocks
You also need to be testing more than just the pre shot yes s to see how his BG numbers are
For example get another test at +3 that means 3 hours vafter you gave the insulin you would vput the in the 3 block, another best @+6 ,came goes for the PMPS
Then you can mix up the test times on another day maybe get a +4 and a+7
Just try mixing them up
@PierreW

You might want to read all the yellow stickys here about Lantus/ Glargine
Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars


Also about the insulin
You can definitely get 5 pens of Lantus or the generic Glargine

You can Check
CVS, Rite Aid, Costco, Walgreen's, to get the price for 5 pens either Lantus or the generic Glargine , plenty of members use the generic
Just call around and see who has the cheapest price , it's really not that expensive
With the pens just keep them in the fridge middle shelf , they all have the expiration date on them .

Also
The 5 pens will last about a year, we use the pens just like a vial, you would just insert the syringe it the gray rubber stopper on the pen and draw out your insulin
Its generic lantus

If you use the Good Rx
GoodRX has a 1-800 number to assist you in using their services to get your pets prescriptions filled if the pharmacy gives you any issues.

I think I found it for you
GoodRx / Customer service

1 (855) 268-2822


GoodRx coupon.
https://www.goodrx.com/lantus?label...d-pens-of-100-units-ml&quantity=1&slug=lantus
Make sure that the Match your prescription pull down menu says generic glargine 1 carton of 5 3ml pens.


Also
A membersaid she followed this prescription info exactly and it worked perfectly. Hope this helps!
Then go to the Lantus site to generate the coupon as in second image.
upload_2023-12-1_6-57-52-png.68163







upload_2023-12-1_6-59-16-png.68164




Found this also posted by another member
finally got the pharmacy to honor the 5 pens for $35 coupon. I had my vet write the prescription as 8 to 25 units twice a day and that seemed to do the trick.
I will read.

I'm not sure if my vet will be prescribing the pen going forward. I have the pen now because that's what the ER vet had available. I'm sure the pen will be something I can find locally. the pen that the ER vet gave me did not come with the syringe attachment. when I remove the cap, it has the grey rubber stopper. that's why there was a lot of confusion when I received the call asking who my pharmacy is. I was assuming they were looking for the insulin. wrong, they were looking for who might carry the syringe and after many calls to many pharmacies we could find nothing locally. I even messaged my primary vet and they do not carry them on site. I'm going to ask again tomorrow, I will hopefully be leaving with a rx and hopefully also have some answers for syringes locally. I do plan on using goodrx etc to find the best deal.

if you want to get a further idea on how frustrating this situation is, the ER vet said that I do not have to refrigerate anything. not even the meds from the original primary vet visit. once I started to do my reach further I noticed that this advice is likely very wrong. I mean my kids have been on amoxil before, it goes in the fridge. I have heard horror stories about insulin falling from the fridge and shattering etc...the entire situation was and is overwhelming and I'm doing my best to figure it all out.
 
UltiCare Vet Rx are veterinary syringes. No Human pharmacy sells them so that is why you can't find a pharmacy that sells them.

You can use any Human diabetic U100 syringes. Just be sure to get the 3/10cc ones with half unit markings.
this is correct. when I offered to the vet ER to call around myself. she said "ask if they have either u-100 OR 3/10 OR 12.7mm... at this point I have no idea what I'm really asking for (syringe/something having to do with the insulin directly...etc) so I'm saying the words and the pharmacist at a Publix says "we don't have that, no one is going to have that if you don't know what you're asking for"..so I did the search through my online Rx and that's where I found that specific one.
when I say I know nothing, I mean exactly that. I'm 3 days in and I feel like I was handed a cat with a life threatening emergency and zero instructions. like "here's a medication, inject it into his back twice a day, good luck"...when in reality I know nothing but I know enough to know that they are likely wrong. well, here I am day 2 into the online world and obviously its a lot more than "twice a day. nothing else"... I feel like complete crap going into this blindly. I absolutely will be testing him more often. I just tried to about 30 minutes ago and he wouldn't have it. he ran and hid. so now, he's not eating or being tested. he's not food motivated and he doesn't care about snacks, and thats especially when he's being is typical pissy Pierre self. this cat didn't have a name for a good month when we adopted him.. picky/pissy Pierre became a thing once we recognized how snobby he can be.

we adopted another cat at the same time. a younger medically complex cat who was used to being manhandled for eye care. he is food motivated. hell climb right into my lap while I'm trying to coax Pierre and not move until he gets the treat. I can pick him up and carry him like a baby. Pierre is an old crotchety man who would eat breakfast and then go sleep under a bed or in a closet until dinner time almost every day since we got him. he'd come out overnight to play sometimes. I appreciate the reply. I'm reading through everything.
 
yes im in the us. i will see if walmart/walgreens carries these. thank you.
Just an FYI, Walmart doesn't carry the 8mm length needle on the syringe in this photo of their Reli On Brand (but they do carry the 6mm needle, it's shorter).
I used to use the 8mm length but had to switch to 6mm and I have gotten used to it.
They are 1/2 unit markings and very reasonably priced (I believe under $13 for a box of 100 syringes).
 
I will read.

I'm not sure if my vet will be prescribing the pen going forward. I have the pen now because that's what the ER vet had available. I'm sure the pen will be something I can find locally. the pen that the ER vet gave me did not come with the syringe attachment. when I remove the cap, it has the grey rubber stopper. that's why there was a lot of confusion when I received the call asking who my pharmacy is. I was assuming they were looking for the insulin. wrong, they were looking for who might carry the syringe and after many calls to many pharmacies we could find nothing locally. I even messaged my primary vet and they do not carry them on site. I'm going to ask again tomorrow, I will hopefully be leaving with a rx and hopefully also have some answers for syringes locally. I do plan on using goodrx etc to find the best deal.

if you want to get a further idea on how frustrating this situation is, the ER vet said that I do not have to refrigerate anything. not even the meds from the original primary vet visit. once I started to do my reach further I noticed that this advice is likely very wrong. I mean my kids have been on amoxil before, it goes in the fridge. I have heard horror stories about insulin falling from the fridge and shattering etc...the entire situation was and is overwhelming and I'm doing my best to figure it all out.
Hi M, you're doing an amazing job with all you have been handed. Pierre is so very lucky to have you.
I'm sorry to read that it's been such a rough time. Hoping things will get better once you get settled with all of the supplies you will need.

You are correct that the insulin needs to be refrigerated. With humans, they will use larger amounts for dosing, thus will go through a pen within the 28 days it says on the box.
With cats, we use small quantities for dosing, so the insulin lasts longer and needs to be refrigerated. You were right on it!

I like using the pens ( as I was always afraid of dropping a vial and having it break). So a pen is smaller quantity and if one broke, I would just get another one from my box of 5 (how they are sold).
There are neoprene insulin bottle protectors you can purchase also, in case you wanted to use a vial.

I saw Mary tagged me to let you know about using a Freestyle Libre CGM (if that's something you may want to consider). My cat, Ivy wears one all the time and if her glucose goes too low I check with an ear test using a human glucometer.

Here is a link for much more detailed information on using a Libre, please let me know if you have any questions.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...ucose-monitors-cgms-for-diabetic-cats.301950/

Freestyle Libre CGM Abbott Coupon $19.99 Each!!! Please Read

Wishing you and Pierre lots of good luck and we look forward to helping you both around here 😻
 
I will read.

I'm not sure if my vet will be prescribing the pen going forward. I have the pen now because that's what the ER vet had available. I'm sure the pen will be something I can find locally. the pen that the ER vet gave me did not come with the syringe attachment. when I remove the cap, it has the grey rubber stopper. that's why there was a lot of confusion when I received the call asking who my pharmacy is. I was assuming they were looking for the insulin. wrong, they were looking for who might carry the syringe and after many calls to many pharmacies we could find nothing locally. I even messaged my primary vet and they do not carry them on site. I'm going to ask again tomorrow, I will hopefully be leaving with a rx and hopefully also have some answers for syringes locally. I do plan on using goodrx etc to find the best deal.

if you want to get a further idea on how frustrating this situation is, the ER vet said that I do not have to refrigerate anything. not even the meds from the original primary vet visit. once I started to do my reach further I noticed that this advice is likely very wrong. I mean my kids have been on amoxil before, it goes in the fridge. I have heard horror stories about insulin falling from the fridge and shattering etc...the entire situation was and is overwhelming and I'm doing my best to figure it all out.
You do not want to use the the syringe or whatever you call it that attached to the pen because you can only adjust the dose by full units, that's why we buy the syringes with the half unit markings

You definitely want to keep the insulin in the fridge middle shelf


Just take the cap off the pen or cartridge and use a U100 syringes and pull the insulin out of the pen! You will see a small gray rubber stopper, insert the syringe there
syringe-in-pen-pic-jpg.45006

@PierreW
 
Hi M, you're doing an amazing job with all you have been handed. Pierre is so very lucky to have you.
I'm sorry to read that it's been such a rough time. Hoping things will get better once you get settled with all of the supplies you will need.

You are correct that the insulin needs to be refrigerated. With humans, they will use larger amounts for dosing, thus will go through a pen within the 28 days it says on the box.
With cats, we use small quantities for dosing, so the insulin lasts longer and needs to be refrigerated. You were right on it!

I like using the pens ( as I was always afraid of dropping a vial and having it break). So a pen is smaller quantity and if one broke, I would just get another one from my box of 5 (how they are sold).
There are neoprene insulin bottle protectors you can purchase also, in case you wanted to use a vial.

I saw Mary tagged me to let you know about using a Freestyle Libre CGM (if that's something you may want to consider). My cat, Ivy wears one all the time and if her glucose goes too low I check with an ear test using a human glucometer.

Here is a link for much more detailed information on using a Libre, please let me know if you have any questions.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...ucose-monitors-cgms-for-diabetic-cats.301950/

Freestyle Libre CGM Abbott Coupon $19.99 Each!!! Please Read

Wishing you and Pierre lots of good luck and we look forward to helping you both around here 😻
I appreciate it! I am definitely going to ask about the libre since he's so darn impossible. if later down the line he manages all of this better then we can reevaluate
. I think I'll have to push for it though since both vets seem to think that its not typical/standard to use on animals and aside from that, its not even necessary to monitor at all! ha.
 
*******UPDATE BG 156******

ok so following the advice i was able to sit with him for a bit until he was comfy. i was able to do the PMPS *random* test and it was 156. i added it to the spreadsheet. hell eat in about an hour but i could probably hold off for a bit if i needed to.... when should i test again after that feeding? am i waiting for something specific to happen? should the insulin shot at any point align with a feeding or bg test, (i know i can give the shot after they eat but that shot comes at 9p so they will definitely be looking for something prior to that)? his next shot should be in about 4 hrs. i feel like this has probably been said 10 times already but my brain is in overload mode.
 
Last edited:
ok so following the advice i was able to sit with him for a bit until he was comfy. i was able to do the PMPS test and it was 156. i added it to the spreadsheet. hell eat in about an hour but i could probably hold off for a bit if i needed to.... when should i test again after that feeding? am i waiting for something specific to happen? should the insulin shot at any point align with a feeding or bg test, (i know i can give the shot after they eat but that shot comes at 9p so they will definitely be looking for something prior to that)? his next shot should be in about 4 hrs. i feel like this has probably been said 10 times already but my brain is in overload mode.
He’s just adorable!!
 
ok so following the advice i was able to sit with him for a bit until he was comfy. i was able to do the PMPS test and it was 156. i added it to the spreadsheet. hell eat in about an hour but i could probably hold off for a bit if i needed to.... when should i test again after that feeding? am i waiting for something specific to happen? should the insulin shot at any point align with a feeding or bg test, (i know i can give the shot after they eat but that shot comes at 9p so they will definitely be looking for something prior to that)? his next shot should be in about 4 hrs. i feel like this has probably been said 10 times already but my brain is in overload mode.
Tagging some experienced members of you should shoot or not since Pierre gives you a hard time testing him and you are new at this
@tiffmaxee
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)


[USER=5773]@Wendy&Neko


@PierreW
I'm confused you said your shooting times are 9 AM and 9PM
How could you have done his PMPS now ?
What time is it where you live ?

Ok I just re read what you said. Your PMPS test should be at 9 PM so wondering why you did it now ?
 
Last edited:
@PierreW
I added this to my post above so I don't know if you saw this
I'm confused you said your shooting times are 9 AM and 9PM
How could you have done his PMPS now ?
What time is it where you live ?

Ok I just re read what you said. Your PMPS test should be at 9 PM so wondering why you did it now

Also I looked at your labs you should not have gotten rid of the reference ranges that were there , you should have left them and entered Pierre's numbers to the right of the ranges and put the date up top
 
Tagging some experienced members of you should shoot or not since Pierre gives you a hard time testing him and you are new at this
@tiffmaxee
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)


[USER=5773]@Wendy&Neko


@PierreW
I'm confused you said your shooting times are 9 AM and 9PM
How could you have done his PMPS now ?
What time is it where you live ?

Ok I just re read what you said. Your PMPS test should be at 9 PM so wondering why you did it now ?
youre right. im learning the terminology and where to place numbers on the SS. i was going off of some advice from earlier to get some extra readings and as i counted up it ended up being 7 hours since the last time i tested and also the shot. i need my hand held and to be talked to like a 5 year old 😢
 
youre right. im learning the terminology and where to place numbers on the SS. i was going off of some advice from earlier to get some extra readings and as i counted up it ended up being 7 hours since the last time i tested and also the shot. i need my hand held and to be talked to like a 5 year old 😢
So when did you get that 156 BG?
Was it 7 hours after giving him his AM insulin , or 8 hours after
@PierreW
 
Also I looked at your labs you should not have gotten rid of the reference ranges that were there , you should have left them and entered Pierre's numbers to the right of the ranges and put the date up top

Take a look at my Tyler's labs and you will see what I'm talking about
@PierreW
 
Back
Top