Pic 10/3 Yosh amps 460 +2.5 455 pmps 395 strip keytones?

It's really difficult to label his higher numbers as bounces until you can actually catch him going really low. Bounces are usually in response to a much lower number than he's used to. Is there any way you can get more tests mid-cycle?
 
It's really difficult to label his higher numbers as bounces until you can actually catch him going really low. Bounces are usually in response to a much lower number than he's used to. Is there any way you can get more tests mid-cycle?
I work all day, and I have to sleep at some point for wk the next day. I thought I was doing well by getting a before test and or a +4 or 6 at night? Am I doing something wrong? Can they drop drastically after +4? I tested +4 last night and it was pink. I really feel like I am doing something terribly wrong and I just want to CRY!!!!!!! This is such an awful feeling!!!

I am off Friday-Sunday so I will try more tests when I can. His ears are torn and all poked up. It's so sad.
 
I work all day, and I have to sleep at some point for wk the next day. I thought I was doing well by getting a before test and or a +4 or 6 at night? Am I doing something wrong? Can they drop drastically after +4? I tested +4 last night and it was pink. I really feel like I am doing something terribly wrong and I just want to CRY!!!!!!! This is such an awful feeling!!!

I am off Friday-Sunday so I will try more tests when I can. His ears are torn and all poked up. It's so sad.

Getting more tests on Friday, Sat and Sunday will tell the tale...you'll be able to see what impact the insulin is having on him. It's just so very hard to tell without those mid-cycle tests. Please don't feel bad - at least you are helping Yoshi! Better some help than none at all! You're not doing anything wrong...but it is a sacrifice and sometimes we have to get up at night - when we're home - after all, it's the only time you can actually be home - and we pay the price by being sleep deprived the next day - I've been there done, that so many times...

Just keep doing the best you can...We'll know more after the weekend numbers get recorded :)
 
It's really difficult to label his higher numbers as bounces until you can actually catch him going really low. Bounces are usually in response to a much lower number than he's used to. Is there any way you can get more tests mid-cycle?
Also, if he's bouncing, doesn't it take a few cycles to clear? So say I test him at night often over the weekend, and he's still high. He could be still clearing a bounce and totally getting enough insulin, but then it "looks" like he needs more. It seems to be a never ending cycle.

I honestly don't know what to do anymore.

@Sue and Luci
 
@Wendy&Neko @MrWorfMen's Mom I am adding you to this because I would like your input when you get the time. Particularly about my question above, and if they can drop drastically after a +4 or 6. And what about those blues and yellows on a smaller dose? I am so confused.

Thank you all
 
Last edited:
The +4 will give you a good idea if he's going to go low, and I don't think he did last night. Good job lately getting those before bed tests.

In the few cycles after an increase, there can be the phenomenon we call New Dose Wonkiness, which is temporary higher numbers as the depot rebalances. Did you shoot 3.75 units this morning, the SS is blank.

Don't worry about the blues and yellows on a smaller dose. Insulin is a hormone, not a drug. It's not like you add a little bit of insulin and the numbers get correspondly a bit better. You keep increasing until you hit a fitting dose. We haven't seen the full effects of this dose yet, but I expect you aren't there yet. Neko saw her first greens on something like 3.5 units, but didn't get her first reduction until 8.75 units. Been there, felt your pain and confusion. :bighug:

As for Yoshi's ears, are you holding them for 20 seconds or so after the poke so a bruise dosen't form? Are you putting Neosporin on his ears after? What size gauge lancets are you using?
 
I think the same as Wendy on this one. I don’t interpret your data as a bounce, rather just that Yosh has been spending time in higher numbers. I think you did the right thing by increasing and now we just need to wait for the 3.75u depot to fill. Once it is full we will be able to see on the weekend when you do your next curve whether or not he needs another increase.

You’re not doing anything wrong! You’re doing awesome :D
 
The +4 will give you a good idea if he's going to go low, and I don't think he did last night. Good job lately getting those before bed tests.

In the few cycles after an increase, there can be the phenomenon we call New Dose Wonkiness, which is temporary higher numbers as the depot rebalances. Did you shoot 3.75 units this morning, the SS is blank.

Don't worry about the blues and yellows on a smaller dose. Insulin is a hormone, not a drug. It's not like you add a little bit of insulin and the numbers get correspondly a bit better. You keep increasing until you hit a fitting dose. We haven't seen the full effects of this dose yet, but I expect you aren't there yet. Neko saw her first greens on something like 3.5 units, but didn't get her first reduction until 8.75 units. Been there, felt your pain and confusion. :bighug:

As for Yoshi's ears, are you holding them for 20 seconds or so after the poke so a bruise dosen't form? Are you putting Neosporin on his ears after? What size gauge lancets are you using?
I just tested for keytones and I don’t know if he’s developing them? The color doesn’t really match
 
Strip
 

Attachments

  • CC504A90-239A-4C23-A500-EE71428CBBA0.jpeg
    CC504A90-239A-4C23-A500-EE71428CBBA0.jpeg
    49.5 KB · Views: 64
I think the same as Wendy on this one. I don’t interpret your data as a bounce, rather just that Yosh has been spending time in higher numbers. I think you did the right thing by increasing and now we just need to wait for the 3.75u depot to fill. Once it is full we will be able to see on the weekend when you do your next curve whether or not he needs another increase.

Can you look at my keytones strip I’m freaking out

You’re not doing anything wrong! You’re doing awesome :D
 
The ketone strips need to be read in a certain time frame (usually, 15 seconds). They tend to darken over time, so if you let it go for a while it will start to look more concerning than it probably is. The picture shows a fairly borderline results, at least, so I'd say just monitor closely for now.

If he's eating/drinking/acting normally, that's a really good sign.
 
The ketone strips need to be read in a certain time frame (usually, 15 seconds). They tend to darken over time, so if you let it go for a while it will start to look more concerning than it probably is. The picture shows a fairly borderline results, at least, so I'd say just monitor closely for now.

If he's eating/drinking/acting normally, that's a really good sign.
I think it was borderline so I freaked out. He’s really hungry. That is totally not a problem. I just gave him his shot
 
The strip is now lighter instead of darker like it normally is after you let it sit. I know that doesn’t matter. It was a weird grey unbeige color that I’m not used to after 15 seconds. I will monitor, but just a lesson that I will be more mindful of it now and test for them more often.

What happens if they develop them? I know the worst is hospitalization but can more insulin help reduce them when they are present?
 
I just tested 2 days ago for them and he was fine. I know that doesn’t matter either, but I have been testing for them. I’m just not marking it. I will update
 
That’s good then. The specific health issue associated with ketones is diabetic ketoacidosis The ‘recipe’ mentioned for DKA around here is infection +loss of appetite+ infection. But I don’t believe you have to have all symptoms for DKA to occur. I’ve heard lethargy too is a strong indicator something is seriously wrong when ketones are present. Again all things I’ve read but don’t really know a lot about:)

I’d say try and get some extra water into Yoshi by adding a bit to his food and to continue monitoring :)
 
The strip is now lighter instead of darker like it normally is after you let it sit. I know that doesn’t matter. It was a weird grey unbeige color that I’m not used to after 15 seconds. I will monitor, but just a lesson that I will be more mindful of it now and test for them more often.

What happens if they develop them? I know the worst is hospitalization but can more insulin help reduce them when they are present?
From a long term human diabetic, yes, more insulin will bring ketones down. Example is my BG level requires 3 units of fast acting insulin, but if ketones are present, I would take more.
However, I read something different here and hope someone with feline experience can give their answer!
And drinking water can help flush ketones.
 
His ears are torn and all poked up. It's so sad
From Testing and Shooting Tips http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/testing-and-shooting-tips.85113/

You can purchase Ledum 30C homeopathic remedy at any health food store. Dissolve one tablet in a small bottle of pure water and then apply one or two drops to each ear every day. Ledum is great for puncture wounds.

I checked online to see what this was and Google search showed vendors Amazon, Walmart etc. Might be worth a try for Yoshi's ears.
 
I think the same as Wendy on this one. I don’t interpret your data as a bounce, rather just that Yosh has been spending time in higher numbers. I think you did the right thing by increasing and now we just need to wait for the 3.75u depot to fill. Once it is full we will be able to see on the weekend when you do your next curve whether or not he needs another increase.

You’re not doing anything wrong! You’re doing awesome :D

I don’t get why other members are told their cat is bouncing (and dime aren’t testing much at night) and I’m not told that. He had a yellow that he could still be recovering from.

I will see what is going on this weekend. I am so frustrated all I want to do is cry. And my birthday is coming up
 
Back
Top