Phoebe's Rebound pt. 38

Status
Not open for further replies.
Eric, I think you have enough data to show that she needs a bit more still. How would you feel about trying 2.25u sometime this weekend? Is there a cycle you can monitor? You wouldn’t need to do a full curve, just a couple of tests around the nadir time. Do you feel okay with that?
 
What a lovely cycle last night! That 464 this morning is a combination of going lower than she's used to last night (although still very safe), and not quite having enough insulin that cycle because of the reduction. One thing you could consider trying is keeping the dose the same when you get a lower PS like you did last night. She may have hit a higher green, or she might have given similar numbers to what you saw, but with a little better duration. And of course, there is the chance that she might have flirted with some lower numbers. That's where the monitoring comes in. You're doing a great job of getting in those extra tests, so if she does start to dive a bit, you'll know and you can give her some extra food and keep her surfing along in safe territory.

It can be a little scary to shoot on lower-than-normal numbers, but that's how you start to bring the PS numbers down overall. Figuring out if Phoebe is going to surf or dive is going to take some trial and error - trying the regular dose, seeing what she does, and then using that information for next time.

At this point, I would lower the dose if she gave you a blue PS just because that's so far different from her typical numbers, but if she's yellow, and you're going to be around, I would try sticking with the regular dose and see what happens. If she gives you a 203 and you're heading out the door for work, then lowering to 2u is probably the best way to go (at this point) since you wont' be there to monitor her.
 
So yesterday when Phoebe was 203 @ PMPS you would of shot her with 2.25u instead of 2u? I was going to keep her at 2.25u but when I posed that question Djamilia no one was to be found. So I shot her at 2u and Kris said that was fine.
 
20180505_171303(0).jpg
Phoebe yesterday wanting her dinner...
 
So yesterday when Phoebe was 203 @ PMPS you would of shot her with 2.25u instead of 2u? I was going to keep her at 2.25u but when I posed that question Djamilia no one was to be found. So I shot her at 2u and Kris said that was fine.
Hi, Eric. I was coming at it from the point of view of you not having a lot of experience shooting a very low yellow. I wasn't sure whether you'd be up to test around nadir so I thought the 2 u might give you a little peace of mind. As it was you had a lovely low blue last night. A lot of this is 20/20 hindsight ... Each dose in these situations is an experiment. Next time you can try to be a bit bolder.
 
Yes, unfortunately, hindsight is usually the best way to know. And when no one is around, you just do the best you can and it's usually better to error on the side of caution like you did. Going with the 2u wasn't a bad decision - she had a great cycle - but it gave us some hints that the 2.25u would likely have been okay. So we just tuck that away for the next time it happens on a cycle you can monitor, try sticking with the dose, and see what happens. Then use that information for the next time...and on and on....

I think we all wish these kitties came with a crystal ball so we could see what will happen before we make a decision, but alas, hindsight is all we get around here. :rolleyes:

I love those pictures of Phoebe. Nothing happier than a kitty in the sunshine, and that sticking-out-her-tongue photos is adorable!!!
 
Hi, Eric. I was coming at it from the point of view of you not having a lot of experience shooting a very low yellow. I wasn't sure whether you'd be up to test around nadir so I thought the 2 u might give you a little peace of mind. As it was you had a lovely low blue last night. A lot of this is 20/20 hindsight ... Each dose in these situations is an experiment. Next time you can try to be a bit bolder.
Kris hope you didn't misinterpret my post or think I was mad at you? Definitely not! I appreciate everyone's help on here. At times it can be hair-raising trying to navigate the diabetes waters.
 
Yes, unfortunately, hindsight is usually the best way to know. And when no one is around, you just do the best you can and it's usually better to error on the side of caution like you did. Going with the 2u wasn't a bad decision - she had a great cycle - but it gave us some hints that the 2.25u would likely have been okay. So we just tuck that away for the next time it happens on a cycle you can monitor, try sticking with the dose, and see what happens. Then use that information for the next time...and on and on....

I think we all wish these kitties came with a crystal ball so we could see what will happen before we make a decision, but alas, hindsight is all we get around here. :rolleyes:

I love those pictures of Phoebe. Nothing happier than a kitty in the sunshine, and that sticking-out-her-tongue photos is adorable!!!
Thank you for all your help Djamila!!! Phoebe thanks you as well! :cat:
 
Great data from the weekend, Eric! :) Hold that 2.25 u dose tonight and try 2.5 u tomorrow AM. You'll be at work so try for an out the door test in the AM and an in the door test in the PM as well as a before bed test. She has a lot of room to drop before any scary greens so it'll likely be totally non-dramatic.
 
Last edited:
Woohoo! nice job tonight! I agree with Kris that it looks like she can take a bit more insulin, although I think I'd lean towards staying with the 2.25u tomorrow morning, and then doing the increase in the evening since you're able to test more in the evening than you can during the day. It's up to you though - whichever you feel comfortable with. I don't expect Phoebes to go dangerously low with the increase, but I do expect she'll hit a green (hopefully!) since she's been getting into those lower blues with the 2.25u.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top