? Phoebes amps 366 1/25 help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Phoebes (GA)

Member Since 2017
My husband got up 1 before me and fed phoebe. I need to give insulin at 8. We have to leave for work at 730? Help if I take him to work then come back T will be 830. Could I just do bg then feed and shot?
 
I'm not sure where you are located and if you have left for work yet. It's almost 9AM where I am. It's a good idea to post +1 or 15 minutes instead of actual time.

You can shoot late if you need to. You can than safely move the shot back in one 30 minute increment per day or 2 15 minute increments per day. If your schedule won't allow that, you can skip the shot if you need to.
 
Just as an FYI, it is better to try to shoot as close to every 12 hours as possible. However, life can interfere! If you are early or late by 30 min., it will not likely make a difference unless you cat is very sensitive to a shift in time. With Phoebe's numbers being this high, shooting early shouldn't be an issue. (Shooting early acts like a dose increase; shooting late acts like a dose reduction.) If you need to move shot time back by an hour, I really doubt it will be problematic. What I would suggest, though, is to get a test at +10 and post and ask for someone experienced to look at Phoebe's SS to make sure it's OK to shoot an hour early. Or, like Carla noted, shoot 30 min early at PMPS today and tomorrow.

 
Just as an FYI, it is better to try to shoot as close to every 12 hours as possible. However, life can interfere! If you are early or late by 30 min., it will not likely make a difference unless you cat is very sensitive to a shift in time. With Phoebe's numbers being this high, shooting early shouldn't be an issue. (Shooting early acts like a dose increase; shooting late acts like a dose reduction.) If you need to move shot time back by an hour, I really doubt it will be problematic. What I would suggest, though, is to get a test at +10 and post and ask for someone experienced to look at Phoebe's SS to make sure it's OK to shoot an hour early. Or, like Carla noted, shoot 30 min early at PMPS today and tomorrow.
I will shoot 30 mins early today and tomorrow. So instead of 8 I will test at 730 and inject correct?
 
So instead of 8 I will test at 730 and inject correct?
If you shot at 8:30 this morning, you would shoot at 8 tonight and 7:30 tomorrow morning (7:30 is your normal shot time, correct?). Normally we recommend you only change the shot time by 15 minutes at a time or 30 minutes a day, but as Sienne said, Phoebe's numbers are so high that it shouldn't cause any problems for you to shoot earlier. I also recommend posting and asking for confirmation that it is okay to shoot early, if that is possible with your schedule, especially if you decide to move it up by the entire hour tonight.
 
If you shot at 8:30 this morning, you would shoot at 8 tonight and 7:30 tomorrow morning (7:30 is your normal shot time, correct?). Normally we recommend you only change the shot time by 15 minutes at a time or 30 minutes a day, but as Sienne said, Phoebe's numbers are so high that it shouldn't cause any problems for you to shoot earlier. I also recommend posting and asking for confirmation that it is okay to shoot early, if that is possible with your schedule, especially if you decide to move it up by the entire hour tonight.
She usually gets her night inject at 800. Which I did last night. Then this am it was 9 am. Sorry it's just not going in my head :( but will feed dinner at 530. So should I test at 730 or 8
 
+10
She usually gets her night inject at 800. Which I did last night. Then this am it was 9 am. Sorry it's just not going in my head :( but will feed dinner at 530. So should I test at 730 or 8

+10 would be 7pm. And when I do the bg and post here do I do a 911 so I get answer quickly? Then undo 911 after I get suggestion?
 
We try to reserve the 911 for life-threatening situations, so it'd be better to use the question mark :).

Another variable in the mix here is that an early shot can sometimes act like a dose increase, so if you are going to do the half-hour shifts I would hold off on the vet-recommended increase until you have gotten back on schedule-- just stick to the 2.5U for now.

When people are saying "early" here, they're talking in reference to the "9" shot time of this morning. So, if you are planning to shift by a half hour tonight and tomorrow, that would be:

tonight: shoot at 8:30pm (this is at +11.5 relative to the morning's shot, so "early")
tomorrow: shoot at 8:00am (your normal time, but also "early")
tomorrow night: shoot at 8:00pm (+12, back on schedule!)

make sense?

For testing and asking opinions, your +10 time would be 7pm, as you say. This is just so you don't get taken by surprise if Phoebe picks today to start going low-- you might get a lower-than-usual number at pre-shot, so we want the +10 to tell us whether she's going up or down at that time so we know if it is safe to shoot early.
 
We try to reserve the 911 for life-threatening situations, so it'd be better to use the question mark :).

Another variable in the mix here is that an early shot can sometimes act like a dose increase, so if you are going to do the half-hour shifts I would hold off on the vet-recommended increase until you have gotten back on schedule-- just stick to the 2.5U for now.

When people are saying "early" here, they're talking in reference to the "9" shot time of this morning. So, if you are planning to shift by a half hour tonight and tomorrow, that would be:

tonight: shoot at 8:30pm (this is at +11.5 relative to the morning's shot, so "early")
tomorrow: shoot at 8:00am (your normal time, but also "early")
tomorrow night: shoot at 8:00pm (+12, back on schedule!)

make sense?

For testing and asking opinions, your +10 time would be 7pm, as you say. This is just so you don't get taken by surprise if Phoebe picks today to start going low-- you might get a lower-than-usual number at pre-shot, so we want the +10 to tell us whether she's going up or down at that time so we know if it is safe to shoot early.
OK That makes sense thank you so much!! I need to quit reading every post it gets overwhelming and jumbled. :) I mean everyone else's posts. You peeps are wonderful!
 
Thanks, @Nan & Amber. I had to bail out of the Board as I had a meeting. Looks like you've got it all sorted out.

As far as posting for advice, I'd take that test two hours after dinner, so that the number isn't food influenced. You said you'd feed at 5:30, so it may be a +10.5 test at 7:30 for advice, and you test/feed/shoot at +11.5 (8:30). Of course, you would not feed between those two tests, so both those numbers would be without food influence and give a good picture of what direction things are going. I hope that didn't muddy the waters.
 
Thanks, @Nan & Amber. I had to bail out of the Board as I had a meeting. Looks like you've got it all sorted out.

As far as posting for advice, I'd take that test two hours after dinner, so that the number isn't food influenced. You said you'd feed at 5:30, so it may be a +10.5 test at 7:30 for advice, and you test/feed/shoot at +11.5 (8:30). Of course, you would not feed between those two tests, so both those numbers would be without food influence and give a good picture of what direction things are going. I hope that didn't muddy the waters.
Nope. All good. I fed her at 5 before I saw this post. So I can test at 7, and shoot at 8. Thank you.
 
If you shoot at 8, that would be a whole hour earlier, so getting back on schedule in one go? I think the general opinion from the very experienced folks like Sienne and Tricia was that that should be totally fine but definitely post for any revised opinions once you get that 7pm number!

And I'll reiterate that no matter what the number, I'd counsel against raising the dose on this shot, it would be like doing an extra-large increase and, Phoebe being a cat and all :rolleyes:, you can't really predict her response.
 
If you shoot at 8, that would be a whole hour earlier, so getting back on schedule in one go? I think the general opinion from the very experienced folks like Sienne and Tricia was that that should be totally fine but definitely post for any revised opinions once you get that 7pm number!

And I'll reiterate that no matter what the number, I'd counsel against raising the dose on this shot, it would be like doing an extra-large increase and, Phoebe being a cat and all :rolleyes:, you can't really predict her response.
Omg Nan I am now confused again. I was going by what Tricia said she said since I was feeding at 530, test aT 730, then shoot at 830. So since I fed her at 5, which is a half hour earlier, I thought I just move everything up 30 mins?!!! So please tell me what I should do testing her at 7. Because she ate at 5, not 530. I definitely do not want to do it wrong!!!
 
If you shot at 9am this morning, the best thing to do would be to shoot no sooner than 8:30 tonight and (if high enough in the morning) you could shoot at 8am to get back on schedule

The only reason we're suggesting testing at 7:30 is so that when it's shot time (8:30) we know for sure that the numbers are still going up and it's safe to shoot....You'd still test at 8:30 too

We generally Test/Feed/Shoot all within about 5-10 minutes. Test to make sure they're high enough for any insulin, Feed to make sure they're at least willing to eat and not sick, and Shoot (usually while their head is in the bowl)

With Lantus, it doesn't "kick in" for usually 2-3 hours, so as long as Phoebe is willing to eat, she doesn't have to eat any particular amount before shooting

As long as you don't feed for the 2 hours immediately before shot time, you're good.....we just want those Pre-shot tests without the influence of food for 2 hours
 
What Sienne had suggested is another option too that would be OK this ONE time as long as Phoebe isn't really sensitive to insulin

If you shot at 9am, test at 8pm tonight (or 7:55pm)....if she's high enough then (which we suspect she would be), you could shoot at 8pm after testing/feeding just this once.....the 7:30 test time was suggested so you'd have some time to ask for opinions before shot time at 8pm

Shooting an hour early can be OK if the cat is high enough and not really sensitive to insulin, but it's always best to stay to as close to 12 hours as possible as a general rule
 
I think you're fine, and I wasn't trying to suggest a change in plan myself, I was just responding to your last message that said

I fed her at 5 before I saw this post. So I can test at 7, and shoot at 8.

which made me think you had decided to shoot the full hour early tonight yourself.

Chris has just explained some of the issues we're trying to balance here.
 
Ok so testing at 730! And shooting and feeding at 830 if numbers are high enough

Personally, if you test at 7:30 and post what you get here, I think it's highly likely that you could shoot at 8pm tonight with the kind of numbers Phoebe has been seeing and then you'd be able to shoot at 8am in the morning
 
I think you'd be fine to shoot at +11 tonight (which would be 8pm)

I'd plan on getting at least 1 other test in tonight (preferably more)......can you get a +2 tonight? (at 10pm if you shoot at 8pm)
 
I think you'd be fine to shoot at +11 tonight (which would be 8pm)

I'd plan on getting at least 1 other test in tonight (preferably more)......can you get a +2 tonight? (at 10pm if you shoot at 8pm)
Yes I can do +2 bg. So I should give her the 3 units at +11?
 
Do you have time to check her 20-30 minutes before shot time in the morning, so if she is lower than you are comfortable shooting, you can post for advice? Whoever is up at that time (not me, I'm a night person) can also help you decide if it's a good idea to go ahead with that increase or not.
 
Do you have time to check her 20-30 minutes before shot time in the morning, so if she is lower than you are comfortable shooting, you can post for advice? Whoever is up at that time (not me, I'm a night person) can also help you decide if it's a good idea to go ahead with that increase or not.
Yes I am getting up so I can do that. :) I am a night owl as well. Mornings stink. But kitty comes first.
 
That is her lowest pre-shot number yet. I'd like to hear what some of the more experienced folks have to say about this. The number is still quite high, but the factors here are:

1) the "early" shot last night may have acted like a temporary dose increase, so this would be two increases in a row
2) the increase recommended by the vet, 2.5U to 3.0U, is the higher of the two increments we usually go in (the other increment is to increase only by 0.25U). That was justified by the fact that Phoebe has been running in such high numbers (nadirs over 300), but with this lower pre-shot, barely over 300 itself, I am not sure.

The conservative move would be to wait until last night's early shot has worked through the system and to see where she goes from 304 today on the usual 2.5U, but again, wait until you hear from more experienced folks on this. We do want to get her numbers down.
 
I just tried to quickly read through yesterday's thread and it looks like she is coming down. And I think what I am getting is that you are back on your regular schedule time which is 12 hours from the last shot, correct?
 
No not doing tr or lgs. I am trying to get the hour back from yesterday gave 2.5 last night but was hoping to start at eunits as vet prescribed.
 
I'd increase by .25u. There's a chance she is dipping into yellow at night after those +4 tests and zooming back up. It you're following TR you can increase again in 6 cycles if needed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top