Phoebes (GA)
Member Since 2017
My husband got up 1 before me and fed phoebe. I need to give insulin at 8. We have to leave for work at 730? Help if I take him to work then come back T will be 830. Could I just do bg then feed and shot?
Congrats on your otj! Gives us hope.I'm glad things worked out.
I will shoot 30 mins early today and tomorrow. So instead of 8 I will test at 730 and inject correct?Just as an FYI, it is better to try to shoot as close to every 12 hours as possible. However, life can interfere! If you are early or late by 30 min., it will not likely make a difference unless you cat is very sensitive to a shift in time. With Phoebe's numbers being this high, shooting early shouldn't be an issue. (Shooting early acts like a dose increase; shooting late acts like a dose reduction.) If you need to move shot time back by an hour, I really doubt it will be problematic. What I would suggest, though, is to get a test at +10 and post and ask for someone experienced to look at Phoebe's SS to make sure it's OK to shoot an hour early. Or, like Carla noted, shoot 30 min early at PMPS today and tomorrow.
If you shot at 8:30 this morning, you would shoot at 8 tonight and 7:30 tomorrow morning (7:30 is your normal shot time, correct?). Normally we recommend you only change the shot time by 15 minutes at a time or 30 minutes a day, but as Sienne said, Phoebe's numbers are so high that it shouldn't cause any problems for you to shoot earlier. I also recommend posting and asking for confirmation that it is okay to shoot early, if that is possible with your schedule, especially if you decide to move it up by the entire hour tonight.So instead of 8 I will test at 730 and inject correct?
She usually gets her night inject at 800. Which I did last night. Then this am it was 9 am. Sorry it's just not going in my headIf you shot at 8:30 this morning, you would shoot at 8 tonight and 7:30 tomorrow morning (7:30 is your normal shot time, correct?). Normally we recommend you only change the shot time by 15 minutes at a time or 30 minutes a day, but as Sienne said, Phoebe's numbers are so high that it shouldn't cause any problems for you to shoot earlier. I also recommend posting and asking for confirmation that it is okay to shoot early, if that is possible with your schedule, especially if you decide to move it up by the entire hour tonight.
She usually gets her night inject at 800. Which I did last night. Then this am it was 9 am. Sorry it's just not going in my headbut will feed dinner at 530. So should I test at 730 or 8
OK That makes sense thank you so much!! I need to quit reading every post it gets overwhelming and jumbled.We try to reserve the 911 for life-threatening situations, so it'd be better to use the question mark.
Another variable in the mix here is that an early shot can sometimes act like a dose increase, so if you are going to do the half-hour shifts I would hold off on the vet-recommended increase until you have gotten back on schedule-- just stick to the 2.5U for now.
When people are saying "early" here, they're talking in reference to the "9" shot time of this morning. So, if you are planning to shift by a half hour tonight and tomorrow, that would be:
tonight: shoot at 8:30pm (this is at +11.5 relative to the morning's shot, so "early")
tomorrow: shoot at 8:00am (your normal time, but also "early")
tomorrow night: shoot at 8:00pm (+12, back on schedule!)
make sense?
For testing and asking opinions, your +10 time would be 7pm, as you say. This is just so you don't get taken by surprise if Phoebe picks today to start going low-- you might get a lower-than-usual number at pre-shot, so we want the +10 to tell us whether she's going up or down at that time so we know if it is safe to shoot early.
Nope. All good. I fed her at 5 before I saw this post. So I can test at 7, and shoot at 8. Thank you.Thanks, @Nan & Amber. I had to bail out of the Board as I had a meeting. Looks like you've got it all sorted out.
As far as posting for advice, I'd take that test two hours after dinner, so that the number isn't food influenced. You said you'd feed at 5:30, so it may be a +10.5 test at 7:30 for advice, and you test/feed/shoot at +11.5 (8:30). Of course, you would not feed between those two tests, so both those numbers would be without food influence and give a good picture of what direction things are going. I hope that didn't muddy the waters.
Omg Nan I am now confused again. I was going by what Tricia said she said since I was feeding at 530, test aT 730, then shoot at 830. So since I fed her at 5, which is a half hour earlier, I thought I just move everything up 30 mins?!!! So please tell me what I should do testing her at 7. Because she ate at 5, not 530. I definitely do not want to do it wrong!!!If you shoot at 8, that would be a whole hour earlier, so getting back on schedule in one go? I think the general opinion from the very experienced folks like Sienne and Tricia was that that should be totally fine but definitely post for any revised opinions once you get that 7pm number!
And I'll reiterate that no matter what the number, I'd counsel against raising the dose on this shot, it would be like doing an extra-large increase and, Phoebe being a cat and all, you can't really predict her response.
I fed her at 5 before I saw this post. So I can test at 7, and shoot at 8.
Ok so testing at 730! And shooting and feeding at 830 if numbers are high enough
Yes I can do +2 bg. So I should give her the 3 units at +11?I think you'd be fine to shoot at +11 tonight (which would be 8pm)
I'd plan on getting at least 1 other test in tonight (preferably more)......can you get a +2 tonight? (at 10pm if you shoot at 8pm)
So I should give her the 3 units at +11?
Is that ok then start the 3 units tomorrow so I will be awake to observe.
Giving her 2.5 at 830.
Yes I am getting up so I can do that.Do you have time to check her 20-30 minutes before shot time in the morning, so if she is lower than you are comfortable shooting, you can post for advice? Whoever is up at that time (not me, I'm a night person) can also help you decide if it's a good idea to go ahead with that increase or not.
So you would be shooting 30 minutes earlier today, correct?No not doing tr or lgs. I am trying to get the hour back from yesterday gave 2.5 last night but was hoping to start at eunits as vet prescribed.
So that we would be back on schedule tonight. And move her up to 3 units as per vet.