? Phoebe Squeak AMPS numbers lower than all others. Raise dose anyway?

J.J. and Phoebe Squeak

Member Since 2019
Hi,
Happy Caturday!
I've been planning on raising Phoebe Squeak's dose for a couple days now, but her AMPS numbers have been so low, I've changed my mind.
I thought I read somewhere that the AMPS BG numbers are the last to drop. I guess she is doing things backwards. :p Should I raise her dose anyway?
I was going to try something between 1.75-2 this time because 2 sent her too low, but 1.75 doesn't seem to be enough.
All advice appreciated.
Hope everyone enjoys the weekend!
 
You did exactly what I would have suggested -- not feed your kitty and re-test in 30 min to make sure the numbers weren't dropping. Nice shooting. You might want to get an early test in just to make sure you have a handle on where things are going.
 
You did exactly what I would have suggested -- not feed your kitty and re-test in 30 min to make sure the numbers weren't dropping. Nice shooting. You might want to get an early test in just to make sure you have a handle on where things are going.
Thank you. She is at 208 @ +2.25. It seems all her other numbers are higher which makes me want to raise her dose, but then her AMPS numbers are so low I decide not to.
Do you think I should raise the dose to something between 1.75-2 anyway and just wait to shoot if she is too low?
 
I've had similar experiences with AMPS. After following it for awhile, my team & I decided to go higher with the AM dose & lower with the PM dose. That works best for T since he consistently runs higher BGs (whether a Pred day or not) during the day vs evening. I have to plug my #s in today, but he started at a 65 this morning (even though he ate dry food 2 hours prior-my guess is he was lower & was feeding his own curve!)----which was actually his +9PMPS. He ate & at +11.5 he was at 142 then AMPS 3 hours later was 175. I did not lower his AM dose but will be lowering his PM dose from 1.5 to 1.25.
 
I've had similar experiences with AMPS. After following it for awhile, my team & I decided to go higher with the AM dose & lower with the PM dose. That works best for T since he consistently runs higher BGs (whether a Pred day or not) during the day vs evening. I have to plug my #s in today, but he started at a 65 this morning (even though he ate dry food 2 hours prior-my guess is he was lower & was feeding his own curve!)----which was actually his +9PMPS. He ate & at +11.5 he was at 142 then AMPS 3 hours later was 175. I did not lower his AM dose but will be lowering his PM dose from 1.5 to 1.25.
So interesting! Thank you!
 
So interesting! Thank you!

You are welcome! I've tried 2x to increase T to the 1.5 in the evening & the first night goes fine but after the 2nd night, he goes lower. He doesn't eat as much in the evenings so I am not comfortable with pushing my luck with #s :nailbiting:...especially while we are asleep! We are also trying to avoid substantial drops if possible.
 
FWIW,, shooting different doses at AMPS and PMPS generally doesn't work. In fact, it plays havoc with the depot and typically yields wonky numbers. Remember, you need several cycles after a dose change for the depot to stabilize, If you shoot different doses at each shot time, the depot never stabilizes. Lantus likes consistency.
 
FWIW,, shooting different doses at AMPS and PMPS generally doesn't work. In fact, it plays havoc with the depot and typically yields wonky numbers. Remember, you need several cycles after a dose change for the depot to stabilize, If you shoot different doses at each shot time, the depot never stabilizes. Lantus likes consistency.
So looking at Phoebe Squeak's SS (if you have time) do you think it's time for a dose increase?
 
I'm struggling to answer your question. Let me explain why.

First, if you are following TR, you want to evaluate the effectiveness of the dose every 3 days unless nadirs are under 100 (then increase every 5 days). It looks to me like Phoebe was due for an increase on 7/24.

You haven't got much test data beyond +2. There's no way to know if Phoebe's numbers were going lower and may have earned a dose reduction. While I freely admit to being a testaholic, I would have been curious as to where Phoebe's numbers were the last 2 PM cycles especially since you were seeing blue AMPS numbers.

All in all, it make it hard to interpret the data without test data past +2.
 
I'm struggling to answer your question. Let me explain why.

First, if you are following TR, you want to evaluate the effectiveness of the dose every 3 days unless nadirs are under 100 (then increase every 5 days). It looks to me like Phoebe was due for an increase on 7/24.

You haven't got much test data beyond +2. There's no way to know if Phoebe's numbers were going lower and may have earned a dose reduction. While I freely admit to being a testaholic, I would have been curious as to where Phoebe's numbers were the last 2 PM cycles especially since you were seeing blue AMPS numbers.

All in all, it make it hard to interpret the data without test data past +2.
Thank you very much for your explanation. I appreciate you sharing your wisdom. I did not increase on 7/24 because I thought she was still bouncing from 7/20, but perhaps I was wrong about that and/or I should have increased anyway. I was waiting to see where her numbers landed after the bounce -- but maybe that's not the way to handle it in the future? I will get more PM tests assuming she has an active cycle tonight. Thanks again for your time and advice.
 
A couple comments. First, you AM mid cycle test data the previous couple days is coloured blue, but numbers are over 200. Yes, we see patterns in colours. ;) What those colours hint to me is that Phoebe is doing a mini bounce during the day, in reaction to what she is doing at night. Neko did that for ages, looks like Amy’s T is doing the same. So you need to figure out what is causing the bouncelets as I called them. Is is fast drops or going lower? Getting at least a +4 when you see a drop to +2 will help answer that question.

We don’t not increase because of a bounce, we just try not to increase on the cycle they are breaking the bounce.
 
A couple comments. First, you AM mid cycle test data the previous couple days is coloured blue, but numbers are over 200. Yes, we see patterns in colours. ;) What those colours hint to me is that Phoebe is doing a mini bounce during the day, in reaction to what she is doing at night. Neko did that for ages, looks like Amy’s T is doing the same. So you need to figure out what is causing the bouncelets as I called them. Is is fast drops or going lower? Getting at least a +4 when you see a drop to +2 will help answer that question.

We don’t not increase because of a bounce, we just try not to increase on the cycle they are breaking the bounce.
Thank you so much. I really appreciate your help. If she has an active cycle tonight I'll get a +4.
 
Back
Top