Phoebe PMPS 169/shot @.5/+1.5 183/+2.5 173/+4.5 143

Maggie&Phoebe

Member Since 2020
Hey all - haven't been on in a couple of days because we got some additional bad news about Phoebe's prognosis (likely brain tumor).

Have been trucking along and testing regularly. This morning her BG was pretty high. She had a period of time this morning (from +1 to +2 from shot) where she was acting more normal than she has in a long time - super meowy, wanted to jump up on things, gumming my hands and wanting pets).

We tested at +3.5 and she had plummeted to 43 (confirmed with a second test). We fed a tsp of HC FF then and I've just re-tested her and she's at 72. Just looking for advice about what to do next.

Thanks!
 
Test again in about 30-45 minutes just to see that she is staying above 50. I would also give a little LC now. Please post the result, I'll watch for you.
 
Yes please, a little LC at this point, since she is above 50. She is still a little early in the cycle, so best to keep an eye and make sure she is done dropping.
 
With SLGS you should have taken a reduction last night when you got in the 60s, and actually she was under 90 on am cycle of 4-November too. Time to take the dose down to 0.25u, she has made her point clear this am cycle that she's done with 0.5u for the time being :)
 
I guess it just concerned me that her PS numbers have been so high and her numbers in general have been all over, but we will reduce and see how it goes.
 
You are seeing some bouncing, which happens either when a kitty drops quickly or drops to numbers they aren't used to.

Bouncing - is simply a reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BG in the 200s, 300s or higher for a long time, then even a BG o 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the BG drops too low and/or too fast. The pancreas, then the liver release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream. *Usually* bounces clear within 3days (6 cycles).

You need to ignore the higher preshots, and keep an eye on how low the dose is taking Phoebe. Most definitely 43 is too low.
 
Maggie, can you also remind me where the low ketones was evident? I don't see it in the urinalysis in the labs? I just want to understand if possible history with ketones is applicable.
 
Looks like the HC wore off a bit, she's not quite done yet it seems, I'd bump her up again with a little HC gravy. She has already earned a reduction, so she has nothing else to prove. She's still safe, but I'd rather see her flat or rising now, not dropping. Can you test again in about 30-45 minutes, just to make sure the HC you give is working.
 
Hi Maggie and Mike. I’m glad you posted for help. Congrats on the reduction. Has she had symptoms from the suspected tumor? I hope overall she’s doing well. Did you decide whether to start a steroid? :bighug:
 
Hi Maggie and Mike. I’m glad you posted for help. Congrats on the reduction. Has she had symptoms from the suspected tumor? I hope overall she’s doing well. Did you decide whether to start a steroid? :bighug:

Honestly, since they told us, she hasn't had a lot more in the way of symptoms. Her wobbly-ness has cleared up, and she hasn't been losing her balance as much (if at all). The one remaining issue her pupils dilating at slightly different rates - but the slower dilating eye is the one that is gunky and sore, so who knows. For now, partially because of the lack of symptoms, we aren't going to try the steroid - but we will see how things go.
 
91 + 7. Tried to feed her - she is NOT having it. Guessing that forcing her to eat HC food when she was low means she's just not hungry now.

Since she didn't really eat between +5.75 and +7 and the numbers are going up, am I okay to hold off on food until her next "big" meal at +10?

ETA - any advice on how to explain to my vet what we are doing with her dosing? (i.e lowering it because she's crashing out?)
 
Do you usually feed at +10? a.m. / p.m. Or both? That might contribute to some of the higher preshots as well. Yes, I think you are fine to stop testing and feeding. Sorry she's put out with you.
 
Do you usually feed at +10? a.m. / p.m. Or both? That might contribute to some of the higher preshots as well. Yes, I think you are fine to stop testing and feeding. Sorry she's put out with you.

Yes, we do tend to give her a big-ish meal (between .75 and 1 oz LC fancy feast at about +10, because we know she's not getting food until shot time. It's a crap shoot how much she'll eat of it. She tends to eat more of it in the mornings, because she isn't being given little meals through the night (as her humans are sleeping).

Is that meal time something we should consider changing?
 
Well not necessarily, if this seems to be working, I wouldn't fuss it. I think where you may run into a little trouble is if the preshot number is low, then you have to wonder whether it is carb influenced. It can be artificially inflated, and then you end up having a very busy cycle if you give insulin, when the carbs wear off, and the insulin kicks in.
 
Definitely start the reduced dose tonight. The only reason to wait until the morning would be if she was bouncing sky high. Then you could shoot through the bounce . That means you would not reduce until the morning.
 
Definitely start the reduced dose tonight. The only reason to wait until the morning would be if she was bouncing sky high. Then you could shoot through the bounce . That means you would not reduce until the morning.

Sky high being in the 300s again?
 
I may have a slightly different take, I wouldn't shoot through the bounce, regardless of the preshot number. Here's why :). You missed taking a reduction twice already, so you kinda already did that ;)
 
I would skip. The depot will be in play.

I haven't skipped when it's this high before....and you know me, I'm anxious. Bonus of skipping is not having to worry about lots of testing and feeding small meals tonight. Downside, she goes really high before shot time tomorrow...:(
 
Here’s the thing. You can shoot but you might need to test a lot. Did you feed her yet? Has she dropped more?
 
Good. I’ve asked @Bandit's Mom to check in on you in case I fall asleep. You are doing great though. You are a fast learner. Don’t be surprised if she is high in the morning even though you shot tonight. She might bounce from the low today and it can take up to 4 cycles to clear, even as many as 6.
 
Back
Top