PHOEBE NOT FEELING WELL AM SUGAR 70 READ PLEASE

eva eva

Member Since 2022
Phoebe has been doing well. I have slowly been getting her down to insulin needs to 1.5 unit twice a day.
She has gotten very snarky on sticks so I have backed off. I get random sugars and from 2.25 she is now down to 1.5.
Unfortunately, the past few days have been not so good.
I have the four kitties still, I moved 4 months ago. Phoebe, Momma-kitty, Snickers and Tigger.
they have adjusted well.
I had been noticing one of them has been vomiting during the night. Not sure who -- but yesterday am it became clear. Phoebe
Yesterday am starting about 5am cst till 1030am she vomited 14 times. insulin 1.5 given she ate a little -- sugar was good at 70 -- at +1.5 - but that was after she ate a few bites. Vet called--going in
Labs not bad - amylase, lipase, kidneys, blood counts- all good. weight up .5 pounds in 6 months. (10.4lbs) A little dehydrated. but her sugar had dropped to 57. she wouldn't eat the little Churro pate the vet offered. anti-emetic injection sc given (maropitant), 75ml of fluids - intradermal vet also palpated and assessed - Phoebe had a bit of gas with the palpating of the tummy -- no masses felt -- and took her home. she ate a little more when we got home. then slept most of day. drank water. Not eating her rabbit Just the dry zero mature. snuck a little mod carb food in her. Let her rest. I held her pm insulin without checking her. Today, amps 101 - gave 1.25 insulin. (decrease of 0.25unit) she ate a little. no vomit. But she isn't right. she is quiet. And as with all my cats, I know when they don't feel good -- they get clingy and stay close to me. I will get sugar at +6 today.
I am asking for some help/suggestions on her care. Any ideas? any thoughts? I will keep getting sugars without poking too much. Vet said if she isn't better in a few days to come back and she would do an xray. Please help with my Phoebe..... she is now 14 years old.

@Bandit'sMom
@Wendy&Neko
@Diane Tyler's Mom GA
@Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko @Diane Tyler's Mom GA
 
Last edited:
I can't add much of anything, but was it a cbc? Did she get a red & white count?
When she vomited, it is clear? Yellowish? And food in it or just liquid? The yellow is usually bile and can be from an acidic stomach. The blood count, if off, could point towards any inflammation or infection. Hopefully she'll perk up soon, but if needed, an xray and ultrasound might find something not easily visible.
Hopefully it's just a bug? Sometimes they can get into a cycle of throwing up and the only thing that can help is that Cerenia shot. Did she give Ondansetron? If she's dealing with an upset stomach, that can help on top of it.
She's still eating the Young Again though? Enough? If not, might want to try something gentle like a meaty baby food. Just make sure it's not one with lemon juice added to it. With luck, it's a story term stomach thing
 
CBC numbers all good. Full chemistry panel with liver, lipase and amylase. All good except for the lower sugar from when I took it (1 hour). It was a combination of clear foamy, to bile yellow, to food with one furball -- still threw up after the furball. I gave some greens to see if it helped. - still threw up foamy white - bile - one food emesis.

@Bandit's Mom
@tiffmaxee
@Wendy&Neko
@Diane Tyler's Mom GA
 
What value is at +6? I see a "1"?!! Since she is eating dry food, that means following SLGS and reducing her dose down to 1.0units.

Please try to keep the SS up to date, with at least the doses. And you really do need to test a bit more. Sometimes vomiting can happen with low numbers.Testing is for her safety.
 
Long gaps between meals can cause acid build-up which can lead to foamy vomit. Hope she's feeling better now?

I've moved your 2026 data to a new tab in the SS.
 
Back
Top