? Phoebe AMPS 138/ +1 126/ +2 67/ +3.25 60/+4 55/ +4.75 69/ +5.75 64/ +6.75 82/ +8 70

Maggie&Phoebe

Member Since 2020
We are using the SLGS method.

She was at 189 at +7 during her last cycle, and I fed her about 1/2 oz of LC FF at +10.
 
126 @ +1. Definitely had a tough time getting her to be interested in food after her shot, but I will try again.
 
Trying to get her to eat more HC - she rejected just gravy, but we added some HC dry food and she's eating.

ETA - she also ate her leftover LC food from 10:00AM...so I have no idea what it going on with her numbers.
 
Last edited:
They usually get hungry when low. Keep adding honey. Check again 30 from when she finished eating.
 
Please do. She’s not dangerously low but I’d like her t come up a little. Mix it with any food she will eat. What about tuna?
 
Last edited:
She ate about 1/2 a teaspoon of HC with a little honey and 2 temptations. She's really not interested in the food - which is no big surprise since she is never really interested in food. But it's frustrating in these situations when it's imperative she eat.
 
Sometimes it happens fast. Remind me, she had steroid shots?

No - we decided to not move forward with treatment for the possible tumor at this time.

ETA - Honestly if we can get her into remission, it may be something we'd consider - but strangely, since they told us that was what it was, we haven't seen her have any symptoms.
 
So before this no issues at all? I wonder if the diabetes diagnosis might have actually been the tumor. I also wonder if she has one if it could be controlled with prednisolone.
 
So before this no issues at all? I wonder if the diabetes diagnosis might have actually been the tumor. I also wonder if she has one if it could be controlled with prednisolone.

Not sure - she did have significant weight loss and excessive thirst - and really high blood sugar when they diagnosed her. But she's dropped down so quickly into the normal range and is reducing so fast....I'd rather we take it nice and easy, but Phoebe's got her own mind about it, I guess :)
 
I hear you. You did change her diet after you saw the high BG?
Took away her HC dry food which she was free feeding from and started giving her primarily LC FF.

Just got replacement LC dry food (and MC to mix in as needed) to add into the mix - because small meals don't work for her - she just doesn't want to eat most of the time.
 
gave her a mix of HC/MC kibble - she ate 20 kibble. Coaxed her into eating another 1/4 tsp of HC. Will test her in 30 minutes. If she goes up again, can we wait and test in an hour, or should we still be checking every 30 mins?

I haven't done a proper curve yet, but it looks like her nadirs are hitting between +4 and +6.
 
gave her a mix of HC/MC kibble - she ate 20 kibble. Coaxed her into eating another 1/4 tsp of HC. Will test her in 30 minutes. If she goes up again, can we wait and test in an hour, or should we still be checking every 30 mins?

I haven't done a proper curve yet, but it looks like her nadirs are hitting between +4 and +6.
Let’s see what the next bg is. I’m hoping she will finally be high enough.
 
@64 +.5 from last food, tried to get her to eat some HC gravy - she is NOT having it (though I got a little in her). Have resorted to getting her to eat treats.
 
I couldn’t get back on to check on you. Feed her whatever she will eat. She’s being stubborn about coming up. Have you looked at the next dose? That will only be if she comes up enough to shoot.
 
I couldn’t get back on to check on you. Feed her whatever she will eat. She’s being stubborn about coming up. Have you looked at the next dose? That will only be if she comes up enough to shoot.

Yes, I checked it out...Honestly, I suspect she's going to be low given where she's at right now, so I'm envisioning a skip in our future. Even if she's borderline, I'll probably skip - this girly is running her mama ragged and I need to get some rest. Once she's up a little more, I'll try out the new LC dry food - if she likes it, we will probably leave it out for her tonight to test out how that goes.
 
I too anticipate you will skip. When you do try the reduced dose it’s a good idea to make a sample with an old syringe so your dose is consistent as it’s such as all amount to measure. I hope she gets into at least the 80’s or 90’s soon for your sake. You are doing great. :):bighug:
 
@82 + .5 from last food - which she hardly ate any of (roughly+7 from AMPS). Not sure if I should try to feed her more, or just test her again in 30 to see if she's still rising?

I'm gaming with friends from +8 to +11. I will be home, but likely can't test a bunch and Mike will be in and out. Considering what I should do for that period of time....
 
Yes. You just want her eating. Skipping tonight is a good idea. I’m hoping to bring her up enough now so you both get a break the rest of the afternoon.
 
Of course - she ate the LC FF like a champion....Looks like I'm going to be trying to find appropriate HC options that are fishy based.

Will check right before starting at +8 and see where she's at. Thinking Mike can probably also test her closer to PMPS as well.
 
70 @ +8 - not sure how to handle this now - this test was about +.5 from a largish serving of LC FF.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top