? Phobos - 4/16 - PMPS 566, +4/183, +6/49, +7/97, +8.5/71, +9.5/62 Reducing dose vs. feeding?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Raechel

Member Since 2015
pmps 566
+4 183
+6 49 *fed ~2 tsp. A/D (12%) +1 ml corn syrup
+6.66 93
+7.5 97
+8.5 71
+9.5 62
+10.5 53 *fed ~1 tsp. A/D
+11 107

So, shot time is in 30 minutes, but I wanted to ask about reductions and how feeding works into that. I test lots, so if I'm just going off BG numbers alone, I would think that a 49 would be fine to keep Phobos at his current dose. We've been switching his dose so much recently, I would think it's better to try to steady him out?
However, DH pointed out - how does feeding HC figure into that? Is it better to regulate with food & try to keep the dose steady (to an extent) or is it better to assume Phobos would have dropped below 40 had I not fed HC, and reduce his dose?
 
Further, regarding remission - is it a matter of continually reducing Phobos' dose due to lows until he's down to nothing? Do cats tend to plateau at a dose before beginning a journey down to no insulin? Or is it more like we're seeing where we hit a dose and immediately have to reduce, then reduce again and again?

Thanks!
 
With a newly diabetic, less than one year, a reduction is earned if under 50. The only exception usually if a second drop occurs right after a prior reduction and still working on the old depot. If that were to happen I would post and ask for dosing advice. With a very bouncy cat like Max was, I fed him to keep him above 50 so he would flatten out and not earn reductions too quickly. In an ideal world they earn reductions until OTJ. I hope that is the case with your cat.
 
Further, regarding remission - is it a matter of continually reducing Phobos' dose due to lows until he's down to nothing? Do cats tend to plateau at a dose before beginning a journey down to no insulin? Or is it more like we're seeing where we hit a dose and immediately have to reduce, then reduce again and again?
The answer is ECID - each cat is different. Not all cats reach remission, although newly diagnosed cats have a much better chance to do so. Your first goal should be regulation first, with as much time as possible spent under renal threshold. A second way that cats can earn reductions is by spending a week in normal numbers. Take a look at Davidson's SS - Shawna just posted his one year OTJ condo this week. At one point he hit his good dose, then earned his reductions going down one week at a time.

Not all cats hit a magic dose and start going down. Some have to dance around a dose, earning reductions, going back up, earning reduction, back and forth, until they finally spend enough time in green to start healing and reduce the bouncing. And some bounce practically all the way into remission.

That 49 last night could very well have been influenced by the 4.0U dose, so I would have held the dose like you did today. Phobos had a great run in green last night. :)
 
Saw your question in yesterday's thread - if he were mine, I would try to keep him above 50 for a little while so he can stay at this dose and hopefully, those bouncing numbers and some of the higher ones will come down.

What I mean by that is if he looks like he's headed under 50, I"d give him some food to try to prevent it. If you have to really work to keep him over 50 then he probably needs a reduction. But if a few bites of low carb when he hits 65 keeps him surfing, that's perfect.

That was a perfect surf last night - probably a little hard on you, but good for him. Maybe you could ask him to do the next green surf in the daytime!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top