Phobos - 4/15 - Phobos - PMPS 438, +3/376, +6/83, +7/51, +8.5/36 , +9/64 Decrease amt?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Raechel

Member Since 2015
So, I upped Phobos' dose to 4 units again tonight after only getting into the blues with his last reduction. He decided to crash - which we're managing okay, I think. However, reading the protocol, I'm wondering if I decrease his AM dose by a full .25 or do I just shave off from the 4 units since this was such a quick number change?

Thanks again!
 
I'd go with 3.75u. Since he dropped below 40, a full 0.25u reduction is due. Will you be able to monitor this morning?
 
@MrZ Thanks. I'll be able to monitor for a bit after AM dose, then dh will be able to, somewhat.

I posed my question due to this - If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. - in the protocol. I just re-read and am guessing that would only apply if he'd stayed out of the 30s?
 
I'd go with the 3.75 too. I believe that protocol says reduce by the .25, though with my guy he never held reductions well, so I'd shave with him. He was also a long term diabetic, shaves just worked better for him. Hopefully these more in the know will be by to answer your question.
 
Correct - 30s are nothing to play around with.

From the sticky: If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended. There are very few exceptions given for caregivers who have collected years of data and KNOW their cat's response to the combination of insulin and food backwards, forwards, and inside out.

Phobos is newlie diagnosed so you don't have the years of data so the exception would not apply in your case.
 
@Michelle and Mannie (GA) and @MrZ Thank you.

Yes, I was given dosing advice the other day to increase to 4 units. Since only one dose back at 4 units dropped him like this, but 3.75 wasn't enough, I was wondering about shaving the dose. That's all. I'll drop back to the 3.75 again this morning, though.
 
As the others said, the 30's don't give you much room for any drop. You can always go back up if this is depot and the numbers rise again. You are almost certain to go through another bounce though. Good luck with the reduction.
 
wow, that increase to 4.0u really did send him down. I'm surprised. When he cleared the bounce he only got into the 100's and then he started back up again into a new bounce. Good job handling those low numbers last night.

I guess we know that 4.0u is a little too much for him. Perhaps if you end up needing to increase again just try a skinny 4.0 instead. Fingers crossed that the 3.75u will get him into green this time.
 
@julie & punkin (ga) - that was crazy how the 4 unit dose worked so quick! I had questioned if I should just shave a reduction instead of dropping all the way to 3.75, but was advised to drop the full .25 due to him hitting the 30s. However, last night was at a 3.75 dose and he still went down to 49 before I fed him - so does that earn him another reduction today or do we hold?

Ack - just realized your response was on yesterday's thread not today's. Sorry about the confusion. Here's today's question - http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-5-71-9-5-62-reducing-dose-vs-feeding.136415/
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top