Phobos - 4/12 -low again - shot green AMPS 64, +1/70, +2/46, +3/39, +4/54, +4.5/77, +6/84

Status
Not open for further replies.

Raechel

Member Since 2015
Phobos was at 56 when I woke up just before his AM shot; second test then showed 67. He was absolutely desperate for food, so I did feed him, which I know you guys told me not to yesterday. Without knowing if this is an upswing in his BG right now, do I need to skip this mornings shot? Or just hold off? He did swing amazingly high yesterday (and most mornings) after his AMPS #.

Thanks!
 
Since you tested before you fed him, you can use that test as the amps and yes, you can shoot.

Experienced members can shoot anything over 50ish. You test more than enough to do it. If you're going to be able to monitor, you have at least 20 test strips and high carb supplies, I'd go for it. It's the path to getting a cat tightly regulated. Then feed your regular meal, if you didn't already.

Plan to get a +1 and a +2. SHOOOOTTTTTT!:D
 
great! I'd get a +2 as well - you want to check hourly unless he's headed lower and it looks like he might get below 50. Then move to 1/2 hr checks. Many times, though, when people shoot low like this the cat will just surf along flat. We'll see what Phobos does today. I'll watch for your +2.

Can you put each test in the subject line - that way people will be watching from there and in case you need help more people will see it.

So right now your subject line would be: 4/11 Phobos amps 67, +1/70

Great job shooting! heehee it's my pleasure to award you your Balls of Steel for shooting green the first time! :D

boshand.gif
 
I see the 46 @ + 2. Are you comfortable handling low numbers or do you need help with it?

This means a dose reduction tonight, so you want to reduce by 0. 25u.
 
He's dropping lower again. He ate ~1tsp. of the FF Chicken (lc) leftover from breakfast. I'll check him again @ 20min.
 
@julie & punkin (ga) - thanks for keeping an eye on us. A little nervous, but dealt with him in the 30s night before last, so should be ok. Just lots of checks & I'll have corn syrup ready just in case.
 
I can't tell if you have done low numbers before, but when a cat goes below 50 you want to pop open a can of high carb cat food and give 1 teaspoon of the gravy only and then retest in about 30 minutes to see if it has raised his blood sugar. If it still below 50 you repeat the process you can also give you can alternate giving 1 teaspoon gravy and also giving some of the meat from the can.

okay I just see the last two posts you've made. So you've dealt with low numbers before. Everything under 50 you can give him high carb, either a couple of drops of Karo syrup or gravy from a high carb can of cat food. Your choice. Then I said earlier recheck in 30 minutes really its recheck in 20 to 30 minutes. It can often takes 30 minutes for the full effect to show that you may see some effect in 20 minutes. So go ahead and do that and I will check back with you in about 25 minutes.
 
@julie & punkin (ga) Thanks, that helps a lot. I've only dealt with the low numbers the one time & just sort of winged it - didn't have specifics. Since he ate some of his regular food, should I wait & test or still give him some gravy now, too?
 
Tested at +2.5 @ 39; gave 1 ml of gravy. At +3 holding at 39. Gave 1 tsp of FF gravy lovers (20%) - he licked off all the gravy but shunned the meat, mostly.
 
ok, you definitely want him out of the 30's. add a couple of drops of karo to the gravy with his next test. that'll increase its carb content.
 
He won't touch the meat from the gravy foods, so I just got him to eat 1 tsp of his regular lc food.
 
ah - he's up to 54! ok. He may bounce or he may wobble around and drop back down as the carbs wear off. Hard to say - i'd recheck in another 30 minutes.

In order to bump up your post you have to add a reply to the bottom, as well as putting the #s in the subject line. If someone is "watching" your thread by clicking on "watch" it needs a post in order to note that something's been updated. Not sure if I'm making sense there, but the idea is to add a reply when you update the subject line. that's so i can keep stalking you. ;):D

I'll check back in another 1/2 hr. You're doing awesome! good thing you didn't have anything else planned for today, right? ;);)

As far as tonight goes, I would reduce him to 3.75u tonight. It's only been 3 cycles since you last reduced, and we know that a previous larger dose can still have effects 4-6 cycles later. But because he went into the 30's, and because he's on a larger dose, I'd go ahead and take the reduction with his next shot.
 
Thanks again, @julie & punkin (ga) . That makes sense - sorry I didn't add a post last update. Will do, so you can keep stalking :)

Yeah - good thing I didn't have anything to do...although I must say it's way easier to deal with the low numbers fully awake, unlike the other night. That one was rough!

Just tested @ +4.5 - 77!
 
Yay! He's probably on his way up now. If you want to be sure, one more test in an hour would do it. If he's still up then, I'd stop testing til pmps.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top