Peyton: needed advice this morning :(

Status
Not open for further replies.

jcc1531

Member Since 2014
It is very hard being new to this and not knowing what to do. I was told if the AMPS # was under 200 not to shoot, stall, don't feed and post. That's exactly what I did but never received a response as what to do next. I was unsure of why I was not to feed him, how long to wait and after a long wait I went ahead and fed him because he was begging. Then Of course at that point he wouldn't eat...little stinker! lol
I know we all have lives to live but I have been sitting here at the computer waiting on a response as to what to do next. It is probably common sense to those of you that have been doing this for a while but not for us newbies. Thank you Missy for talking with me privately and helping to keep my sanity :)
I am joining the other group you all suggested to me as well.
Julie
 
Julie...remember me telling you that if you have a question, to "edit" the subject line? If you change the first subject line to something like "Stalling, please help", it will let people who are just skimming the boards know you need help.

When in doubt, here's Shooting and Handling low numbers to go by.

Come on over to the Tight Regulation forum and let's get you introduced over there. It's the same message board, just a different area of it so you don't need to "join" anything else :-D

Also, if you post more than 1 post per day, it makes it hard for us to keep up...When you post over in Lantus Land, please only post once per day and just edit that first subject line if you need to...and don't forget to add the ? if you have a question..like you added the 911 this morning!

On your other question about transitioning, here are some Tips on transitioning for you. Good luck! One thing that really helped here was buying some FortiFlora from Amazon. It's a powder that comes in little packets that contain the same stuff they spray on dry kibble to make it so irresistible to our kitties!
 
I did that. The subject says "AMPS 111...stalling...Peyton" and I put a question mark out to the side to help get attention
 
It was scary and frustrating not knowing what to do. I knew not to shoot but it always helps to have reassurance :) I did not know what to do about the food though because I read to stall, not feed and post.
I see my post from a few hours ago. Are others no able to see it?
 
I'd just like to make sure everyone knows that I'm not giving any insulin advice to Julie. I'm not experienced enough in that area to give advice, I'm just reassuring her and reiterating what has already been said by the good folks here. :smile:

Get on over to Lantus Land, Julie! You're doing fine, and it will get easier.
 
I think most of us printed out that one Sticky on Handling low numbers when we first started. Not long ago, the board was acting REALLY wonky and nobody could get on, so it was more important than ever for people to have that handy in case they couldn't get on.

The Health board is the most busy board because that's where all the new people start, so unfortunately, it's sometimes hard for us to keep up with all of them..especially on days when everyone seems to be stalling or dealing with a hypo or other such emergencies.

I'm so happy you had Missy to hold your hand! Sometimes, that's the best thing anyone can do for you!

Sent you a message Julie!
 
I'm about to have book with everything I have printed out this morning. LOL! I am coming on over to Lantus Land :)
 
If in doubt, it's always better to skip the shot. "Better too high for a day, than too low for a moment."

Sorry there was no one around in Feline Health to help you out early Sunday morning. For future reference, the Lantus Tight regulation forum usually has people around.

The reason you don't feed if you get a low number, is because we want you to retest in about 15-20 minutes and see if the number is rising or falling. If you are new to this, we might have you skip the shot if the number is falling, or shoot a reduced shot.

In any case, someone here would commit to being with you and following along. You would also need to commit be being around for the day on such low numbers to do a bit more testing. We would not like to leave you on your own with low numbers with out some guidance. We would not tell you to shoot those low numbers, those under 200's at the beginning of this journey without assistance from a more experienced member here. Sometimes, those more experienced members are not available.

I work weekends, so seldom get a chance to read here on the weekend mornings. BJM is recovering from sinus surgery. Wendy & Tiggy is having problems with her own kitties and hasn't been around in Feline Health much lately. Chris & China hold down the fort on the Facebook group. So sometimes, we are a little "thin on the ground" with people here to reply to posts. You just got caught in one of those times. It happens. So sorry you felt you were left without a safety net.

Again, try the Lantus TR forum if you need help and are not getting responses in the Feline Health forum. It's the other most active forum here.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top