Peyton...Low reading: 59

Status
Not open for further replies.

jcc1531

Member Since 2014
It has been 8 hours since Peyton's last insulin. At +3 hours BG 192. Now at +8 BG is 59. At this point do I need to give him a little higher carb food and retest in a bit?
Julie
 
Hello Julie,

it's great that you caught that 59....
I know it makes you nervous the first time..... but 59 is still a safe number.....

I would feed a small snack of his food now.... ( Is he still eating science diet? )

you want the 2 hour time period before shot time to have no food given.....because it can influence the preshot number.

I would suggest you come over to the tight regulation forum where there are lots of people who can advise you when shot time gets here.

IF you still have a low number, you most likely will be stalling shot time..... just don't give food....
and post for help ....
 
Thank you! Seeing a number so close to 50 made me nervous. He didn't want to eat right after BG test and still didn't eat much a little later. He grabbed a few bites of regular dry cat food out of another kitties bowl. Hopefully that won't effect his reading later.
Julie
 
If he ate some dry food, then his reading may be higher than normal when it is time to give him insulin. That would be expected. However, do not increase your dose because the number is higher than normal.
 
GOOD CATCH on the 59!! Good thing you didn't continue with the 2 unit dose!

You really need to get rid of the dry as soon as you can. There aren't any good dry foods for cats and only a couple that are low carb (and they are very expensive). The pet food industry (as well as a lot of vets) have done a great job convincing us that dry is good. I bought it too until I ended up with a diabetic cat. Here's a lot of information on Feline Nutrition that was written by a vet for you to look through when you have some spare time. It's full of great info!

We don't use dry to get their BG up if they're low because it takes a long time to get into their system, and then takes a long time to get out. That's why we use the "Gravy Lovers" types of foods for our "High carb" choice when we need one. Don't worry about it this time though...Just want to make sure he doesn't continue to drop. If he did drop below 50, the "gravy" part of the gravy lovers foods is where the carbs are, so we usually give a teaspoon of just the gravy and keep testing every 20 minutes or so to make sure they come back up and stay there. We don't want to give them a lot of food because if they DO go back down, we will need them to still be willing to eat later.

I agree with Rhiannon too...Now that you have your spreadsheet set up and are home testing, it's time to invite you over to the Tight regulation forum

There you'll get the benefit of lots of experienced eyes...all of whom use Lantus!

Each day (and only once/day) we post a "condo" (Condition report). In the subject line you put the date, cat's name and AMPS number (so for you, if you'd done one yesterday, your subject line would have read "6/7 Peyton AMPS Hi"

The in the body of the post, first, copy the link to your prior day's post and then "paste" it. Click on the URL tab along the top of the message body and "Paste" the link there. It will look like this: Your link here[url] Then, you give...rd to having you in the "Lantus Land" family!
 
I have been working to transition all my animals to can food but some are harder than others. One doesn't like ANY can food besides Hill's k/d and she can't eat that. I give her a little bit with her dry to make sure she is getting "some" moisture. What are some good tips are cats that are hard to transition?
I started a new topic on Peyton's AMPS BG
Julie
 
Nice low number for Peyton. Bet you got a nice bounce later.

Transitioning tips for stubborn dry food addictsare here. I probably used almost all of these tips in getting my dry food addict Wink switched from high carb dry food to low carb canned food. This is a good document to print out and read over. I read through it many, many times to help my Wink.
 
Another trick is to take the low carb canned, spread it thinly on a jelly roll pan or baking sheet, and bake it until dry.
Gradually bake each batch just a bit less dry to transition.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top