Petito
Member Since 2017
Hi everyone, we're new here; that's me, my girlfriend and our sweet little boy Petito.
We haven't got a lot of time tonight to post a complete introduction, so here's a quick one.
Petito is 12 years old and was diagnosed with diabetes one month ago. He had a BG level between 500 and 600. The vet put him on 2.75 IU initially, based on his weight (approximately 5kg). He ate mostly dry food and sometimes wet. We decided to give him dry food in the morning and wet in the evening, not to lower his BG too drastically. We went back to the vet after 4 days to measure his blood glucose. It was around 50, so the vet lowered his dose to 2 IU. The third time we went to the vet was after 2 weeks. His BG was again low (around 50), so his dose was lowered again; between 1.25 and 1.50 UI (or 3.5 on the U100 syringe we're using).
Because we worried a lot for a hypo and we wanted to switch completely to canned foods, we decided to test his BG ourselves. We bought an AccuChek Aviva meter and tested him for the first time on june 11 before his evening meal. His value was 118... so we decided not to give him any insulin. The following evening we tested again before his evening meal and got a value of 163. Because we read on this forum not to shoot below 150 and give a reduced dose between 150 and 200, we didn't know what to do, so we called the vet. She advised on lessening his dose again; this time to 1UI.
Since then, we measured the following values:
June 13: before evening meal: 138 - 2 hours later: 126 (no insulin given)
June 14: before morning meal: 146 (gave between 0,5 and 0,75 UI) - 5 hours later: 79 - before eveving meal: 116 (no shot)
June 15: before morning meal: 155 (gave between 0,5 and 0,75 UI) - before eveving meal: 105 (no shot)
June 16: before morning meal: 104 (no shot) - 5 hours later: 75
June 17: before morning meal: 105 (no shot) - before evening meal: 137 (gave between 0,25 and 0,50 UI)
today: 6 hours after morning meal: 118 - before evening meal: 147 (gave between 0,25 and 0,50 UI)
We are surprised to measure such low BG levels (even when sometimes we skipped the insuline altogether) and wonder if the food change already may be enough for him...? We will consult the vet at the end of the following week, but also wanted to have some feedback from this board from which we learned so much in this last month. Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
We haven't got a lot of time tonight to post a complete introduction, so here's a quick one.
Petito is 12 years old and was diagnosed with diabetes one month ago. He had a BG level between 500 and 600. The vet put him on 2.75 IU initially, based on his weight (approximately 5kg). He ate mostly dry food and sometimes wet. We decided to give him dry food in the morning and wet in the evening, not to lower his BG too drastically. We went back to the vet after 4 days to measure his blood glucose. It was around 50, so the vet lowered his dose to 2 IU. The third time we went to the vet was after 2 weeks. His BG was again low (around 50), so his dose was lowered again; between 1.25 and 1.50 UI (or 3.5 on the U100 syringe we're using).
Because we worried a lot for a hypo and we wanted to switch completely to canned foods, we decided to test his BG ourselves. We bought an AccuChek Aviva meter and tested him for the first time on june 11 before his evening meal. His value was 118... so we decided not to give him any insulin. The following evening we tested again before his evening meal and got a value of 163. Because we read on this forum not to shoot below 150 and give a reduced dose between 150 and 200, we didn't know what to do, so we called the vet. She advised on lessening his dose again; this time to 1UI.
Since then, we measured the following values:
June 13: before evening meal: 138 - 2 hours later: 126 (no insulin given)
June 14: before morning meal: 146 (gave between 0,5 and 0,75 UI) - 5 hours later: 79 - before eveving meal: 116 (no shot)
June 15: before morning meal: 155 (gave between 0,5 and 0,75 UI) - before eveving meal: 105 (no shot)
June 16: before morning meal: 104 (no shot) - 5 hours later: 75
June 17: before morning meal: 105 (no shot) - before evening meal: 137 (gave between 0,25 and 0,50 UI)
today: 6 hours after morning meal: 118 - before evening meal: 147 (gave between 0,25 and 0,50 UI)
We are surprised to measure such low BG levels (even when sometimes we skipped the insuline altogether) and wonder if the food change already may be enough for him...? We will consult the vet at the end of the following week, but also wanted to have some feedback from this board from which we learned so much in this last month. Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Last edited: